wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Is Equity a political bank?
#1 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 8:20:00 AM

@fellifel; please post your comments here.

@wazuans; if you are wondering where this came from, see here: http://wazua.co.ke/forum...sts&t=6968#post78439
#2 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 8:29:01 AM

money is worthless unless you spend it.
Applause
the deal
#3 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 8:49:58 AM

@mukiha everything is political in Kenya even my fellow stdnts @ U.O.N are politlcal...taking to the streets lyk thaaat...
mozenrat
#4 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:03:26 AM

Surely if everything is political, is there any value to stating that "fact"... @fellifel put accross this statement as if being political is a characteristic unique to EB...
malimingi
#5 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:01:15 AM

of course everything in life is political - even the debate on abortion!! but if you mean that Equity is propped up by political figures you couldnt be more wrong - just read the history of the Bank, its humble beginnings and the fact that it has never relied on deposits from or lendings to parastatals - this is what characterised the 'political' banks of the 1990s.
fellifel
#6 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:11:23 AM

To start with, it might be fortunate or unfortunate how equity bank might have turned the face of banking in this country, but it leaves questions to be asked. The fact that equity is doing big is because of backing from the topmost authority in the country, with government funding passing through the bank, Youth development fund, women devlopment funds.
The expansion rate for the bank leaves so much to be suspected.If in doubt, ask yourself why banks that have been around for quite a while like the Co-operative Bank have not had such expansion rates despite mainly catering for the low income earners. In short, this is a classic case of a pyramid scheme, only these time, its on a large scale. For the price of a share to shoot to an all time high for a company that has been on the stock exchange for less than a year leaves a lot to be desired. Since there inception till now they may have changed there strategy but with the sort of returns and basing on there asset value, the bank is on a ride that is too good to be true. Now change of regime may not affect it much but it will affect it.
Scubidu
#7 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:23:56 AM

@fellifel. I think it's quite easy for a bank to grow as fast as Equity has...all the conditions were right, some pieces fell in just the right time & place. If u take the political spin I think you should focus on who Helios EB investors are, the major shareholder, becoz they were the main catalyst to Equity's success.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#8 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:38:53 AM

@fellifel

Have you asked yourself why the development funds are passing through Equity? There is no other bank that has been supportive of the SME than Equity. They lend to them. They could have gotten the nod to handle the funds purely on merit. They understand the target better than the other banks who at their best had turned their back against ordinary kenyans.
#9 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:41:52 AM

fellifel wrote:
To start with, it might be fortunate or unfortunate how equity bank might have turned the face of banking in this country, but it leaves questions to be asked. The fact that equity is doing big is because of backing from the topmost authority in the country, with government funding passing through the bank, Youth development fund, women devlopment funds.

Equity was not the only institution to get these funds, and after all, these were small amounts by equity's standards at the time.

How has "the topmost authority in the country" provided backing to Equity?

fellifel wrote:
The expansion rate for the bank leaves so much to be suspected.If in doubt, ask yourself why banks that have been around for quite a while like the Co-operative Bank have not had such expansion rates despite mainly catering for the low income earners.

Simple answer, they were not friendly to low income earners. And BTW, Co-Op was a political bank during the Moi Error. They were almost closing down at one time under the weight of loans to Moi's henchmen.

fellifel wrote:
In short, this is a classic case of a pyramid scheme, only these time, its on a large scale. For the price of a share to shoot to an all time high for a company that has been on the stock exchange for less than a year leaves a lot to be desired.

What do you mean by "all time high"? Every listed company reaches an all time high as soon as it starts trading!!! On the other hand, Equity does not hold the record for the highest price per share ever seen at the NSE. That distinction belongs to Limuru Tea, which is the only one in my memory that has crossed Sh1,000 per share point.

fellifel wrote:
Since there inception till now they may have changed there strategy but with the sort of returns and basing on there asset value, the bank is on a ride that is too good to be true. Now change of regime may not affect it much but it will affect it.

You may have a point here, that the growth is "too good"; but this has now plateaued....just like SCOM
#10 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:44:54 AM

fellifel wrote:
The expansion rate for the bank leaves so much to be suspected.If in doubt, ask yourself why banks that have been around for quite a while like the Co-operative Bank have not had such expansion rates despite mainly catering for the low income earners. In short, this is a classic case of a pyramid scheme, only these time, its on a large scale. For the price of a share to shoot to an all time high for a company that has been on the stock exchange for less than a year leaves a lot to be desired. Since there inception till now they may have changed there strategy but with the sort of returns and basing on there asset value, the bank is on a ride that is too good to be true. Now change of regime may not affect it much but it will affect it.

