wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

Trading of Renounceble rights now underway, forget kitu kubwa!
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 11:13:47 AM

Trading of the rights is now underway at the NSE, 1 hour after the official start of trading. No trades yet!
What's interesting is that supply is at 5 bob, a total of 251,100, Total demand 8.1M!
In short, demand is more than 32 times the supply!
What does this say of the price to expect as we head towards Dec 23rd, the last day.
What does this portend to the price of the existing shares?
Comments please Wazuans!
@SufficientlyP
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 11:28:06 AM

Best bid at 1.60, best offer at 5.90!
@SufficientlyP
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 12:35:09 PM

And finally the 1st trade, 500 rights at 4.50!
It's like buying the existing shares at 24 bob!
@SufficientlyP
Aguytrying
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 12:38:00 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Best bid at 1.60, best offer at 5.90!

Im begining to feel that at 23 the share might be a buy, if this stand off continues. though Gov rights might change this.Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 12:39:33 PM

where are you seeing the trades? i also need a front row seat.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 12:42:27 PM

And finally the 1st trade, 500 rights at 4.50!
It's like buying the existing shares at 24 bob!

at 4.50(24.00), break even at 24.50. buy the current share at 23, break even at 24. and without waiting for rights to start trading in jan. GOv rigths please save us. thiswas the worst case scenario.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 1:47:20 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

MyStocks has a real-time website which I use...
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 2:32:24 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

Nelly data and rich.co.ke can also get you there!
@SufficientlyP
BGL
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 2:52:28 PM

kplc rights real time data

BIDS 8.18M
Quantity Price Splits Time
1,000 1.60 2 14:49:43
4,500 1.55 1 14:49:43
65,200 1.50 4 14:49:43
20,000 1.05 1 14:49:43
1.42M 1.00 7 14:49:43

ASKS 299,800
Quantity Price Splits Time
32,900 4.00 2 14:49:43
51,800 4.50 1 14:49:43
63,100 4.80 1 14:49:43
125,400 5.00 1 14:49:43
20,000 5.90 1 14:49:43

TRADES
Quantity Price Time
2,000 4.00 14:48:00
200 4.00 14:47:51
100 4.00 14:47:40
400 4.00 14:47:32
400 4.00 14:47:17
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Aguytrying
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:03:56 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

is the mystocks one, the one that i have to pay for? Nelly data asks for a username and password, which i dont know where to get. I use rich live, but its not showing kplc rights trading, at all.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:07:04 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

is the mystocks one, the one that i have to pay for? Nelly data asks for a username and password, which i dont know where to get. I use rich live, but its not showing kplc rights trading, at all.

For Nelly data, your broker should be able to give you the user name and password. If you not successful, drop me a mail on tmwendia@gmail.com
@SufficientlyP
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:09:44 PM

@BGL, thanks for the real time trades on rights. Seems like both rights and existing shares were strong on prices with the rights refusing to slide below 4 bob and the existing shares trading very comfortably at 24 bob.
Lets see how tomorrow goes!
@SufficientlyP
sean_george
#13 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:15:54 PM

The govt has over 340 million rights to sell,so a demand of 8 M rights is nothing.
The value of the govt rights on the 23rd will be zero, so as we near that date it will be willing to sell even at 50 cents rather than let them lapse
wangugi
#14 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:35:12 PM

sean_george wrote:
The govt has over 340 million rights to sell,so a demand of 8 M rights is nothing.
The value of the govt rights on the 23rd will be zero, so as we near that date it will be willing to sell even at 50 cents rather than let them lapse

agreed KCB rights went to a low of 5 cents and GOK had a much lower holding than what they have in KPLC
KIRTI
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:38:34 PM

sean_george wrote:

We have remaining 15 working days from tomorrow till 23rd December. so watch total right trdings are 340m & above or not. If not then apply for addition right.
mwanahisa
#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:40:59 PM

sean_george wrote:

sean_george, Welcome to Wazua!

The demand of 8 million is not the only demand there is. It is the demand that had actually been keyed in. Likewise we know that there is at least 340 million GoK rights that have to come to the market at some point.

However, GoK rights are not likely to be just placed on the board for sale. These have already been marketed to various fund managers and institutions and preliminary book building has been done. All that these guys are waiting for is to establish an agreeable price and chances are that we will just see the trades flash across the screen one of these days.

I would therefore not count on a price of 50 cents. Methinks 2/= is more realistic, but we will see. I would personally not hesitate to pull the trigger at 1/= if I saw offers at that price. Oh, how I am praying!
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:46:27 PM

The GoK Rights will come later... and the Buyers will be lined up too beforehand...
Bmisoka
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:51:50 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
sean_george wrote:

sean_george, Welcome to Wazua!

The demand of 8 million is not the only demand there is. It is the demand that had actually been keyed in. Likewise we know that there is at least 340 million GoK rights that have to come to the market at some point.

However, GoK rights are not likely to be just placed on the board for sale. These have already been marketed to various fund managers and institutions and preliminary book building has been done. All that these guys are waiting for is to establish an agreeable price and chances are that we will just see the trades flash across the screen one of these days.

I would therefore not count on a price of 50 cents. Methinks 2/= is more realistic, but we will see. I would personally not hesitate to pull the trigger at 1/= if I saw offers at that price. Oh, how I am praying!

IMHO it will be hard for KPLC to raise all the 9.5 billion .
KCB is more of a bluechip company but it missed its target by 3 billion; its hard to see a parastatal raising 9.5 billion. Foreigners especially are likely to shun it coz of mzungu 'swamp of corruption' sentiment.
Anyone who oversubscribed to KCB got full allocation, i expect the same thing will happen with KPLC.
mwanahisa
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 4:09:30 PM

Bmisoka wrote:
KCB is more of a bluechip company but it missed its target by 3 billion; its hard to see a parastatal raising 9.5 billion. Foreigners especially are likely to shun it coz of mzungu 'swamp of corruption' sentiment.
Anyone who oversubscribed to KCB got full allocation, i expect the same thing will happen with KPLC.

Bmisoka, I also welcome you to Wazua. I note that this is your maiden post, so I think congratulations are in order.

KCB and KPLC have different dynamics e.g. KCB's was the 3rd rights issue within this decade. Not so for KPLC. In KCB's case investors were somewhat leery or jaded with the constant cries/appeals for more money from the Board/Mgt and some folks felt that they did not have too much to show for it. I happen to have taken a contrary position but that's not the point.

9.5 Billion is not exactly a lot of money these days, so we will not even need foreigners to mop the whole issue up. Both KenGen's IPO and their PIBO raised close to 30B which shows you money is there. All it requires is for investors to be convinced they can make money.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 7:06:16 PM

Bmisoka wrote:

Welcome to the game @Bmisoka K.PL.C and K.C.B are completely different.. Speaking from very credible sources.. The interest in the K.P.L.C rights is very high..

I mean today they even traded higher than the actual share on the market... smile Plus there are only 7000 shareholders as opposed to K.C.B's hundreds of thousands...

I don't think any of these will be willing to sell their rights at less than they are currently asking for(4-6)... And i also believe that G.O.K rights have already been pre sold to the big boys all we need to see are the trades...

So I wonder where guys interested in this rights issue but aint shareholders will find these rights... Certainly not from me, @VVS, @2012, and the rest on wazua smile