wazua Thu, Sep 18, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Safaricom to acquire Interconnect & IGO wireless
sky5
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:53:58 AM

Wazuans,

Any thoughts on what this portends w.r.t. data market?

http://www.rich.co.ke/media/docs/SCAN0548_000.pdf
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:57:25 AM

sky5 wrote:
Wazuans,

DOMINATION... and an ant up CCK's arse!
webish
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:08:49 PM

sky5 wrote:
Wazuans,

DOMINATION... and an ant up CCK's arse!

hehe. funny!
It's amazing how Safaricom will always find a way!

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
erifloss
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:19:34 PM

Wealth maximisation for shareholders in the long run. The data market is the next frontier and they are setting themselves up for that coz with the entry of Bharti expect data prices to further go down if they use their Indian pitch. The only problem is the over-supply of these shares in the market and some of the people holding the shares don't know the actual value!
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
ProverB
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:29:54 PM

oooooooohhhh.... Access Kenya! ..Access kenya needs to flee inovation-wise!!! and flee now!!!!!.Anxious Pray

I'm told though a gazelle is cute..But whenever chased by a Cheeter..world's fastest terrestial predetor..the Gazelle ceases to be cute..n becomes focused.. Success kill-rate of cheeters preying on Gazelle is just 5%..yet the cheeter is way faster! Think

Safcom are coming too close for comfort.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
sky5
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:00:03 PM

Safcom was named Africas Telecom firm of the year yesterday.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/1conxhz/-/index.html

This firm is going places. I hope the share value will follow.
qw25041985
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:40:25 PM

@proverb. Quite inspirational. But what beats me is that there are 4 fiber optic cables and still the benefits arnt tricklin down to common mwanainchi. I think somebody has his foot on cck's neck. Cck shld wake up ..
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
chris79
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:56:15 PM

It's a free market @qw...
tony stark
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 5:04:29 PM

We have poor anti trust laws.
Suffericon is stifling competition with prohibitive pricing on their voice calls. They block developers access to their Mpesa thats will enable programs and platforms to generate online transactions. Now once they corner and monopolise the internet service provision they will slow down progress by knocking out small and dynamic companies or swallowing them whole. They will also use their market share to price competitors out and then increase their charges as happened with voice.
I know most of the share holders will have harsh words for me but antitrust laws are important to help prevent exploitation of the public by giant monolithic organizations like suffericon and to allow progress and development.
How many here use internet explorer ... what would the internet be without fast and secure browsers like Mozilla and google chrome.

I don't want a word lashing but suffericon has shown all to often that they will use their market share to effect exclusionary practices and CCK should stop them despite what their share holders think!
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:36:08 PM

Sasa wewe @tony stark, who has prevented any other telecom company from acquiring Igo/Instaconnect. I heard that Erricson proposed/urged/begged Kencell to begin money transfer service, way before MPesa, to no avail!

In fact, I'll tell you that the most lucrative real estate is virtual - spectrum - apportioned by CCK; used by transmitting companies (media, telecom). It has made the most recent genuine young millionaires (in the hundreds) of late. So everyone buys companies that have it from Wananchi, Access, Standard Group, Safaricom etc.

So both companies are owned by the same guy - the most recent young millionaire to join the club.
Atul Chauhan’s Experience; Owner
Igo Wireless / Instaconnect Ltd
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:54:31 PM

@tonystark - I agree with @muganda

I have said it before. I use YU for voice calls coz CHAEAPER. Why people insist on using sufferingcon???

I use SufferingCon for data coz of SPEED, PORTABILITY & PRICE (well, not cheap but OK for normal use). The rest esp YU suck at data

These are MY choices! No-one has a gun to my head...

Others cud have introduced M-Pesa (Obopay has been around for years) but they did not...

tony stark
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 9:50:40 PM

@ Muganda & VVS ... I have not complained about suffericon acquiring any telecos and it's great Atul is getting his dues from his WISP. All im saying is that suffericon have a propensity to practice unfair market strategies. This is clearly shown by how they handle their voice interconnection charges and Mpesa. In the states AT&T did the same thing and had to be broken down into baby bells, Microsoft did it with the internet explorer (shittiest program ever) and had to be reigned in. Suffericon is going to do what these 2 did in Kenya with the data and internet. They have successfully done it with voice.

YU, Zain and Orange are big companies that can can afford and try to compete with suffericon. But when they give up and decide that our market is not worth the trouble dont you think you will suffer when you have to move back to sufferincon. Thats exactly what the regulatory structures should ensure that the field is level and the market leader is not f***ing up others unfairly ... which they are.

The internet services is not well developed and suffericon can and will easily corner this market. The few Wireless internet service providers (WISPs) will eitherbe swallowed up or close shop when suffericon out prices them out of the market then suffericon will go back to ridiculous charges once they have no competition.
What suffericon is doing with interconnection charges, mpesa and mobile transfer is akin to a group of people telling another group of people not to trade in a particular area. That is unfair competition and as the market leader they can do that and get away with it!
The big picture is we suffer in the long run!
@ VVS ...I also gave up and moved to orange. I still have a suffericon line for Mpesa mainly and Im also a shareholder.
#13 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 2:07:26 AM

AT&T was a natural monopoly... Safaricom came in when Telkom (KP&TC) & Zain were already here... Safaricom was a subsidiary of KPTC...

