wazua Sat, Nov 15, 2025

What would you sell?
#1 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:34:45 AM

Many times we get people asking what to buy. I want to know what to sell this week...

Suppose you had the following stocks and all are in the green at current prices...and you needed some cash; which would you sell?

CFC
CMC
EQTY
KEGN
MSC
SCOM
UNGA
#2 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:40:46 AM

SCOM - The ARPU will take a hit as will profits from voice. I doubt data + M-Pesa can make up the difference...

Disclaimer: I dont own SCOM
#3 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:41:39 AM

mukiha wrote:
Many times we get people asking what to buy. I want to know what to sell this week...

Suppose you had the following stocks and all are in the green at current prices...and you needed some cash; which would you sell?

CFC
CMC
EQTY
KEGN
MSC
SCOM
UNGA

Strictly scom, MSC and CMC...

All these companies will post hopeless results in 2011
Surealligator
#4 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:34:37 PM

mukiha wrote:

CFC
CMC
EQTY
KEGN
MSC
SCOM
UNGA

@Mukiha

1. Sell all except Eq.
2. Withdraw the cash you need
3. Then buy the following with the remaining cash.

Serena
Eaagads
HFCK
KCB
KK
Scan

4. Invite me for a drink (I also take juice if not some wine) mid next year to compare notes.

What is bothering me is BBK. Will they give a special dividend or a bonus after selling their custodial business for 3.5 billion?

A bonus will mean BBK will retain the proceeds but for what growth area?
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#5 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:45:42 PM

Cfc is a hold, saf is a sell but it depends on the entry point.
qw25041985
#6 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:52:46 PM

Sell unga !! I think i said that late coz investors are already goin so. Ooops !!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
KIRTI
#7 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 2:40:42 PM

guru267 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

CFC
CMC
EQTY
KEGN
MSC
SCOM
UNGA

Strictly scom, MSC and CMC...

All these companies will post hopeless results in 2011

At the current market price
Sell
CMC
EQUITY
KENGEN
UNGA

Buy
KCB
JUBILEE
NIC
DTK
#8 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 4:27:20 PM

@KIRTI: aim is not to sell then buy. Aim is to sell kabisa an "eat" the cash
#9 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:26:02 PM

One man told you the truth,it all depends on your entry points but if you want to quit start with the ones you are getting good profit margins and follow the same trend downwards.
The Merchant
#10 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:29:16 PM

mukiha wrote:
@KIRTI: aim is not to sell then buy. Aim is to sell kabisa an "eat" the cash

What would inspire you to make a comment like that Mukiha?d'oh!
Pablo
#11 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:30:11 PM

Actually I do the opposite. Sell the ones which have no future and remain with the ones with a bright future. Definately Safcom 1st, EB Last.
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:54:37 PM

Pablo wrote:
Actually I do the opposite. Sell the ones which have no future and remain with the ones with a bright future. Definately Safcom 1st, EB Last.

Are you suggesting that Safcom has no future and that Equity has a future? Please clarify.
PKoli
#13 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:14:43 PM

@Kirti
I agree with your buy proposals for the banks. Just wondering why there are no industrials.
#14 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:32:05 PM

@mukiha, Just sold my last 500 of cfc today at 86.5 and got a sms confirmation. My entry was between 40-44 a few months ago. Sold the others btwn 85-90. The upside over next 1 year is about 30% with a potential downside of about 20% since the bank isn't growing revenue from core business as fast as other medium banks. Next i start disposing of BAT. Entered from 129. At current prices the upside is maybe 10%-15%. Downside could be as much as 30%.
#15 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 1:10:37 PM

I sold:

Half of my CMC @ 13.05

All SCOM @ 4.30

One third CFC @ 89

All MSC @ 12

As I said at the beginning; I needed some cash....