wazua Wed, Jul 16, 2025

Im i on the right track?
Arusha
#1 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:27:19 AM

Hello Wazuans,

I am a kenyan currently living and working in TZ.
Since my transfer there, may 2010, i have been able to save atleast kes 15,000 monthly with which i have satrted on building a stocks portfolio. So far so good i have co-op=5000 and msc=300. At the moment, im torn between continuing with the same kind of contribution or taking a loan with my sacco (and depositing it into the stocks) and repaying it with these same monthly savings.

Kindly advice on:
1. If the loan option is a good thought?
2. Which shares are best to build up on?
3. Am i in the right track?
Mundu wa Nja
#2 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:14:40 AM

i used to think people who advised against loans to purchase stocks were not serious. so i took a loan to purchase safaricom and i found out why it is an extremly terrible idea. the stock would basically have to almost double just for you to break even!

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
My 2 cents
#3 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:27:28 AM

I assume you will be paying 12% on the sacco loan. So to make good returns on the money you will have to first make the 12% and then some.....tall order.

Like @Obiero says, just avoid the temptation of purcahsing shares with loans.
sheep
#4 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:43:33 AM

In retrospect,2009 would have been perfect...the odds were overwhelmingly tilted to your favour...now its getting risky.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#5 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 12:13:08 PM

Borrowing to invest is more silly than moving your wallet from the left pocket to the right one.....NEVER!
maina20
#6 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 12:43:02 PM

Shame on you i did the same 2years ago and bought East African Cables at ksh 105 per share, and was actually convinced by my stocks broker that its the stock to watch. Am almost clearing the loan, but its a total loss, especially on short term..now they are 25shillings per share....since then, am only sure on property Investment. if u are a short term investor, u might panic coz u don have any control should a bear run come calling.....
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#7 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 1:18:03 PM

Sometimes a loan can come in handy. Example I need 250k (@20/-) to take up my kplc rights. I have less than half that amount, would you advice me against going to my sacco for a soft loan?

My 2 cents
#8 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 1:49:48 PM

Always only buy what you can afford.
raszag
#9 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:03:31 PM

take a sacco loan and buy a shamba which will never depreciate...For shares, buy with what you have...
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
mjuaji wa stocks
#10 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:06:51 PM

Borrowing to invest is more silly than moving your wallet from the left pocket to the right one.....NEVER!

You are not serious...

Can you borrow to build a house?

Can you borow to buy a PSV matatu ama Bus ama tractor ya kulima??

Can you borrow to buy a plot??

OK.....centum is an investment company....does it borrow money??

What about other companies.....in their statements.....do they have laibilities??....what are they most of the time??....Bank loans ok??...Do you buy such counters??

Did i read that muguku borrowed some cash to buy his farm??

SO MY ADVICE IS .... YOU CAN BORROW A LOAN ....BUY STOCKS ...... BUT YOU SHOULD NOT CONSIDER USING WHAT YOU HAVE BORROWED FOR ANY OTHER PURPOSE!

BE PATIENT WITH YOUR HOLDINGS AS LONG AS YOU LIVE. SELL THEM ONLY WHEN YOU HAVE MADE MONEY!

Suppose i want 1 million shares of kk @ kshs 10/- and i take a loan to buy that chunk at once then keep paying my loan for the next 5 yrs?.....will kk come down to ksh 5/- or will it reach kshs 20/-??

I am persuaded of the later ... i will borrow.

Tell me of guys who have never borrowed to invest .... not necessarily in stocks???

It is like saying ..... dont put all your eggs in one basket ...... sound familiar and ok.....

But i say ...... put all your eggs in one basket ..... and WATCH THAT BASKET!

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

mjuaji wa stocks
#11 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:09:43 PM

maina20 wrote:
Shame on you i did the same 2years ago and bought East African Cables at ksh 105 per share, and was actually convinced by my stocks broker that its the stock to watch. Am almost clearing the loan, but its a total loss, especially on short term..now they are 25shillings per share....since then, am only sure on property Investment. if u are a short term investor, u might panic coz u don have any control should a bear run come calling.....

Messed by your broker!!!!!!

Do your own research .... i never buy what my broker recommends .... unless i have my personal research to qualify a purchase.... my broker waits for my buy or sell order only!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

KIRTI
#12 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:44:54 PM

Even i bought EA CABLE @ 46 before two years ago & BOC lat year @149 as per my broker advice. now i am buying share as per my research & making money.
My 2 cents
#13 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:49:13 PM

@Mjuaji...what a load of CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Never compare your situation to that of a company. Remember companies expense interest before they declare profits. You on the other hand pay interest with your after tax shillings.

You sound like a person who is up to their neck in debt......in the name of investing. Read WBs investment philosophy on debt. I choose him because he is one of the greatest investors.
#14 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:57:41 PM

@Arusha; What's the hurry? The shares are going nowhere! Keep buying the lots you can afford. You will notice that even if the prices go up, your average will be below the market price.... and if they go down, your loss will also be below the market average....
#15 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 3:08:02 PM

Ni wazi kuwa huyu 'mjuaji' hajui lolote! Investing in land and shares are two v different things. And btw no one knows whether KK will get to 20. People only forecast, but nobody knows!

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
winston
#16 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 3:23:48 PM

@arusha...yes you are on the right track. No...the loan option can be tricky. I would not recommend it, though there will be some wazuans and other investors who have made stock money through loans. On stocks to buy...read investing books, understand stock fundamentals, do your research and before you conclude your conclusion search wazua for market sentiments of the stock you are about to plunge into!

Good luck!
jerry
#17 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 3:38:54 PM

Ni wazi kuwa huyu 'mjuaji' hajui lolote! Investing in land and shares are two v different things. And btw no one knows whether KK will get to 20. People only forecast, but nobody knows!

I hope you r not saying buying stocks is like gambling since we may not know for sure what happens tomorrow?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#18 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 3:54:18 PM

I wonder why one would even buy shares with that mentality. You can follow the history and fundamentals of a company and project growth.

#19 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 4:01:25 PM

@ jerry and twenty twelve. its not exactly gambling, but its v closely related! even wit all the TA and fundamentals check, money can still be lost, Enron style. I therefore believe it is preferable that the money down the drain be ua own and not borrowed. Otherwise, ul end up paying interest on a white elephant!

QD
#20 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 4:11:07 PM

@ jerry that is the half fact as we speculate about the future of an economy while we do not have certainity.
@Arusha Please do continue buying small with your savings and do not go for a loan for short term investment as you say to use the proceeds to repay the loan, Safaricom was a classic example and you have heard it from obiero we need not say more.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence