wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

EQUITY WITH MKESHO
oam
#1 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 10:23:54 AM

As banks scrumble to mazimize the use of tech will this put equity in forefront and reap much ....are we able to see equity touching 30 by dec ????
#2 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 10:33:23 AM

If the 3rd quarter numbers will be good they will trigger the 30 button.
#3 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:19:51 AM

I've done a few studies and have noted that zain will also want to expand its mobile banking with a similar product to M-KESHO.... Now i'm just wondering who they'll choose.. They only have two choices Either co-op or KCB
#4 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:29:28 AM

M-Kesho is crap as far as I am concerned. I opened an account in Mid July, and till today they have never sent me an activation SMS, despite having visited their offices three times.
#5 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:38:00 AM

Did u try the option update menu in your mpesa account or you just want to throw stones in our party?mine came in a day.
#6 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 11:45:35 AM

@mlennyma, I do that at least once a day, hoping one day it will light up. By the way, Equity have allocated me an account number that they proudly read out to me each time I go to check.
sheep
#7 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 12:04:42 PM

family's pesa pap! is better..they had it long before equity but did not market it well.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
yekeyeke
#8 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 12:22:20 PM

@Gekko

Check below link. M-Kesho numbers are way up. Estimate is now over 500K. This is 50% of all bank accounts held by KCB.

On pesa Pap, last time i checked they had 80K accounts.

So who is better here? Pls check your facts before you comment. I would help alot.

http://www.businessdaily...84/-/cc2ou1/-/index.html
#9 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 12:38:15 PM

If you dont have some equity bank in your portfolio i dont think you are a serious investor in the nse.
mwanahisa
#10 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:02:39 PM

@mlennyma. I think such a blanket statement like the one above "If you don't have some equity bank in your portfolio I don't think you are a serious investor on the NSE", is rather too presumptous. Quite a few counters have returned even more robust returns than Equity, over the last year.

This is not to say there's nothing wrong in owning Equity. As a matter, I do have some, but I have learnt everyone has their investing style and mine is not necessarily the best.
ProverB
#11 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:37:50 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
@Gekko

Check below link. M-Kesho numbers are way up. Estimate is now over 500K. This is 50% of all bank accounts held by KCB.
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/cc2ou1/-/index.html[/quote]

@Yeke..MJ's confession two months upon launch of MKESHO's launch ...

[quote=]
Mkesho..recorded registration of 300,000 subscribers within two months..most likely to hit 1 million mark within the year as is projected by Michael Joseph.. eventual plan by equity is to get every one o M-Pesa operating an account with the bank.. It therefore need no mention that the Mobile banking Kingpin for atleast next 5 years is Equity Bank.. now imagine the amount of money attributed to trading across m-pesa being routed thro Equity..

Unless the likes of KCB, BBK etc pre empt this m-kesho thing by starting own mobile platforms with m pesa..

(guys like kina coop are dead in mobile banking..am still puzzled that a whole lot of staff are under contract to sell their mobile banking with target to get 20,000 customers in 3 months.. a paltry 20,000 in THREE FREAKING MONTHS???)

Equity is NOT the "ultimate share" but..the probable fortunes from M-Kesho.. are totally immense.. it would be silly to sell...but also imprudent to put all your eggs here.

on his part, James mwangi commented that of all newly opened mkesho accounts.."only" a maximum of 67% were registering transactions...makes you wonder what he expects if over 200,000 accounts are functioning!!

..pity the other banks..
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
My 2 cents
#12 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:55:54 PM

mlennyma wrote:
If you dont have some equity bank in your portfolio i dont think you are a serious investor in the nse.

Now what kind of a statement is this?????? In my books it is what is called a DUMB statement.
ProverB
#13 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 1:58:23 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

Now what kind of a statement is this?????? In my books it is what is called a DUMB statement.

Hear! Hear! Applause Applause
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#14 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 2:09:16 PM

Sometimes its prudent to praise your darling even if she is ugly and listen from the sidelines what other pple with more beautiful ones have to say....not in bad faith though
#15 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 6:27:48 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
M-Kesho is crap as far as I am concerned. I opened an account in Mid July, and till today they have never sent me an activation SMS, despite having visited their offices three times.

GG, one month after registering, I got the sms today
#16 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 10:56:59 PM

mlennyma wrote:

@mlen where is your analysis to support this statement. If you are just making sweeping statements you might end up in alot of dung. Your return is inversely proportional to the price you pay. At current prices i would rather trust my money with kcb with 12B in new capital than equity with 1 million mkesho accounts.
tkzee
#17 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 1:56:57 PM

BTW was will happen if Zain strategy suceeds?are we likely to see James Mwangi seeking a patnership with Zain?What if KCB sees the opportunity and goes for it?
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
#18 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 2:10:36 PM

People will have 2 lines. One for Zain (for calling all networks) and one for Safaricom (for browsing and M-pesa)
#19 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 2:29:03 PM

tkzee wrote:
BTW was will happen if Zain strategy suceeds?are we likely to see James Mwangi seeking a patnership with Zain?What if KCB sees the opportunity and goes for it?

@tkzee equity is locked out of huge banking partnerships with zain because of its contract with safcom.... KCB would be absolutely retarded if they don't take this advantage
Jamani
#20 Posted : Saturday, August 21, 2010 2:30:48 PM

tkzee wrote:

what will happen if, safcom also lowers its prices to the level of zain and yu? i bet someone will close shop or sell again to another owner