EB was the first bank to hit 1M plus customers, did those customers open accounts because it is political?

Do i bank with NIC because it is /or not political?

Who buys a product because it is political?
sky5
#11 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:44:59 AM

@Mukiha, The answer to your question is maybe. Most banks have some political connections.

The real test is whether the bank (and any other bank) survives after the political players are out. IMHO, EB will survive the test because a number of political banks have survived after after the politician exit the limelight.

Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:49:31 AM

felli-you are about 3 years behind on this debate.
The answer is No. As alluded to by others, Equity was actually saved from demolition when the Sacho-born fella was in power. Apparently he is not a kiuk.

Equity's growth is a question of timing and good strategy. It targetted the fat bottom portion of the population just as the economy was rejuvenating...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#13 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:55:52 AM

No. I think it' the bank that best understood Kenyans. If it was political it would have been severely dented in the PEV since in politics you can only be on one side.

fellifel
#14 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 2:30:16 PM

WOW!!
I seem to be trading on dangerous waters. Anyway am not disputing that equity have done well, I am a shareholder and they have made me money. I appreciate that. In as much as equity was initiated on the platform of common mwananchi. the money, to be honest, how much revenue is achieved from this group. we put in 10k today and chuck 9k tommorow. Other banks have massive accounts that are maintained some around over 500milli and they dont move down. Now, if the bank has this as majority they can make money from that, This big fat accounts is what equity lacks or if they have, they are few compared to other banks like barclays cfc n the likes; so to help them in that, they have the goverment fat account that cover that loop. but then again its just my pont of view!
Mpenzi
#15 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 4:21:04 PM

@fellifel
Safaricom is a political telecoms company smile
Msasani
#16 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 4:40:58 PM

Wake up pple-B4 equity the MFIs i.e Faulu, Krep, KWFT were already recording 3digit growth each yr, while the rest of the banks were busy shampooing their carpets n ensuring that no soiled felas get into their halls. The lower mid class moved to saccos. Then came equity-loans against household items, OD for watchmen with colleagues guaranteeing, advance against milk and crop delivery to cooperatives. Contractor Bid bonds without cash cover like ins coys....where do you see politics in all these.
They just did same business as Faulu, saccos and ins coys. NOT to mention, b4 moving from their Jeevanjee HQs, any member could see JM (Bank MD) by just showing up n queueing at his office - Politics indeed!
Ask any of their 4m members. Each one has something equity did 4 them which no bank would have imagined to do 4 their customers - Real politics i guess
yekeyeke
#17 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 5:56:47 PM

Watu. Hii maneno ya Equity bank ni ya nini?
@Mukiha. Kweli umekosa kazi ama you are testing us?
If you are serious, why dont you start a thread about why or if Stanchat, Barclays or your other banks owned by foreigners are political.Are they your friends unafanyia campaign!!!!!???

Kwa nini Equity???? All the time!!!
Pls stop wasting our time with useless topics. We have better things to do like open accounts with a bank that does not show any matharao.
Keep off equity. If you dont have anything to do, dont do it on this forum.
Flagship
#18 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 7:03:11 PM

wateva way u want to look at it, eb has helped this country grow. Nbk still gets the bulk of govt deposits n yet imelala. Av worked in two other banks(coop n bbk) n eb has changed the mkt alot n its a force to reckon.
#19 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 7:56:53 PM

Equity are launching their Mpesa link tomorrow. Who knows that KCB have had it for a while, and Family Bank have had it even longer? who wants to bet Equity will be the defacto 'owners' of this product? It is all in the 4Ps of Marketing. Product, packaging, price, promotion. Equity have learnt the secret, Safaricon learnt a while back.
#20 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:53:25 PM

Regime change certainly won't affect Equity.
During PEV when ODM was calling for the boycott of Brookside Products (because of links to Uhuru) you never heard them tell their supporters to withdraw their money from Equity.
Even as Ukwala was being razed to the ground, Equity was left unscathed. Why? Kwasababu Equity ni ya kila mtu.
Barclays will NEVER be forgiven by low-income-earning-Kenyans for closing their doors on them when they needed them most. Equity came to the average Kenyan's aid.
I can also tell you for a fact that Raila has an account at Equity.
No one denies that Equity receives some "aid" from the government. Both Helios and BRITAK are linked with Kibaki. The way I see it, instead of complaining, we should seek to also benefit (by getting its stock.)
And JM is clever. During 2007 elections, he donated to both ODM and PNU.