9 Pages123>»
KQ - 4TH QTR RESULTS OUT!
Pierce
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 9:58:45 AM

What are they like?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 5:15:27 PM

Nice... much better than 2008-9 (the comparisons are provided...)

Considering the 1H was affected by the strike, I think the 2H will be better.

The volcano eruption was in 1H 2010-11 so doesnt affect the announcement. Of course, KQ was not the only loser in April 2010 BUT the Africa-China-Dubai biashara was OK...
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 5:28:53 PM

Kenya Airways reports (23-Apr-2010) the following traffic highlights for the three months (4Q) ended 31-Mar-2010:
Passenger numbers: 695,710, +9.8%;
Domestic: 126,099, stable [Lamu & Malindi were withdrawn];
Africa (excl. Kenya): 364,055, +11%;
Europe: 101,513, +16%;
Mid, Far East and Asia [NBO-China direct withdrawn]: 104,043, +12%;
ASK: +9%;
RPK: +10%;
Passenger load factor: 66.2%, +0.5 ppts;
Domestic: 75.5%, +2.7 ppts;
Africa (excl. Kenya) [7 new destinations]: 59%, -0.9 ppts;
Europe: 67.6%, +1.5 ppts;
Mid, Far East and Asia: 75.4%, +5.7 ppts;
Cargo volume: 13,616 tonnes, +27%.
mwanafunzi
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 7:09:38 PM

@vvs please simplify this in terms of eps,revenue growth etc thanks.
the deal
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 27, 2010 9:40:30 PM

Impressive...one of my favourate stocks on the NSE...if my dad had all the money in the world he would buy me KQ as my b-day present...LOL...WHAT CAN I SAY I LOVE PLANES...LOL.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 7:31:12 AM

the deal wrote:
...if my dad had all the money in the world he would buy me KQ as my b-day present...LOL...WHAT CAN I SAY I LOVE PLANES...LOL.

@the deal - Surely, you can't be that young! Or can you?
the deal
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 8:05:13 AM

@Maichblach yep i'm that young...i will give u a hint i'm in uni...lol...
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 8:20:50 AM

the deal wrote:

I wouldn't have guessed! I have read some of your posts and they are way 'up there' with the rest of them. Good for you to take an interest in investments when still in uni. I hope you actually invest the little you can given your circumstances (being a student and all)
sheep
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 8:37:14 AM

Doing his Masters,that is.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 9:32:40 AM

mwanafunzi wrote:
@vvs please simplify this in terms of eps,revenue growth etc thanks.

Bwana, these are OPERATING statistics... not financial numbers... These will be released next month
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 9:36:53 AM

the deal wrote:

Wow... Why univ here? U have the choice of S.Africa...
marketHEAD
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:23:25 AM

the kq results were impressive but the share value is edgin in the -ve side, wat cld b happenin? is it time to buy more
Success is 20 percent skills and 80 percent strategy.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:41:04 AM

marketHEAD wrote:
the kq results were impressive but the share value is edgin in the -ve side, wat cld b happenin? is it time to buy more

LOL... Warren Buffett made most of his money when he went against the market...

It is your decision but often the market is not rational... Look at last year, when the prices fell like crazy yet the situation was not (nor looked) as grim as folks thought...

Anyway, KQ typically announces results (these were just Operating Stats) closer to 30 May
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:43:38 AM

Dubai is crazy! The passengers through Dubai +21%

Nairobi Airport has potential but losing it by the shenanigans of corrupt politicians... You know who...
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 10:58:52 AM

sheep wrote:
Doing his Masters,that is.

He he he he. I didn't look at it that way. Maybe I rushed to the conclusion. The dude/dudette said he/she is in uni. He/She could even be a lecturer. The same way @guru's brother is at Kamiti prison. He has actually be there for the last 10 years. Before that he was at Shimo la tewa. Very popular fellow there! Ooops! I forgot to mention. He is a warden. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
the deal
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:10:32 AM

@ VVS and Maichblach the course i'm doing is only offered by one uni in SA...hence Kenya...i think KQ is not yet finished at this prices...the upside is much more than downsize...with the hedges burning off also dont forget the world cup..72 bob is the next ressistance come June...i have some i bought at 48 bob but i'm adding more next wek ofcourse when dad sends me some pocket money...LOL...
the deal
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:14:57 AM

@ MaichbLACK hehehehehe get over it...i'm an undergrad doing vet with a passion for stocks....
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:23:58 AM

the deal wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Sad Sad Shame on you

@Vitu - I'm very disappointed. You need to decolonize your mind. I've always held you in very high regard. This "mzungu mweusi" and "nothing good can come from Kenya" mentality is very retrogressive. Quite a good number of Wazuarians have a Kenyan education and it's obvious to everyone that they have very sharp minds. Out of curiosity, why do you invest in Kenya? Why are you a member of a Kenyan forum?

Anyway, you are not the only one I have met with such an attitude. Bob Marley said it best: "Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds..." - That's my new signature by the way - Inspired by vituvingisana.

FYI - The dude/dudette didn't even say he/she is in a Kenyan Uni. But that's not even the point. Couldn't notice that with your South African education? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:41:58 AM

the deal wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Sad Sad Shame on you

@Vitu - I'm very disappointed. You need to decolonize your mind. I've always held you in very high regard. This "mzungu mweusi" and "nothing good can come from Kenya" mentality is very retrogressive. Quite a good number of Wazuarians have a Kenyan education and it's obvious to everyone that they have very sharp minds. Out of curiosity, why do you invest in Kenya? Why are you a member of a Kenyan forum?

Anyway, you are not the only one I have met with such an attitude. Bob Marley said it best: "Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, non but ourselves can free our minds..." - That's my new signature by the way - Inspired by vituvingisana.

FYI - The dude/dudette didn't even say he/she is in a Kenyan Uni. But that's not even the point. Couldn't notice that with your South African education? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

LOL... chief... The reason I ask is coz the deal is NAMIBIAN (Or I think so)... So a jamaa from Namibia would find Univs in S.Africa easier to access (flights, requirements, familiarity, etc) than Kenya...

Nothing to do with ukoloni or quality of education...
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:46:04 AM

@maichblack - I did not study in S.Africa... In my days, there was a stamp on my passport: "Not valid for travel to the Republic of South Africa"

Namibia & S.Africa share a history... and there might be reciprocal benefits for SADDC members, etc... so just curious why Kenya & not S.Africa...