wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Why would C&G cost more than BERG share?
Surealligator
#1 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 1:46:14 PM

Car and General paid a dividend of 67 cents. Crown Berger is giving 1.25 shillings. Why is C&G trading at 50 shillings while Crown Berger is trading at a miserable 34.50. Is there something underlying the difference?
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Wa_ithaka
#2 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 2:38:51 PM

Different industries; eps et al. Can't compare. Ni kama kulinganisha... raila na kamotho; omena na githeri
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#3 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 5:16:00 PM

Surealligator wrote:
Car and General paid a dividend of 67 cents. Crown Berger is giving 1.25 shillings. Why is C&G trading at 50 shillings while Crown Berger is trading at a miserable 34.50. Is there something underlying the difference?

@ Surealligator you surprise me bana. Since when did the absolute amount of dividend become a way of valuing stocks? si safaricom na peni kumi basi itakuwa bure...
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 2:42:10 AM

LOL... ati dividends should be the main or sole reason for valuing a stock...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:10:53 AM

Reminds me of the comment by Prof Anyang' Nyong'o in the run up to SCOM IPO; "They are selling it at throw away! Sh5 is a joke; even KQ was sold for Sh11...."
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:21:52 AM

mukiha wrote:
Reminds me of the comment by Prof Anyang' Nyong'o in the run up to SCOM IPO; "They are selling it at throw away! Sh5 is a joke; even KQ was sold for Sh11...."

A whole bloody professor!

#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:34:22 AM

@2012; YES.... prof of political science...

@surealligator; if you compare some basic data of C&G and crown, you will understand why:

EPS: C&G = 8.8, Crown = 3.64

NAV: C&G = 57.8, Crown = 34.3

P/E: C&G = 5.7, Crown = 9.6 [this makes Crown almost twice MORE expensive!]

P/B: C&G = 0.86, Crown = 1.02 [this makes Crown 20% MORE expensive]

On these alone, it is clear that Crown at Sh35 is MORE expensive than C&G at Sh50.
Wondergirl
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:39:52 AM

@ Mukiha if you don't want to start an abusive thread, then don't go mentioning people's names(especially politicians of kenya who are glorified by others ) .There always people waitng around the corner waiting for an opportunity to insult.Its uncalled for.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:57:17 AM

@Wondergirl; it is important to mention prominent people's names, especially politicians, and especially when they goof. It helps us know the caliber of leadership we have.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 7:58:19 AM

Wondergirl wrote:
@ Mukiha if you don't want to start an abusive thread, then don't go mentioning people's names(especially politicians of kenya who are glorified by others ) .There always people waitng around the corner waiting for an opportunity to insult.Its uncalled for.

My dear you hold your political leaders a bit too highly. Some of us prefer to treat them like the jokes they are.
I have a lot of respect for the good Professor, he was by far the best Planning Minister and a reason why we enjoy some of the things we do today.

makmende
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:32:44 AM

mukiha. yo the only person who has answered the original question of the post. Guys lets not laugh at others esp when they are seeking info. the author of the post was so innocent wen asking bout the diff in the 2. Though i liked the raila vs kamotho analogy lol!
Roho Juu
the deal
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:33:56 AM

mukiha wrote:
@2012; YES.... prof of political science...

@surealligator; if you compare some basic data of C&G and crown, you will understand why:

EPS: C&G = 8.8, Crown = 3.64

NAV: C&G = 57.8, Crown = 34.3

P/E: C&G = 5.7, Crown = 9.6 [this makes Crown almost twice MORE expensive!]

P/B: C&G = 0.86, Crown = 1.02 [this makes Crown 20% MORE expensive]

On these alone, it is clear that Crown at Sh35 is MORE expensive than C&G at Sh50.

car and general is on my watchlist...its a good stock...in 2009 its the cost of sales that broke their necks..but this was due to tough economic times..
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:22:03 AM

I once heard the CEO - the youthful Vijay Gidoomal - quip that he can't understand why the share is so expensive! Makes you wonder, doesn't it?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:35:49 AM

People are missing the point, look again
A New Kenya
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:39:44 AM

mukiha wrote:

LOL... even the smart politicians make idiotic comments... just to look clever... and suddenly look not so smart!

Lakini in Kenya, the problem is the wananchi are also idiots!

Proof:
1) Electing the same corrupt bastards over & over again... be it moi or gumo or one of any of the fools/thieves!

2) Voting tribal above all else. 2008 is testament to this.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:43:46 AM

Wondergirl wrote:

My dear you hold your political leaders a bit too highly. Some of us prefer to treat them like the jokes they are.
I have a lot of respect for the good Professor, he was by far the best Planning Minister and a reason why we enjoy some of the things we do today.

Kenyan politicians are scummier than scum...

- night-time swearing in among other shenanigans
- corrupt to the core. Even whores have more self-respect. At least they dont pretend to be something else
- Callous. Tax-free salaries/perks while Kenyans starve
- Happy to use violence even when unjustified
Wa_ithaka
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 11:26:44 AM

How can you compare crown berger (paints) and C&G cars? In addition to the historic ratios (eps, p/e et al), one has to look at which between the has better future prospectsgiven industry compe, economy, float et al.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Surealligator
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 11:28:13 AM

mukiha wrote:

@Macmende

Thanks, you pointed out the fact. Am learning, and relearning. Mukiha, I believe knows better but its good letting the fraternity here refresh their mind, mine included.

@Mukiha

It pissed me off when the bearded sister said Safcom shares are cheaper than KQ. I wonder if he got his Professorial papers from Togo or they were honorary. We need to see Wisdom in an elder for us to accord him respect.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 11:28:56 AM

@waithaka - Does C&G do cars?

I do not recall they do cars (unless they have a franchise I dont know of except Porsche... I think!)

Otherwise, the point is well taken coz paint is easier to scale up... and Crown is the #1 name tho Basco has done well with Duracoat + marangi
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 8:23:24 PM

@waithaka - Does C&G do cars?

I do not recall they do cars (unless they have a franchise I dont know of except Porsche... I think!)

Otherwise, the point is well taken coz paint is easier to scale up... and Crown is the #1 name tho Basco has done well with Duracoat + marangi

@vvs C&G is a true jack of all trades. They do investment in real property, tire retreads, lawn mowers, motor bikes, tuk tuks, washing machines, generators, poultry and i dont know what else.