wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

Dec 4th: Aly-Khan Satchu, Bob Collymore & friends
drake
#1 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 3:08:13 PM

Tomorrow, Aly-Khan Satchu hosts Bob 'suicide' Collymore at MindSpeak.

Mr Collymore, as you probably know, replaces MJ (one of the greatest traders ever, what with the timing of his 'exit') at the helm of the Tita...Safaricom.

Last time I was there, they hosted James Mworia from Centum (23.05.09) 5 months after he had started as CEO & he killed it: he broke down his vision for the company, portfolio re-alignments etc etc and also spoke a bit on personal investing. Everyone left enlightened & impressed.

Assuming you had bought into the stock (CENTUM:KN) that Monday (25.05.09), ON/AFTER hearing Mr Mworia's presentation... and then sold it after 30 days (23.06.09) you would have gotten ~22.7%* return (un-annualized) before fees for that time.

Makes tomorrow all the more compelling:

+ 'Networking'
+ Q&A session with the man himself
etc

Time: 0900-1200hrs.

........Do they still serve coffee?

Links:

http://www.rich.co.ke/rc...bwarticle.php?id=MTk%3D [Invitation]

http://www.rich.co.ke/me...20Presentation%20v2.ppt [JM presentation - Power Point]
Ilikeyou
#2 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 4:28:52 PM

only missed for last week this year.
but snacks were served for the immediate 4 last sessions.
Martins Odour's ,Jeff's,Martha Karua & forgot the other one.
For Jeff & Odour's, WestGate Silver band Cinema 1
was full.

ProverB
#3 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 6:55:24 PM

pleas ask mr Bob Call-him-more whether, honestly theUWEZO Tarrif..yaani Una Weza Enda Zain au Orange was a gud idea? smile smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
ProverB
#4 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 6:59:35 PM

drake wrote:
Assuming you had bought into the stock (CENTUM:KN) that Monday (25.05.09), ON/AFTER hearing Mr Mworia's presentation... and then sold it after 30 days (23.06.09) you would have gotten ~22.7%* return (un-annualized) before fees for that time.

Shame on you Shame on you

rise in centum had very..if any, little to do with mr mworia's presentation at mind-speak but the firm's Interim results please.. I bought at about the same time..and NO! i did not attend. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
qw25041985
#5 Posted : Friday, December 03, 2010 9:19:46 PM

Mind Speak is just on another level.Its just a brain opener. i am sure if @ yaserbigchair just attended one he'll stop sayin we are in a bear market.Make u want to think when did we leave the bull market ..lol !
@proverb . i lov the meanin of Uwezo tarrif.Continue being creative like that and you'll be soon working w/ Safaricom marketin department.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#6 Posted : Saturday, December 04, 2010 9:51:00 AM

im @ Mindspeak, at the front row! but why is michael joseph here???? oh well, atleast he said hi!

COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.75; MTN ABP 5.20
drake
#7 Posted : Saturday, December 04, 2010 3:14:37 PM

ProverB wrote:
drake wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you

rise in centum had very..if any, little to do with mr mworia's presentation at mind-speak but the firm's Interim results please.. I bought at about the same time..and NO! i did not attend. smile

@ProverB
Perhaps you misunderstood me so I'll break it down....

drake wrote:

...... they hosted James Mworia from Centum (23.05.09) 5 months after he had started as CEO & he killed it: he broke down his vision for the company, portfolio re-alignments etc etc and also spoke a bit on personal investing. Everyone left enlightened & impressed.

Assuming you had bought into the stock (CENTUM:KN) that Monday (25.05.09), ON/AFTER hearing Mr Mworia's presentation...

....anyone who might have attended or watched/listened to Mr Mworia's presentation....and then proceeded to buy into the company because they were impressed by the new CEO & his plan would have profited. I'm not saying the run up on the price had anything to do with the presentation.

You would have to look at how ARM, KCB & Serena shares reacted right after their respective CEO's made their appearances to establish/determine if there's any correlation (probably spurious).

However, It's at venues like this when the CEO sometimes 'let's slip' some material, non-public information. e.g. Anyone who attended and was paying attention, knows that Safaricom will have a 'potentially market moving' announcement on Monday or Tuesday and the nature of said announcement.

@Obiero
MJ is why the title of this post reads '& friends'.

Nice shirt.
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 04, 2010 3:36:23 PM

So @drake, new CEO + Mindspeak + Aly = 22.7% rise in share price in 5 months, therefore (three dots) Karimu + Mindspeak + Aly will be 22.7% share price rise for Scon by May '11.
drake
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 04, 2010 4:04:37 PM

@GGekko
No disrespect, but I think you should re-read what I posted above.... but this time, do it REAL slow.
#10 Posted : Sunday, December 05, 2010 3:50:33 PM

the m-pesa strategic move to be announced on tuesday will not be earth shattering. but is a wise idea indeed. the limit for B2B should actually be higher than the proposed KES 70,000.

I like this new CEO. He seems to know what is required of him.

COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.75; MTN ABP 5.20