wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

My Reading List
redondo
#1 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 11:34:29 AM

I have enjoyed reading more as an adult than I did as a school going lad.

I have read a number of books this year and the following have been my personal favourites:

1. "The Knack" by Norm Brodsky

2. "Debt Free Living" by Larry Burkett

3. "The Tipping Point" by Malcolm Gladwell

4. "Love is the Killer App" by Tim Sanders

5. "Career Renegade" by Jonathan Fields

Any one out there who cares to share their list?
My 2 cents
#2 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 11:58:01 AM

So far this year I have read.....

1. Infidel - Aryan Hirsi
2. Fool's Gold - Gillian Tett
3. Affluenza - John de Graag
4. Too big to fail - Andrew Ross Sorkin
5. The overspent American - Juliet Schor
6. Last lecture - Randy Pausch
7. Predictably Irrational - Dan Ariely
8. I'm ok yo are a brat - Susan Jeffers

I am currently reading 'Who rules Britain'

#3 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:10:42 PM

I am absolute crap when it comes to reading....but i think i have tried this year.At least i have read three or four Taifa Leos
winston
#4 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:42:14 PM

I am absolute crap when it comes to reading....but i think i have tried this year.At least i have read three or four Taifa Leos
Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#5 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:50:00 PM

No no no Sad

I'm with @Njung'e on this... though different publications certainly smile

How can Wazuans be so cultured, yet we are in a community. That's why I was determined we would read together to help the reading laggards, where I find myself at the moment.

This year, I only read one book Purple Hibiscus. I haven't even finished from Charcoal to Gold Sad

I need to read the right kind of material. It's like going to a gym or training for a marathon - difficult to do all alone. I need help, I just wish we could do it together...

Apple Bees
#6 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:55:40 PM

For me, this year I have been radical. These have been read so far:
1. The Communist Manifesto Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels
2. Mein Kampf Adolf Hitler
3. The End of Poverty Jeffrey Sachs
4. How Europe Underdeveloped Africa Walter Rodney
sheep
#7 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:56:05 PM

currently

1.IRRATIONAL EXUBERANCE(repeating)-ROBERT SHILLER

2.THE MILLIONAIRE NEXT DOOR-Thomas somebody

3.THINK AND GROW RICH(repeating)-Napoleon hill

4.THE NIGHT-Ellie weiser(repeat)

I am a voracious reader often doing 200 pages a day...thats why I dont read fiction coz ill finish in a day or two!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Ric dees
#8 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:12:35 PM

@Muganda i see your point but a tall order if you ask me..This year i have not read much however among others:

1) Nomad - Ayaan Hirsi
2) Purple Hibiscus - Chimamanda Ngozi
3) One Hundred years of Solitude ( Finally)
Marquez Garcia
4) Highly Effective Marrige - Nancy Van Pelt
5) The Symbol - Dan Brown

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#9 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:24:51 PM

muganda wrote:
No no no Sad

I'm with @Njung'e on this... though different publications certainly smile

How can Wazuans be so cultured, yet we are in a community. That's why I was determined we would read together to help the reading laggards, where I find myself at the moment.

This year, I only read one book Purple Hibiscus. I haven't even finished from Charcoal to Gold Sad

I need to read the right kind of material. It's like going to a gym or training for a marathon - difficult to do all alone. I need help, I just wish we could do it together...

no wonder reading club was a big flop. but i have read one or two after the half a rising sun.
#10 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:44:05 PM

bkismat wrote:
no wonder reading club was a big flop. but i have read one or two after the half a rising sun.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Booofff! That punch took the wind out of my tummy. Pray elaborate...

#11 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:47:46 PM

"The Blue Nowhere" by Jeffrey Deaver (Third time round)

"It is our time to eat" Michele Young.
Apple Bees
#12 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:53:54 PM

Ric dees wrote:

4) Highly Effective Marrige - Nancy Van Pelt

like that book
tuvok
#13 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 2:30:55 PM

I try too read too:

The occasional paperback novel (usually about 6-10 a year)

a lot of tech RSS feeds from all over the internet.
Bigcheese
#14 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 4:24:05 PM

Mostly Business biographies so far this year:

Snowball - (Warren Buffet)- Shroeder
Call Me Ted - Ted Turner
Titan (John D.Rockefeller) - Ron Chernow (currently
#15 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 4:37:34 PM

I find it difficult to read a book from cover to cover. For that reason [and the fact that I'm a slow reader, doing about one-third the speed of the average adult] I have read less than 10 "story books" in my entire life - including the literature set-books in school!

On my desk currently there is a copy of the "Improving Profitability Pocketbook" by Anne Hawkins & Clive turner. I have "finished" reading it, but I am still not through with it.
annsal
#16 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 4:46:25 PM

I also love reading, but mostly i read novels.
This year my favourite authors are - Barbara Delinsky,Tami hoag, John Grisham etc. Anyone who loves reading novels we exchange?

God loves a Trier!
m water
#17 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 4:51:38 PM

hi all

those with 'purple hibiscus ':if you are through would you care to sell it to me at used-book rates.
i can pay upto 3 soc b4 discount

tks
#18 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 5:17:22 PM

thanks to my small head,all through this morning ,I have been reading the thread topic as , 'My landing list'Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you being a Monday I decided to avoid it Kumbe it was far from what I was readingShame on you Shame on you !!!!! sorry Im off topic .

Back to the topic I can only remember book I last read ,'the goal' by ELiyahu M Goldratt

http://www.amazon.com/Go...provement/dp/0884271781

which draws a picture of what happens in contemporary factory life

balancing Work and family life learning from the character's experience.At one time bibi alitoroka because the guy was not giving any time for the family.

Processes of ongoing improvement

But do I say,

I recommend it to Guka
#19 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 5:38:39 PM

@Newfarer,
I'll come back to you when i finish reading hii gazeti nilifungiwa nayo nyama last week....lol.
winston
#20 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 6:32:12 PM

Am into novels and this year covered among others
The Sicilian (Mario Puzo),
Not a penny more, not a penny less(John Grisham),
The Road to Gandolfo (Robert Ludlum)
The summons (John Grisham)...almost done