wazua Thu, Jul 17, 2025

Succession: Equity's largest individual shareholder passes on
Cicero
#1 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:23:53 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
As an Equity shareholder, I hope Muguku left a proper will otherwise it'll be chaos if family has decides to sell the shares...

Does anyone know if this very rich gentleman wrote any memoirs to guide young people on investment? Mr. Muguku has to have been a walking guide not only in investment but on how to have billions and not show it. His wife used to head to the market to buy vegetables and to the supermarket for groceries while the fella was swimming in hot cash!

He reminds me of my great-grandfather who who was a blacksmith and used to keep his money in a huge debe under his bed. My grandma tells me that when the fella died, the equivalent of a small fortune by todays standards was discovered and brown away by his sons!

How much is our Muguku worth, can anyone place a guess here?d'oh!
Don't gamble; take all your savings and buy some good stock and hold it till it goes up, then sell it. If it don't go up, don't buy it...
mjuaji wa stocks
#2 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:29:38 PM

wauze......bei ipungue....tununue...

But i doubt this will happen....the family may decide to hold on....dividends inatosha.

option 2. a private placement to an individual ama institution.

Whichever way....the imapct will be very smaller.
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#3 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:57:16 PM

I dont think muguku descendants are that crap. No impact is the answer to the question.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 1:51:13 PM

There is no way the Muguku children are going to dump Equity shares. You can bet on that. My four reasons are:

1) Their dad taught them better than that. He definitely shared his wisdom and reasoning with them.

2) They have their own money. Their dad made sure of that. They are in no urgent need of money. We know about the 6B in equity shares because it's all over the news being a publicly listed company. I'm sure most of us might be shocked to learn that it might be just a small percentage of the Muguku empire!

3) You can bet that James Mwangi, Munga among others are their family friends. They will surely talk to them and explain their responsibility as main shareholders and consequences of any action they may take.

4) Their mother participated in the building of the empire from zero and there is no way she will stand aside and watch as the work she and her husband put in over the years is undone.

Anyone waiting for the flooding of the market will wait for a very long time!!!
wazua
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 2:27:49 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
As an Equity shareholder, I hope Muguku left a proper will otherwise it'll be chaos if family has decides to sell the shares...

Dear Members,

We will require further posts on this thread to stick to the listed topic. Any effort to adulterate the thread will result in reprisal.

Prior content relating to tribalism can be found here: Ukabila Mingi
Thread on best wishes and RIP here: Nelson Muguku R.I.P
Feedback on moderation here: You're seriously some piece of work!

Thank you for respecting our community.

Wa_ithaka
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 2:39:32 PM

Really appreciate the gesture Wazua.

Cicero-Equity has 3.7bn shares.Each worth Ksh26 today. Muguku held kitu 6-7% of that. Alafu I understand his chicken business used to bring in sijui Ksh5m per week or more.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
maina20
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 2:48:56 PM

Pray rest in peace Muguku......may Tumaini grow and become a university someday....from a carpenter to a billionaire, u are an inspiration.....RIP.
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 4:05:34 PM

There is no way the Muguku children are going to dump Equity shares. You can bet on that.

You never know...

Cicero
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:15:17 PM

Ya, the Muguku family is well taken care of and 7 sons (or are they 8) and one daughter have all been set up in different places with huge independentand successful businesses (some of them in the original chicken hatching business). BUT still the dad had by far more money than the kids and as humans and moreso as Kenyans (kenyans are the greediest residents of this world), they may want a share from the dad's wealth too. It's best to sit tight and watch...
Don't gamble; take all your savings and buy some good stock and hold it till it goes up, then sell it. If it don't go up, don't buy it...
mwanahisa
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:24:03 PM

There were rumours in the market that the late Muguku had been selling Equity shares. I am uncertain as to the veracity of that info. However, you may have noted that the counter stuck in the 25-27 range for a while which points to a pretty determined and disciplined seller.

I watched the trades on the counter today and it looks like the shares on offer had actually reduced even though bidders were also less than aggresive. I guess most buyers were playing a game of wait and see.

If indeed Muguku was a seller, chances are that that supply will be withheld from the market in the short run as his estate gets sorted. So, I would expect the price to inch up as we await results.

On a different note, James Mwangi got another award - African Banker of the Year!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 6:09:21 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
On a different note, James Mwangi got another award - African Banker of the Year!

And some people are still stuck in an imaginary world insisting that Equity Bank is a...

Oops we have been warned with reprisals by wazua if we don't follow some guidelines of what to post on which thread. Let me re-read the syllabus on what goes where lest I'm given a supplementary.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 8:04:18 PM

And you thought Muguku was rich...
http://www.bloomberg.com...s-at-40.html?cmpid=yhoo

Jamaa dies at 40... Sold his juice business for $1.4bn... US$ 1.4bn
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 11:59:44 PM

And you thought Muguku was rich...
http://www.bloomberg.com...s-at-40.html?cmpid=yhoo

Jamaa dies at 40... Sold his juice business for $1.4bn... US$ 1.4bn

China women top global list of self-made billionaires www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/m41i63z/-/index.html
#14 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 7:12:30 AM

Billionaire Muguku leaves strong business legacy www.businessdailyafrica....8/-/iopdyjz/-/index.html