wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Lamu Port - Investment opportunities
PKoli
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:22:40 AM

Pals with the development of the new port in Lamu, there could be a lot of investment opportunities in the area. The government is almost actualizing the Lamu port initiative. In addition there will be a tarmac road, grid connected electricity and the railway line link to Southern Sudan.

Does anyone envisage how Lamu will be in 10 years from now if all those things mentioned above were to be actualized? What are the current opportunities?
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:52:07 AM

Sometime back the district lands office was selling of land in the area at 150k per acre as long as you take 10 acres and above in anticipation of the port. Speculatively some guys bought but many gave this initiative a wide berth. A colleague of mine invited land valuers for the area and an acre was valued at less than 20k. Am sure the few acres we acquired in a few years will be gold mine.
slykat
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:26:21 AM

freiks wrote:
Sometime back the district lands office was selling of land in the area at 150k per acre as long as you take 10 acres and above in anticipation of the port. Speculatively some guys bought but many gave this initiative a wide berth. A colleague of mine invited land valuers for the area and an acre was valued at less than 20k. Am sure the few acres we acquired in a few years will be gold mine.

U mean there are parts of Kenya where land is 20k or less an acre? Unbelievable... where and where?
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 7:51:26 AM

On the real estate front, the gvt suspended transactions if my memory serves me right.@freiks, the valuation probably does not factor in future prospects for growth but a good valuer will note them in the report. @slykat, yes u can get land for 20 or even 10k.Kenya ni kubwa sana and real estate is highly heterogeneous
Zakumi
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:14:02 AM

I was there in november last year and the land prices weren't any close to the 20k I'm hearing....i've remember land prices had skyrocketed from kshs.60k to 250k an acre due to speculation...the problem with the area is the community aspect,yaaani kuna wenyewe hata kama umenunua,tensions are still evident from the clashes that were experienced especially in mpeketoni.
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
mnandii
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:04:34 AM

I do hope this project ACTUALLY takes off. The problem with our motherland is the politics. Reportedly some big people have acquired large chunks of land in hopes of compensation once the proj starts.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
shocks
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:30:10 PM

Kenya ni kubwa, I was in Narok and land there was going at btw 5k - 10k, and its not anywhere, its land that is near the maasai mara gate.
That area promises to return money handsomely.
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:00:48 PM

@Slykat...kwani wewe ni mzaliwa wa nairobi/kiambu. In my shags if you get someone selling an acre at more than 15k the whole village will say that the buyer probably came from kikuyu. A valuer will put the land at 20k but the seller will have other ideas thats why @Zakumi they were selling at 60k. But most of the land was not adjudicated thats why the district office was taking charge of selling off (Legally) not through back doors. @Kadonye the truth be told the process was stopped but already some guys had taken positions
slykat
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:52:44 PM

Bado amini.. my siz bought land in narok at 70k an acre... bado bado, eti what i pint in a polite outting is an acre! nani nauza even agricultural... kumbe i can live in a ka-ranch ...wapi offers?
Shiznit...
#10 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:30:37 AM

u just have to look for value ...I recently bought big chunk of land in laikipia very near nanyuki actually opposite ol pajeta ranch at 50k per acre..i found a desperate seller n recently i refused an offer of 160k from some muindi who wanted to put some green houses..
this lands are there if u have an eye for a bargain and patience..happy hunting.
#11 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 7:15:02 AM

^ chank!

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
kanda
#12 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:47:22 AM

there are guys selling in an area called Hindi, several kms from mokowe. they are asking for 300k per acre (5-10 acre pcs) but i think its exagerrated. these are the shambas that were recently given title deeds. a plot in the town (no title) is going for 700k (again i think on the higher side). the shambas and plots in mokowe dont have documents. there is a local community group that is allocating to ppl on the ground in readiness for adjudication that is rumored to be soon
Pablo
#13 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 10:22:25 AM

If you want I can take you to a place called Bissil, 10-15km past Kajiado. A plot is 270Acres going rate 8k per acre.
mjuaji wa stocks
#14 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:03:05 AM

shocks wrote:
Kenya ni kubwa, I was in Narok and land there was going at btw 5k - 10k, and its not anywhere, its land that is near the maasai mara gate.
That area promises to return money handsomely.

Those are community lands...no sub-division no titles.....weee take care...

Utarukwa ushangae.....unless kama kuna land already subdivided and with a genuine title deed...if you know of any please share.

In narok...places with title deeds go for over 100k per acre.....talking of areas near mau forest....

If you buy land in drier mara....utaweka which business??

@pablo....bisill my brother.....jangwa....then planning to do what....maji yenyewe kwanza ni taabu!!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Shiznit...
#15 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:39:07 AM

@Obiero meant chunk as in sizeable........
Pablo
#16 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:12:22 PM

@mjuaji

Kwani Syokimau na most Kitengela ni nini?
mjuaji wa stocks
#17 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:29:21 PM

Pablo wrote:

@mjuaji

Kwani Syokimau na most Kitengela ni nini?

Hizo ziko next to nairobi....lakini bissil....Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#18 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:48:28 PM

@Pablo, inbox me on the Bissil thing. I bet I have the patience of a hyena. rahatupu at ymail dot com.
half_empty
#19 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 12:25:31 PM

za wanaume zinapotelea kwingi, kwa sababu chama yetu tulinuna shamba Lamu @500 per acre na lingine Bissil @ 100 per acre, mwaka jana.
bomboclat
#20 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 2:18:00 PM

@Pablo and Half_empty.
Could you guys please hook me up if the lands are still available for sale at the above prices.
Thanks.