wazua Sat, Apr 4, 2026

Any Scientists in the house
BGL
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 8:18:30 PM

i)How does HIV cause AIDS?
ii)Can HIV be cured with stem cell therapy?

Discuss.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 8:50:49 PM

BGL wrote:
i)How does HIV cause AIDS?
ii)Can HIV be cured with stem cell therapy?

Discuss.

Kwanza Definition: AIDS Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome. The condition of the body in which its defence system is compromised so that it is not able to protect itself from infection.

So how does HIV cause this condition. Now in a normal body there are things called white blood cells (there are several types of these lakini I don't feel like going into the details for now) which are like the askaris of the body. They arrest any bad guys that try to get into the body. You are in a crowded matatu and some guy with TB keeps coughing and releasing the TB Bacteria into the air which you breath in but you don't develop TB. As soon as the TB bacteria gets in your throat or in your lungs where it would begin to multiply and cause problems these Askaris come and arrest it, beat it up and take it to Kamiti (Lymph Nodes) where they destroy it. Every day these blood Askaris take care of bad guys that come through all sorts of routes lungs, stomach (umekula Nyama imeoza kidogo), skin (Umesalimiana na mikono hujui zilikuwa wapi) etc. You get exposed to infectious agents every minute of every day but when you have healthy White blood cells (good askaris) you don't notice it and you go about life kama kawaida posting on Wazua, organising mbuzi parties, looking for airports to land your pine tree etc.

HIV (Human Imunodefficiency Virus) is a little useless virus that actually does not cause any disease on its own. What it does however is that it targets the Askari white blood cells that keep bad guys away from your body. The virus attaches itself to some of the white blood cells so that they are not able to perform the function of fighting off infection. So as explained above the next time you are in a matatu and someone coughs TB in your face. The TB bacteria goes straight into the lungs and since hakuna mtu inaziuliza it sets up house and starts reproducing. Unapata TB. Meanwhile some fungus nazo zinaanza kumea kwa matumbo na unaanza kuhara. Bacteria zingine nazo zinaanza kuvamia your skin and you have all these vidondas. There are always infectious material everywhere you go and as soon as you don't have defence ni kama zinaitana zote. Pneumonia ndiyo hiyo, Herpes Zoster, Fungal infections zote zinakuvamia. Sasa Hapo ndipo tunasema una UKIMWI (Ukosefu wa Kinga Mwilini a.k.a AIDS.
Ms Mkenya
#3 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 12:50:38 AM

@ kusadikika, i hope you're a teacher. You put the story perfectly together.
....above all, to stand.
#4 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 8:57:36 AM

@kusadikika...Applause Applause Applause
#5 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 10:46:54 AM

HIV becomes AIDS when the body does not have the necessary defense to fight regular infections (See @Kusadikika above). HIV does not necessary kill you; what kills you are the TB, pneumonia, meningitis, diarrhoea and fungal infections, which the body cannot fight any more.

HIV is virus, that mutates too fast for stem cell therapy to have any significant effect. Stem cell therapy works well for leukemia, since it is not an infection, and the cancer cells are well replaced by the more rapidly dividing stem cells. Stem cell therapy is, however, socially, ethically and medically controversial.

IMHO, if HIV/AIDS was a greater caucasian problem like ahlzeimer and cancer are, there would be more extensive research and probably a cure by now. But it will remain a problem of sub-Saharan Africa.
#6 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 11:59:55 AM

Interesting.So how do ARVs work?
Dash
#7 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 11:02:44 PM

most arv's target the replication proteins of the virus which helps in reducing the speed at which the virus replicates BUT cannot eliminate the virus. they do this mainly by inhibiting different proteins required for the virus to replicate. however, the virus is a "master" when it comes to mutation, so in the most lay man term i can muster, it has the ability to "dodge" the arv's in their function by finding alternative routes to their replication. That is why different arv's are used in conjuction with each other giving rise to use of HAART (highly active anti retroviral therapy)in short, this is a combination of arv's put together, so when the virus in the body "dodges" one type of arv, there is another to deal with
redi
#8 Posted : Friday, August 27, 2010 11:25:34 PM

ARVs,apart from modifying the natural history of HIV infection.It is used to reduce infections after exposure-occupationa,nonoccupational and Mother-child.
#9 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 12:06:07 PM

when a mosquito bites and sucks the blood of a serop-ositive person, and then goes to vomit and suck the blood of a sero-negative person, the HIV-ve fellow doesn't contract the virus.
So clearly something happens to neutralise the HIV in the mosquito's stomach.
What is this? Could it be a potential cure|?
#10 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 12:23:54 PM

As far as my knowledge tells me, HIV is unable to outside of body fluids, even for a second, hence they kick the bucket immediately a mosquito ingests blood.