Investor
Stocks
AND NOW NSE goes south
Almost all the counters are going south today. Is it because of the Kadhi courts or is our market reponding to the global markets downturn? Even Safcom, after posting such splendid results has not been spared. Those who did not alight from the bus during the bull-run shauri yenu. Meanwhile i wait to board the Equity bus at 18bob. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
no need for panic...the bull is still on..SELL NOW...REGRET LATER..
Over 90% of the counters are showing 'red' IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
another opportunity to board the buses.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Today at 2.20pm, sample this........ Mumias....12.30/= safcon....5.35/= Kenol.....96.50/= Ni kubaya!!!! IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
@mwenza,we have seen worse before.Contrary to the mood here,markets in Asia closed higher and European ones are also trading higher,if we get another session in these markets like today,we could see the foreign exit slow down.BUT the turnover today is hefty,1.3 billion shillings as of this hour.
mwenza wrote:Today at 2.20pm, sample this........
Mumias....12.30/= safcon....5.35/= Kenol.....96.50/=
Ni kubaya!!!! I've got my eyes on Kenol vibaya sana. Mulika Mwizi!!! This is one bus I'm so getting into. Just observing the market and once I make the decision (before friday 3:00pm), I'm in mbaya! Wherever the bus goes as from next week I go with it. I'll be the guy seated next to @vvs asking him, wewe ulilipishwa fare pesa ngapi? Unashukia mwisho ama njiani? Twende kazi! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
mwenza wrote:Almost all the counters are going south today.
Is it because of the Kadhi courts or is our market reponding to the global markets downturn? Even Safcom, after posting such splendid results has not been spared.
Those who did not alight from the bus during the bull-run shauri yenu.
Meanwhile i wait to board the Equity bus at 18bob. market focus is on safaricom, most sell off is profit taking while other would be buyers resolve to wait and see what happens today.. europe dramas effect on NSE is not so likely.. ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Wouldnt it be a shame if the NSE crosses the 6000 mark in 2017? Remember in 1993 the index was at around 5000pts,8yrs later at 1000pts...17yrs later we are at 4300,thats a lifetime!!!...so the belief that the index always goes up is unfounded. This is a traders market...BUY LOW SELL HIGH The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
@maichblack.,Total 1st quarter has given a peek at how this sector is doing,300% growth in gross profits.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
mwenza wrote:Almost all the counters are going south today.
Is it because of the Kadhi courts or is our market reponding to the global markets downturn? Even Safcom, after posting such splendid results has not been spared.
Those who did not alight from the bus during the bull-run shauri yenu.
Meanwhile i wait to board the Equity bus at 18bob. Its the latter, the nse tends to shadow global markets albeit lagging Life is short. Live passionately.
its not just today that they are going south.they have been since the begining of this week despite the NSE index hitting 4300pts. its only a fool who'd dare sell right now.......advice is to buy and hold onto your seats tightly.Bamburi,BBK & KCB are good buys.Access is shacky but a great one too.
@maichblack,kenol is still going to drop beyond 96.5 so ad advice you to give it a few more days before you buy.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
WAGUMA wrote:Access is shacky but a great one too.
@maichblack,kenol is still going to drop beyond 96.5 so ad advice you to give it a few more days before you buy. ??? Access a good buy? how do you explain whack service whole last week with internet on n off for users...losing home based clients to safcom, zain, orange n Yu data products while losing corporates to competition..ours moved to kdn this week...Safcom plans to go corporate on data..huge brand giving more muscle to it... and doesn't kenol close its books for split on tuesday? how many "few more days" are you counting? does guru selling safcom now after boarding at under 3bob become a fool?? Dude..your hypothesis is way off base...or so i think...but hey..just me. Happy Investing. ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,136 Location: Nairobi
I wish I had more cash!!! I planned to sell Kenol to buy KQ lakini I cant buy either LOL.... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@ProverB,the whole purpose of a split is to increase liquidity and make the stock more affordable to the public.Kenol is already falling due to the impending split and once that goes thru,the mkt price could even go below the split price.
As for access,its still cheaper than safcom data esp for corporate bodies.last week was a hitch that you had to feel.my co. uses UUNET and trust me its worse than Access so given time,it will pounce back.its a very stable I.T company.
@guru,if u bought at 3bob you should have sold when it was trading at 5.8 tho u can still go ahead.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,136 Location: Nairobi
@waguma... LOL... nothing of the sort... I am ready to bet that KenolKobil will RISE in price after the split... So if someone wants to bet with me that post-split KK will be above 9.95 by 15 Oct 2010... I am ready! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
The European markets are firing up...the NSE to follow...only if the politicians fix this Khadis courts impaasse...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
the deal wrote:only if the politicians fix this Khadis courts impaasse... I doubt the Khadhi Courts have anything to do with it. The ruling right now is inconsequential. The proposed draft cannot be changed and the Judiciary cannot change anything in the present constitution if the new one fails. Those foreign Investors will be back. I think they outsmarted us, and are profit taking. The effect is a deep then they'll come and pick them up from us for a song. Again. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/31/2010 Posts: 23 Location: Nairobi
All those outside WAIT AND SEE. All those inside PRAY.
In the good old SK days somebody(can't remember who) explained to us how the stock market works. He went ahead and gave a very good example of a Mzungu and Monkeys. Am now wondering.....Have we been left holding the useless monkeys?? IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Investor
Stocks
AND NOW NSE goes south