wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Co-op Bank - Fake Notes
#1 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:00:49 AM

I went to a Co-op Bank and withdrew cash (which I didn't mix with any other cash!). I went to deposit some of the money at Barclays bank and to my suprise one of the 1,000/= notes was found to be fake!!! wtf! Should I be going through note by note checking if it is fake when I withdraw money from the bank? What if it is a substantial amount (over the counter)? And in the case of an ATM machine, even if you notice some notes are fake, then what? Bure kabisa!!!

And how does an ATM machine end up with fake money with all the resources the bank has to check on fake money? Way ward employees? Incompetence? Security companies tasked with the duty of loading the machines? Seriously!!!
qw25041985
#2 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:15:15 AM

We all know that fake money is circulatin in our money. How many times hav u heard that people hav gone to deposit money in bank only to b told that tha chumes are fake ? Thìs fake cash is usually printed in kariobangi. A hideov even police know. So @ maich u ar just another statistic. I think bank employee ar to blame. They are 2 lazy.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#3 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 9:24:43 AM

a similar thing happened to me!!! i received a fake 1000ksh note from a very reputable forex bureau here in UG and it was only noticed when i tried to deposit the cash into stanbic...

what i realised is that the guys in this business have become so good that the ONLY way to detect their money is using the purple neon lights...

I advise you check your notes if you have the time
Blackberry
#4 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 10:33:26 AM

It happened to a collegue. when we went to complain to the bank. The bank of ofcos refused to take responsibility because the said ATM is serviced by a third party(wtf!) ati the Banking staff actually load cash at the branch ATMs . Learning lesson do not use ATMs that are not at a branch and especially if withdrwaing a lot of cash(My friend had withdrawn 40K and found the last 10K was fake (we do not know how much of the 40 was fake) Imagine

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#5 Posted : Friday, June 04, 2010 11:58:40 AM

guru267, the light is called UV light, a std technique for forgery detection. I've been mulling over this idea to set up a training consultancy in document fraud...
seeker*
#6 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 1:48:51 PM

where can one buy a small UV light?at how much?i see some in matatus but those are abit big.
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.