Only YU (who as Econet were screwed over by GoK + corrupt politicians) shud get a break coz they were forced to delay their lauch...
tony stark
#14 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 8:55:32 AM

@ VVS: Now what fair market policy is that.
Orange bought a debt riddled company who they now find have missing assets, have ridiculous targets in a difficult market with ridiculous interconnection charges.
Zain is suffering from the same ridiculous interconnection charges.
Yes they dont market as well or as aggressively that their fault and not the regulators fault.

The success of Mpesa is not because it is a great product Zap is a much better product which had bank interconnection from the start while safaricom introduces mkesho yesterday and receives accolades. The reason for success is because they are the market leaders who control 70% and they exploit and abuse their position.

They will do the exact same thing with internet services.

I agree the public is to blame for not voting with their feet but the Government is being complicit of the the market abuse and uneven field!
#15 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:16:59 AM

tony stark wrote:
@ VVS: Now what fair market policy is that.
Orange bought a debt riddled company who they now find have missing assets, have ridiculous targets in a difficult market with ridiculous interconnection charges.
Zain is suffering from the same ridiculous interconnection charges.
Yes they dont market as well or as aggressively that their fault and not the regulators fault.

The success of Mpesa is not because it is a great product Zap is a much better product which had bank interconnection from the start while safaricom introduces mkesho yesterday and receives accolades. The reason for success is because they are the market leaders who control 70% and they exploit and abuse their position.

They will do the exact same thing with internet services.

I agree the public is to blame for not voting with their feet but the Government is being complicit of the the market abuse and uneven field!

Zain was Celtel was KenCell who was king. KenCell lines > Safaricom. Then Safaricom attacked with per second billing. Brilliant. KenCell stuck with per Minute. The rest is history.

Orange bought into a Telkom but poor research. Who did not know Telkom was a name Kenyans hated?

Reliance of India offered $100mn LESS for Telkom coz they were smarter. Buyer beware. I am not talking missing assets & scams (I agree with the French) but the brand & staff.

M-Pesa became popular coz Safaricom was #1 to bring it to the public. Zain lagged. Shauri yao. What stopped them?
#16 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:24:46 AM

@Tony; we've been over this debate previously. If Orange bought a debt ridden shell of a company, shauri yao! Nobody put a gun to their head.

If Kenyans want to stick to an expensive SCOM; shauri yao!

I have a Zain line that I have used since the days of Kencell. Now I am slowly moving away to YU. Keeping the Zain because I still have FAF on the 3bob offer. I've SMSed them to to move to YU where FAF is just a bob!

I have a SCOM line for MPESA - Zain's zap is hard to find agents. I tried thei GPRS data a year ago and it was too painful - recall my thread on SK?

I have an Orange CDMA EV-DO data modem. Speeds are decent and the price is affordable. I spend about 2k per month on data bundles.

I have a Telkom wireless line to call and recieve business calls from office landlines. It's a 020- so many people imagine that it is a landline.

I have a SCOM 3G data modem which came with a recent laptop acquisation. I only used the 300MB free data. It's very fast, but expensive too. At my data consumption rate, it will probably cost me 4k pm on SCOM, so I don't use at all - sits in my drawer waiting for the day the reduce the rates.

People must learn to look for the best bargains. As MJ put it during the release of 2009/10 results: "this is a difficult market. We have serious challenges, but we haven't just sat and cried for help from the government. We've gone out there and tried to find out what best suits the customers and we've tried our best to offer it at a price that they can afford. that's how we've managed to grow ahead of the others"

Same applies; if people think SCOM is a con; they can simply move!
#17 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:45:05 AM

@mukiha AMEN brother...

Phone Line for Voice: YU
Data: Safaricom

I don't use M-Pesa or Zap but I will start soon. I am also looking into EV-DO coz of price/cost.
Cammarada
#18 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:45:51 AM

@Tony:
Activism in a capitalistic economy has very small share of impact. You better just live with what SC are doing.
Whether orange bought a debt ridden asset or not is not the question, if you watched MJ interview of how they only had 200m as resource to establish themself at the time when Kencell was comfortably asleep.
Live with it or find your way into SCOM board room and tell other directors what they are doing is bad.
tony stark
#19 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:55:05 AM

@ Muhika .. I think im not passing my point across very well.
The kenyans who are losing money on expensive calls i totally agree with you .......... shauri yao.
My complaints are for the technology developer who want to intergrate Mpesa into an online payment scheme. Suffericon wont give them access because they too are developing this system takes suffericon 10 years the developer was about to launch e.g Tulipe and the likes.

Im complaining about the ISPs the skywebs who will be priced out when suffericon controls internet service from cable to teh last mile.

I complaining suffericon will coerce/ leverage its subscibers to use its affiliate companies through one or 2 marketing gimmicks, lies or restricting access to their subscribers. That's what im complaining about!! This are teh industries which aren't developing because of suffericons practices. It's just about movement to cheaper options it's also about access!
#20 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 9:55:15 AM

Did you know that KQ is 'hated' in some African countries for its network despite KQ being the only option?

Why? JEALOUSY (& poor service).

Under Brian Davies, KQ set its target to be THE airline for Africa. Unfortunately, many African countries refused to open the skies but KQ kept on expanding slowly...

SAA & Ethiopian are subsidized by their governments. KQ is not. They continued their expansion with commercial loans. This means they had to expand where there was a market (& access).

Governments are run by political interests who don't care about the mwananchi but driven by populism...

For those supporting CCK (as a blunt tool of the GoK) wasn't it GoK:
1)Ran down Telkom?
2) Owned 60% of Safaricom?
3) Sold 3g license @ $25mn (upfront) when there were other better options like leasing or profit sharing?