Investor
Stocks
Usd rally= Global rally?
Geitner, Paulson said it, imf said it, WB said it, Obama said it, and now the usd is saying it. Why wait? you have very little time to decide. When will the mad rally commence? Where will you be seated? In the field or on the sidelines or a late entry casualty? Am not selling anything, am just at the boarding gate with my ticket waiting for take-off, i will sell later when all and sundry rush in, i have paid the price. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@M K what rally are you talking of, seriously? If anyone is waiting for a mad dash they are mistaken. The recovery started in march 2009. Its been a steady climb since then. Hakuna kitu kama rally, just spurts and bursts, higher highs and higher lows... Or am i the one in the dark? Life is short. Live passionately.
@sparkly, sorry am browsing on a phone and cant give a comprehensive report now, however before that go to www.exchange-rates.org and do a graph on any currency vs usd from september (9 months) and you will see. There are no spurts and bursts, the momentum is now 'raging'. An American now finds anything upto 20% cheaper in fairly stable markets abroad. Picture an american at F2, and the beer is cheaper, the hotel room is cheaper, the 'langa' is cheaper, and the stocks are cheaper, the chips is chipa, and kuku funga is cheaper what will happen? A New Kenya
Another example, who will be willing to give a discount, boeing or airbus? A New Kenya
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2007 Posts: 230 Location: London,SW
@Much Know:Am afraid i dont agree with you;the signs are on the wall,prepare for a double deep recession.The europe austerity measures and the weakening consumer demand in the US are just but a few signs.
Morey, am taking on more risk, milk is bogof, ugali is guaranteed, sukuma is cheap, dams are full, power bills down, my salo stable and hopefully up, i think i can survive 'double dip' A New Kenya
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,134 Location: Nairobi
@much know - All this can disappear in 3 months with the idiots Kenyans are... PEV 2008, anyone? I think Biden came to warn Kenya... YES or NO... say NO to violence... lakini Kenyans are idiots... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
@much know you're right that everything becomes cheaper to americans with a strengthening dollar including stocks but you're forgetting one thing... the dollar is strength is amidst seriously weakening sentiment of the global recovery and hence the dollar is acting as a safe haven currency so if anything you should be more worried of the dollar strengthening because it is a clear sign of risk aversion Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
muchknow, i'd say NSE works like this 60% impact internally from PEV; our primitive politics; drought; rains et al 40% impact from external factors i.e. global economy; global markets;global events. As a general rule, if the dollar is strenngthening, this means there is flight to quality i.e. risk aversion. in that situation, investors will be selling and moving into dollars. Not good for NSE The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Our budget is up and markets up, i think this rally will be prolonged, the indicators are just too strong, am ready to eat my words but maybe my words will soon be too costly for a frugal man like me-self A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Much Know wrote:Our budget is up and markets up, i think this rally will be prolonged, the indicators are just too strong, am ready to eat my words but maybe my words will soon be too costly for a frugal man like me-self EABL is in a mess with that tax increase...Motoring stocks like CMC how do they benefit???...the winners are ARM and Bamburi..VAT is now @ 18%...
The market better rally. Startin with my co-op bank . I hate its liquidity though. As for EABL it was so obvious. But still eabl chunes out profits. A fool is the investor who'll panic sell his eabl shares. I am ready to pick em up . LOL. Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Investor
Stocks
Usd rally= Global rally?