wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Jubilee & Matatus!
#1 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:24:01 PM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/cvpob7z/-/index.html

Jubilee to start insuring Matatus???

Lakini, they are very smart so...
#2 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:41:51 PM

Value addition or value erosion ????
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 2:58:36 AM

I am not sure if Jubilee ever insured matatus directly though they did so through the Motor Pool many years ago...

Lakini, I have faith that if Jubilee were to insure matatus, they would get plenty of clients coz of their 'name'. They should do it slowly before building up the business...

As I said, JIHL are smart folks!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 11:55:19 AM

this all sounds like they are targeting the lower end of the market which has huge potential because in addition to the matatu insurance they are also set to introduce crop, legal and funeral insurance...

as a new shareholder all this sounds good!! Applause
My 2 cents
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 4:37:20 PM

I beg to differ. You can NEVER make a profit selling insurance to matatus. This is a no-win proposition; the number of fraudulent claims alone will sink you.

In life you choose to either learn from the mistakes of others or make your own mistakes and learn from them.
Wa_ithaka
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 4:45:54 PM

Has any firm profitabley sold matatu insurance? I thought the way to do was to lend to those who sell the insurance?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 4:51:49 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
I beg to differ. You can NEVER make a profit selling insurance to matatus. This is a no-win proposition; the number of fraudulent claims alone will sink you.

In life you choose to either learn from the mistakes of others or make your own mistakes and learn from them.

@My 2 cents i dont think you read the article properly, Jubilee did not go into this venture specifically because of the reason you stated above...

the budget has done alot to cover all this holes and Jubilee also plans to put alot of risk management into place so it still stands to be beneficial to them
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 8:55:44 PM

>> While at it, does anyone have details on when the share split is effected?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 11:04:34 AM

kenmac wrote:
>> While at it, does anyone have details on when the share split is effected?

@kenmac are you talking about a Jubilee share split???
last i heard it was bonus shares and a dividend but its now trading ex all and the bonus shares will be uploaded in August...

My 2 cents
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 1:02:23 PM

guru267 wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:

@My 2 cents i dont think you read the article properly, Jubilee did not go into this venture specifically because of the reason you stated above...

the budget has done alot to cover all this holes and Jubilee also plans to put alot of risk management into place so it still stands to be beneficial to them

I will them all the best....