wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

5 Pages123>»
MKESHO. Equity partnership with Mpesa
chris79
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:37:51 AM

While the bottom feeders struggle with reduced revenues due unrealistic low tariffs the market leader safaricom is busy leading the way with innovative strategies. And then they wonder why they are not making profits, running to CCK for protection...
Jaguar
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:53:29 AM

chris79 wrote:
market leader safaricom is busy leading the way with innovative strategies

kcb, family bank have the same product. Stanchart also have a similar product with zap. The only difference is that the commander in chief did not attend the launch of the earlier similar products
chris79
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:01:07 AM

Not safaricom's fault if the others can't market their services well...
sky5
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:08:52 AM

It's a pity to other mobile operators who think that tariff is everything and forget innovation. Or if they have any innovation, they forget to market it properly. Kudos Safcom for this one. I hope this will translate to increase in share value in the future.
Djagame
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 8:37:43 PM

What do CCK and the other telcos have to say about this.

All that remains is for Safcom subscribers without Equity a/c to open new ones and Equity a/c holders without Safcom lines to acquire theirs.
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 8:57:37 PM

Wawawa, so I was able to dig up more on this MKESHO partnership between Safaricom and Equity Bank.

What I gleaned in brief:
--@Jaguar is right. It does mirror what a couple of banks including NIC, SCB, KCB offer
--but President and Prime Minister at launch surely does look like a PR truimph
--and using Safaricom's MPESA network to offer same service perhaps as bank agents
--and ability to link both accounts so credit rating is done via MPESA transactions
--and your MPESA account is linked to earn interest, personal accident insurance, short-term loan
--and technology funded by Bill and Melinda Gates foundation via CGAP

Hmmmn, kweli the mobile banking wars have begun.
Do we need more anticompetition laws?
http://www.safaricom.co....O%20Press%20Release.pdf
http://technology.cgap.o...ity-bank-deal-in-kenya/
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 8:59:47 PM

is there real value in this partnership? as in wats the service propostion anyway.. hii ni nyef nyef tu

#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:11:10 PM

Sasa wewe @obiero, what is this nyef nyef? Did you read my post and the attachments?

Okay don't listen to me,
listen to the president and PM who were there
or to Bill and Melinda Gates who think it's worth something

or at least to Isoroku Yamamoto, Japanese Admiral commander-in-chief who planned Pearl Harbour but on standing looking at the ruins of the US fleet said "I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant."
Is this what CCK have done?

Jaina
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 3:39:40 AM

There is no doubt in my mind that those Nayseyers who views everything negatively unless its foreign will be left speechless.

This is a form of PRODUCT innovation that kenyans need. Call it political or anything you want, but if you are in business you've got to appreciate that the guys at equity & safaricom are SMART.

#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 6:05:26 AM

To that nyeffer, this one is big,whether you like it or not. My home town had only one bank - KCB. When Equity came to town, there was mass migration and I will not be surprised if KCB close shop. As I said before, the survivors will be the innovators and those who adhere to the 4Ps of Marketing.
Again like I said before, KCB have had a similar product for a while, which I use. who will remember that KCB were the pioneers? It works well save for the fact that transfers take a lot more time than the maximum 5 JM has promised us. The killer of course is the fact that my KCB Mapato account requires a minimum 50,000 to avoid a ksh 200 monthly charge.
Please note that the Uganda and GOSS Central Bank governors attended the launch. What does this portend for Equity?
5 Pages123>»