wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Be the Judge on KTN
chris79
#1 Posted : Monday, August 02, 2010 9:37:07 PM

I think I'd give Dan Oloo a B+ for the effort. The acting is poor at times but the idea is superb...
#2 Posted : Monday, August 02, 2010 9:46:11 PM

In Kenya there are no actors, no directors, no producers no nothing!!! Just a bunch of Idle/jobless Kenyans who decide, Hey, how about we come up with a ka-program like this? Acting is so poor it makes me wanna throw up!!! Okay, okay, there is a ka-loose 10% of 'actors' who can actually act - Papa Shirandula (?), the 'luo' & 'masai' guys on vioja - don't remember their names and one or two here and there. The rest, ABK - Absolutely Bure Kabisa!!! Ati "Mpenzi, mpenzi, mimi nakupenda.". "Mpenzi mpenzi, mimi nakupenda pia...." Tired dialogue, poor acting, non-existent story line... I'd rather eat saw dust and oil from guka's bijuti!
#3 Posted : Monday, August 02, 2010 10:15:04 PM

I recognize the talent in the following: Njoroge (of papa), Jalas, Otos, Wiruproda, Omosh, OJ, Freddy, Abdi (of mwala), Olexsander Chosfat, Ondieki Nikakuota, Topayas Richati Kokoto, Makhoha...
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 12:26:15 AM

Olexander Chosfat anytime....This guy catches my sense of humour anytime.Take this day he killed two lions for "murdering' his cows.The judge fines the guy 14K and he retorts,"Unaona?.Kumbe hata simba haina bei"....To him,the fine was the worth of the two lions.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 9:30:30 AM

...hey...what about yukakwota...quite funny!!! Our Chris Rock...
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 9:36:28 AM

Vioja beats all local comedies hands down!
anasazi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 9:57:23 AM

Olexander Chosfat kabisa.

By the way, I believe Kenyan acting has come a long way. Apart from Cobra squad that chose the least talented actors and directors, many programs have been on the up. And I believe that in 5 - 10 more years, the acting will be top notch. It's not as bad as people put it.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:16:40 AM

Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu
Applause Applause Applause Applause

#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:23:08 AM

...Jobu,Jenerali and Tasha of Bebabeba also rank well
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:27:44 AM

Naomi kamau (alison), mother in law, mustafa, Ms morgan, Siri also has some great characters but i havent mastered their names yet.
mukhamba!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 10:43:06 AM

The title for the thread is irrelevant..

Anyway..I find myself loving Wash and Set..in my opinion, it has great actors/actresses, it doesn't sound like they're reading a script, they flow well.

Beba beba has funny characters but it has no script..its like they're just told to speak whatever comes to mind. Its really funny though, especially the ka housegirl who has a crush on Majes..."Sua, suare...."
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 6:25:19 PM

Vioja beats all local comedies hands down!

I second you!

Alexander Chosefat!!! That dude takes the Kenyan Oscar.

By the way have you noted the number of 'actors' trying to imitate him? Can't we just be original?
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 6:30:48 PM

Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu...Tabasamu

Pretentious, plastic-ish, un-imaginative storyline, etc. etc. But guess what, I watch it occasionally. It's either that or I watch Bishop, Dr., Reverend, Former Honourable Maggie!!! My telly is always on 'auto change'!!! Anytime the tune to introduce her program plays, the tv goes on auto search.
Braza
#14 Posted : Saturday, August 14, 2010 3:12:54 PM

Worst Kenyan Soaps: 1. Tabasamu 2. Be the judge. 3. [of late] Mother-in-law.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#15 Posted : Saturday, August 14, 2010 5:53:34 PM

PLOT 10! PLOT 10! PLOT 10!
sheep
#16 Posted : Saturday, August 14, 2010 8:19:03 PM

There is this progi in ktn I think its called mheshimiwa...brilliant characters especially that very brown mzee who shaves jordan.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#17 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 8:57:16 AM

Braza wrote:
Worst Kenyan Soaps: 1. Tabasamu 2. Be the judge. 3. [of late] Mother-in-law.

@Braza i believe Be the judge is not a soap opera unless i dont know the meaning of a soap opera.
Secondly i do think Be the judge is really trying as it exposes how our judicial system works and gives a rough idea of how justice is served in the courts.
Thirdly i think he should change the Jury once in a while as in most cases i have watched the jury tends to be biased and the arguements sort of results into alot of yelling/shouting.
Spend.thrift
#18 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 9:44:44 AM

I think "Be the Judge" is a good way of doing public education on how the justice system functions and I also tend to think that it mirrors the realities. They bring in wide range of cases which are in our lives.

Please don't cast it together with "soaps". I also think it is should be treasonable to dismiss the local productions on short sighted premises. The entertainment and Arts industries is emerging as one of the alternative sources of employment and that local TV is incresaing "local" content is a step in the right direction. It is actually in sync with the Vision 2030, which many Kenyans have learnt to dismiss even as it slowly unravels in real terms before their eyes. We love to criticise, Don't we?

To be quite Honest, I think "Be the Judge" is a very promising production especially if the production team will embrace dynamism.
#19 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 10:38:55 AM

I think 'Be the Judge' is not some entertainment show to be grouped together with vioja or shirandula or other 'soaps'. I dont watch it expecting to laugh or to get punchlines in broken Kiswahili...
#20 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 9:54:31 PM

We are not ready for a jury system, Kenyan public always feels sorry for the crooks. Public prosecutors are useless. But i give it a clean 10/10
A New Kenya