wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Where do young people who make between 100k-200k a month live?
IT'd
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:00:21 PM

So where do they live?I know this isn't rich so obviously nyari and the likes are out of the question.
Not eastlands though.
raszag
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:26:00 PM

Dont rule out eastlands....some parts of eastlands has good housing and affordable.....When you make 100-200K, You don't put all of it on rent..you have to think of the future which means savings and investing , so eastlands comes into play here.....Otherwise you can decide to live in westi, kile etc na pesa yote itaishia rent na pombe
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
am6612
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:46:32 PM

When you earn 100K-200K, you leave where you want depending on your outlook for the future. Some leave in 40K rent houses and dont think about the future and others rent 10K houses. If you pay 40K how on earth will you ever raise money for house buying deposit or even build your own? 40K x 12mths=480K
So the 100K earned can make a difference in future. Think Think Think
Jangwa la Jangili
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 1:21:24 PM

Your salary should not inform where you live. Your financial goals should. Develop your goals then fit your rent around it.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
GhettoMafia
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 2:16:57 PM

Bwana pesa no is too little to start choosing where to live. Try Ongata Rongai or Githurai if you do not want meaningless stress - utabaki na kidogo ya pobe na shakura. Ukienda Kile ama Langata ama Buru na hiyo pesa, itaishia rent na stress za ku keep up na demandz za the hood.
My 2 cents
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 2:56:50 PM

IT'd wrote:
So where do they live?I know this isn't rich so obviously nyari and the likes are out of the question.
Not eastlands though.

Try not to exceed 25% of your NET on living expenses i.e. rent/elec/water

But it also depends on what your other expenses look like, whether you have kids, have loans etc etc
vin
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 3:07:40 PM

They live where their hearts and financial obligations allow them to.I don't mind living in a lowly neighborhood for like two years and come out with a smile having my own house or a clear plan to owning one.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
tuvok
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 3:11:31 PM

GhettoMafia wrote:
Bwana pesa no is too little to start choosing where to live. Try Ongata Rongai or Githurai if you do not want meaningless stress - utabaki na kidogo ya pobe na shakura. Ukienda Kile ama Langata ama Buru na hiyo pesa, itaishia rent na stress za ku keep up na demandz za the hood.

When looking at a place to live - transport costs & time spent travelling are very often overlooked ....

So one might stay far and spend less on rent, but spend more on transport and a few more hours on the road - which might be utilized for something else in line with one's financial goals

groupielove
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 3:16:01 PM

Most of us live in the Eastlands (where you don't wonna live). WIth a 100k, you're sure of getting a house of 20k or slightly less in Buru or Umo. WIth this, you have you can focus on other immediate goals without much stress of a life
Pablo
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 5:51:43 PM

An Sq in Karen.
For Floss, you can throw out some fancy surbarbs and its kind on your pocket too.