Investor
Stocks
Safaricom share consolidation vs Tariff wars
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
Now that the price wars seems to be longterm between the mobile service providers; what effect will safaricom share consolidation have on shareholders' value? I mean; should safaricom decides to consolidate the mumber of shares frm 10billion (listed) to say 3 billion; what should we expect as shareholders? Dilution or increase in value? God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
I think share consolidation may partly make the share price less volatile. A 10 :1 ratio would make each share about 50 bob.
by the way consolidation alone has zero effect on the company's value.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Too many retail shareholders with 200 shares. Those are the ones that make the stock very volatile. Safcom should get rid of them... Maybe redeem their shares with bonga points. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
My 2 cents wrote:I think share consolidation may partly make the share price less volatile. A 10 :1 ratio would make each share about 50 bob. then you will have half of the share register with odd lots of 20, that will increase volatity. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2009 Posts: 75 Location: nairobi
sparkly wrote:Too many retail shareholders with 200 shares. Those are the ones that make the stock very volatile. Safcom should get rid of them... Maybe redeem their shares with bonga points. ha ha ha.
@Sparkly .....ate bong phoints??...wewe acha....BTW...accounts with odd number of shares are quite common even now...mimi iko na 42 ya NIC...iko mutu nataka?? I too think consolidating their shares will make the safcom account less volatile and thus few shares available. How will this translate / be reflected in divided payout and yield? Any ideas kama safcom wants to go regional? God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2009 Posts: 75 Location: nairobi
If share consolidation happen and safcom win this tarrif war. It will be in the same level as BAT in terms of dividend.
Our laws do not allow share consolidation....Let's stop dreaming. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
First of all safcom shares can't be consolidated according to CMA rules and regulations.... Secondly due to recent events safcom shares are currently expensive and even more so after books closure.... I want to see How long investors will want to stay married to this counter Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,259 Location: Nairobi
@GNN ....aka Grandstone Ngunjiri Njung'e...... We are not dreaming.....laws are not permanent...they can be ammended to suit the raging patterns...poloitical or economic...CMA is not a thick head either...i believe share consolidation and share buy backs are long overdue CMA ammendments needed to boost the NSE to another level!! Kwani tutabaki this way mpaka lini?? Wapi stella kilonzo na mwangi? Na je NSE board members? I hope mnasoma hii hata kama NSE iko na wenyewe! God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
mjuaji wa stocks wrote:@GNN ....aka Grandstone Ngunjiri Njung'e...... We are not dreaming.....laws are not permanent...they can be ammended to suit the raging patterns...poloitical or economic...CMA is not a thick head either...i believe share consolidation and share buy backs are long overdue CMA ammendments needed to boost the NSE to another level!! Kwani tutabaki this way mpaka lini?? Wapi stella kilonzo na mwangi? Na je NSE board members? I hope mnasoma hii hata kama NSE iko na wenyewe! The other way around it though difficult is to encourage investors to own a minimum of say 20K shares, this might/will lead to mopping up all the small holdings.
someone pls explain how small shareholders make a share volatile. this is one of those "false truths" being bandied around. if i sell 2000 safcon shares at 3bob today, that will have zero effect on the share price, but if a mobitelea-type shareholder sells his 500,000 at 2cents below prevailing price that will definitely move the share price. so pls explain to me like a lil kid how the small guy is the culprit!
lets face it, safcon was overvalued at IPO, more like the tech bubble companies of the late 90's in the west. nothing, not even share consolidation can correct that at this time. ppl will have to pay for their irrational exuberance...me included
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
kanda wrote:someone pls explain how small shareholders make a share volatile. this is one of those "false truths" being bandied around. if i sell 2000 safcon shares at 3bob today, that will have zero effect on the share price, but if a mobitelea-type shareholder sells his 500,000 at 2cents below prevailing price that will definitely move the share price. so pls explain to me like a lil kid how the small guy is the culprit!
lets face it, safcon was overvalued at IPO, more like the tech bubble companies of the late 90's in the west. nothing, not even share consolidation can correct that at this time. ppl will have to pay for their irrational exuberance...me included @kanda small shareholders are more prone to profit taking and panic selling than the big institutional shareholders.. That is why they are undesirable especially when there are 600 thousand of them like in the case of safcom Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:kanda wrote:someone pls explain how small shareholders make a share volatile. this is one of those "false truths" being bandied around. if i sell 2000 safcon shares at 3bob today, that will have zero effect on the share price, but if a mobitelea-type shareholder sells his 500,000 at 2cents below prevailing price that will definitely move the share price. so pls explain to me like a lil kid how the small guy is the culprit!
lets face it, safcon was overvalued at IPO, more like the tech bubble companies of the late 90's in the west. nothing, not even share consolidation can correct that at this time. ppl will have to pay for their irrational exuberance...me included @kanda small shareholders are more prone to profit taking and panic selling than the big institutional shareholders.. That is why they are undesirable especially when there are 600 thousand of them like in the case of safcom Just to add on guru***s comment, large investors are strategically long term small investors no one knows and they are reactive...as is the case now, can you imagine 200k small investors running to sell thier shares in a reactive manner what that will do to the share and moreso its reputation
To me share consolidation will make it less volatile as opposd to some of the sentiments being shared here. When looking at volatility let us see it as both an upward trend and downwards. At NSe th lowest transactacble unit of 5 cents acts as a buffer for instance at the current price of 4.85 it translates to 1.031% meaning it can fluctuate by this proportion. At 48.50 ksh per share the min fluctation would be 0.1% African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
@guru, ok now i understand, thanks. but how come no one wants to address the issue of overvaluation? that to me is the primary problem. why focus so much on the small issue of small investors. i ll tell u why? its easy and popular.
all the same, lets assume the small guy was such a pain in the neck. who is a small guy anyway (500, 5000, 50,000 or 100,000 shares?). i d like to think that after selling the shares from the ipo he is unlikely to buy again, such that the small guy will gradually disappear and the large institutional investor remains. how will that improve share value if the business value is deteriorating like the case of safcon??
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
When the share was at 8 bob, no one was talking of consolidation. At that moment, for those concerned, Safaricom was ''the next Kengen''. 'Small investors' are in every market, and own a part of bigger companies than Safaricom, with a much larger float. Its the beauty of capitalism. If one can't take the fluctuations, either be a long term investor ama nunua antacids like the deal did because of KQ.  On another front, airtime sales drop cause of tariff wars. www.businessdailyafrica....2/-/k703cdz/-/index.htmlGOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
sparkly wrote:Too many retail shareholders with 200 shares. Those are the ones that make the stock very volatile. Safcom should get rid of them... Maybe redeem their shares with bonga points. But why should Safaricom spend money doing this.. How will Safaricom as a company benefit? Just why should they do it? After all the company will still pay out the same amount in dividends (assuming the same level of profitability - which of course would be eroded by the harebrained repurchase by Bonga points scheme).. This is shareholder concern and if you as a shareholder are this concerned you can solve it by simply mopping up as many shares as you can... effectively getting rid of the "smalltime" shareholders.
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom share consolidation vs Tariff wars