wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

6 Pages123>»
SHARES versus REAL ESTATE
My 2 cents
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 1:25:00 PM

Investors seem divided into two major camps; those who favour shares (Buffet, Kirubi) as the route to riches and those that favour real estate (Trump, S.Githunguri).

SKerians, if you won a lottery today (say, 10M) would you invest the majority in shares or real estate?
My 2 cents attached the following image(s):
weigh.jpg (3kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
PONDI
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 1:46:35 PM

my take, currently its far more profitable to dabble in real estate as opposed to shares. i'd put 80% in real estate... plots, and 20% in shares. that's what ave been doing for last 3 years and its been amaizing. for me, shares represent my savings incase I need a lot of money real fast. I have no discipline to keep very much kwa account so..
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 2:45:56 PM

Land prospecting...fun and far much less a heart-ache...Real estate for a hobby and stocks if you are young enough not to die of a heart attack.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 4:33:30 PM

@Njunge is right age plays a big factor into investment decisions...

i say if your below 30 fly into stocks because they never disappoint long term... if you cant tolerate high risk stick to real estate though the gains are smaller than stocks long term
young
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 4:57:54 PM

Voice of the Veterans @Pondi, Njunge.

I would split it into
40% Stocks
30% Real Estate
30% Other Investments (Money Mkt,
managed funds, fixed income)

@giru267,
What returns more on the long term is relative, it can be stocks , it can be real estate depending on your choices.

Stocks is more exciting to me than real estate, but real estate in Africa is a MUST have as a leverage as they only have one definite direction =====> Stable or Up. I like to do what I love best.
For real estate ensure you follow due diligence and perfect all pemissible legal documentation(s).
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 5:03:25 PM

In Africa (well, at least in Kenya) the paper that shows your piece of land could be just that... a piece of paper showing you own a piece of land!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 5:44:44 PM

Shares are "easier". As young says, you need to ensure you have all the necessary documentation which can be too stressful in Kenya. But for the stock market a CDS Account is very easy to obtain and buying and selling of shares is relatively easy. The hard part comes when you choose which company to put your dough in.
Wa_ithaka
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 5:49:29 PM

Risk vs reward is definitely higher for shares
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 6:02:25 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Risk vs reward is definitely higher for shares

Not if you buy Real Estate in RV... well, for me anyway...
My 2 cents
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 6:14:40 PM

In Africa (well, at least in Kenya) the paper that shows your piece of land could be just that... a piece of paper showing you own a piece of land!

Well said. For me nothing is as risky as buying something only to find out there are 10 other claiming ownership.

I love shares because...
1. They are highly liquid (which can also be a disadvantage)
2. I can diversify even with little capital.
3. I do not have to chase for dividends unlike say rental real estate
3. I am taxed only 5% on dividends
4. I can know the value of my holdings objectively
5. I have confidence that as long as they reflect on my CDSC statement that they truly belong to me and no other.
6. I can trade online no matter where in the world I am located.
7. RETURNS RETURNS RETURNS
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 6:45:57 PM

And those 7 reasons are exactly why I declare that "Shares TRUMP Real Estate!"
Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 7:53:27 PM

vvs, the ownership risk is also prevalent in shares. Imagine you go trading with one of the smaller brokers like AIB or Drummond or worse, an agent like Tsavo. They go under, si your new name will be "vvs bin hasara".

Once you remove the ownership issue, shares start looking v risky because of the many factors not under your control.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 9:02:49 PM

If my corpus was big, i would never touch shares. I would buy land land land, in nairobi, mombasa, UK, US, Iraq, moon, sun... Land is the radical resource from which all others flow... Oil, gold, tea. For now, i seek to diversify like mzee young says.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 9:13:22 PM

nice post and even better contribution in the processApplause i go for 60% stocks and 40% real estate, i am still young enough to beat a heart attack, i just like the thrill of the stocksApplause
#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 9:41:35 PM

I once read somewhere It takes 10 years to become really good at something...

So at this stage in my life, I tell you with all honesty, I would not buy real estate, not a dime!!!

Because if I bought real estate, and became really good at the business, I would form a real estate company like Knight Frank. Then it would pay to raise capital and increase shareholding by issuing shares to outsiders.

So when I was younger, I bought shares. These days, I'd use the whole 10m shillings to buy companies.
-I only buy NMG because I'm naturally verbose, and if I could have it, I'd buy the whole company...
-Or Scangroup because I admire the way company is run, and in a second life I'd be in advertising...
-Or Safaricom because Michael Joseph works harder than most men I've met recently and I want him working for me...

etc etcetra...

#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 10:03:21 PM

LOL... 'vvs bin hasara'...

Just as an FYI... I was at some of these shady guys when they went down in the 1990s... Town & Country, etc...

I bailed 100% from Nyaga in the early 2000s as well as Francis Thuo...

Pole, pole I ended up with only the 'strong' brokers... I like those backed by BANKS... Maybe not the service lakini the 'safety'...
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 10:22:48 PM

Wa-ithaka, crazy sense of humor Laughing out loudly geeeez! Keep it up, machozi!!, all the same i think vvs and muganda are right.
A New Kenya
My 2 cents
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 12:03:45 PM

I once sold my only piece of real estate to invest fully in shares but realised however that when I pass on it would be preferable to to leave the children real estate rather than shares. The latter would be sold in quick order!!!! If the real estate is held jointly, they would have to really think and agree before it was ever disposed off.
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 3:06:15 PM

@2cents - Dude... u will be DEAD... and face it... when there is land involved... all sorts of crazy stuff goes on!!!

At least with shares, it is easy & quick... land means more in-fighting

I say enjoy ur chumz... if the kids have completed college, u have done your bit!
My 2 cents
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 3:43:54 PM

@2cents - Dude... u will be DEAD... and face it... when there is land involved... all sorts of crazy stuff goes on!!!

At least with shares, it is easy & quick... land means more in-fighting

I say enjoy ur chumz... if the kids have completed college, u have done your bit!

The real estate in question is a rental apartment not land. I don't do land.

Have you ever heard of boomerang kids? Those are the type that come back home after college and will not leave. Also otherwise called KIPPERS = Kids in parents pockets eroding retirement income smile