Investor
Stocks
SCOM: Impact of number portability
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/j87obz/-/index.html
Soon you will be able to change providers and keep your phone number. SCOM will lose enormous value. Damn
Absolutely!Lack of number portability was the only reason people had to put up with Safcon;I guess their days are numbered now unless their rates are re-adjusted sawasawa...
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2008 Posts: 851 Location: nairobi
Safaricom is the proverbial cat with 9 lives. It is too early to write it off
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
mv_ufanisi wrote:SCOM will lose enormous value. Damn I doubt that. Last year even MJ had conceded that Safcom subscriber base might go down to 65% if I think from 77% but figures show that they've actually gained and is at 80%. There will be a small storm but Safcom will wither and come out even stronger after all as Kibs would ask, you'll be migrating to go where? Unless Bhati are coming with goodies I really don't see any better option. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:mv_ufanisi wrote:SCOM will lose enormous value. Damn I doubt that. Last year even MJ had conceded that Safcom subscriber base might go down to 65% if I think from 77% but figures show that they've actually gained and is at 80%. There will be a small storm but Safcom will wither and come out even stronger after all as Kibs would ask, you'll be migrating to go where? Unless Bhati are coming with goodies I really don't see any better option. I just think this has the markings of a price WAR. Given how price conscious Kenyans are - it will be tough to maintain loyalty unless through slashing prices
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
@mv ufanisi, the low pricing model being used by yu is copy pasted from bharti. When Bharti takes over, its going to be impossible for safcom to maintain the exorbitant calling rates, they will have to bite the bullet....@wazua, i can now log in and post from my phone.
I don't think kenyans are really price-sensitive in what network they use. Otherwise mob would by now have migrated to the cheaper options such as YU. Or even Zain, whose usefulness u wont realize until you r out of the country.
Granted, maybe the issue of number portability may have prevented this but then how does one explain that even in Safcom itself a good number of subscribers are not bothered to migrate to cheaper tariffs despite Safcon doing heavy advertsing on same? Some Kenyans are just not bothered, maybe once their main basic goal - ability to communicate via mobile - is achieved then the rest are details. Marketing types would probably call this fancy names like brand/customer loyalty but to me its just customer lethargy/inertia/indifference;MJ would probably call it kenyans peculiar tariff habits.
BTW, what about the low income grouos where the 20/ bambas really sell like hot chapos - are hey really sensitive to the tariffs?
Intelligentsia wrote:I don't think kenyans are really price-sensitive in what network they use. Otherwise mob would by now have migrated to the cheaper options such as YU. Or even Zain, whose usefulness u wont realize until you r out of the country. Granted, maybe the issue of number portability may have prevented this but then how does one explain that even in Safcom itself a good number of subscribers are not bothered to migrate to cheaper tariffs despite Safcon doing heavy advertsing on same? Some Kenyans are just not bothered, maybe once their main basic goal - ability to communicate via mobile - is achieved then the rest are details. Marketing types would probably call this fancy names like brand/customer loyalty but to me its just customer lethargy/inertia/indifference;MJ would probably call it kenyans peculiar tariff habits. U can bet that the other phone companies will go into an advertising frenzy and this time - people will listen because they can easily move. The lethargy is in knowing that you will find it difficult to communicate with ur contacts once u switch. SCOM will be tested to the core on this one. The other operators must be smelling blood. Watch out Bharti - coming soon!
mv_ufanisi wrote: I just think this has the markings of a price WAR. Given how price conscious Kenyans are - it will be tough to maintain loyalty unless through slashing prices
When it comes to SCOM I doubt price is a factor. It's patriotism/belief and all the other benefits including mpesa, coverage, dominance, internet etc. Castle was a better brew than anything EABL and for a fair price but still we stuck with EABL. Why? I don't know. BBI will solve it :)
Safcon loves women, here' the reason why:
A man calling: Sasa? Niaje ufanisi? tuna meet leo? saa ngapi? Wapi? Poa! (Total time taken: less than 13 seconds)
A mama calling her galfriend to set up a date between themselves. (BTW, they met the previous day):
Sasa? Ni Akinyi. Otherwise? Tuna meet leo saa..BTW, imagine I met with Jeni. Aki braids zake ziko na growth...but she's focussed she bought aka Vitz...'
(Total time: 10 minutes). Credit runs out before she has actually set up the date which was the main reason for calling in the first place! She reloads and calls again. Total time this time 6min.)
So overall time ni 16 miutes compared to a jamaaz 13 secs. Unfortunately or not, its jamaaz who mostly sambaza n foot these bills!
Kenyans are definitely NOT price sensitive... which I think is a good thing. It encourages innovation. Unless these other guys start selling some significant Value Added Services, I don't see mass movement. There's a reason why Barclays, with its expensive, foreign, snob image still makes the highest profits in our market.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
that's project 2013, by then..data connectivity will be the only source of revenue to the surviving operators.
i really dont c safcon goin down that easy using just the points raised in this dicussion. their downward movement will be brought mainly by universality of dual sim card phones. the fact that most of us want to hold on to safcon is given, mainly because of the extras, and the "am known by this number" theory. dual sims will open up the price war in my view because one is able to choose the prefered line to use when calling out depending on the going rates at that point in time. all this while still maintaining both connections at the same time. i just wonder what will happen to safcon in the event 3-sim phones or even 4-sim phones hit the market!!!! If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
mozenrat wrote:Kenyans are definitely NOT price sensitive... which I think is a good thing. It encourages innovation. Unless these other guys start selling some significant Value Added Services, I don't see mass movement. There's a reason why Barclays, with its expensive, foreign, snob image still makes the highest profits in our market. Barclays makes soo much dough coz honestly, a lot of our economy is still controlled by British and British thinking Africans. Maybe Bharti will be what Equity has been to banking by offering low prices. I would advise them to do a local IPO to boost their patriotism feeling.
mv_ufanisi wrote:mozenrat wrote:Kenyans are definitely NOT price sensitive... which I think is a good thing. It encourages innovation. Unless these other guys start selling some significant Value Added Services, I don't see mass movement. There's a reason why Barclays, with its expensive, foreign, snob image still makes the highest profits in our market. Barclays makes soo much dough coz honestly, a lot of our economy is still controlled by British and British thinking Africans. Maybe Bharti will be what Equity has been to banking by offering low prices. I would advise them to do a local IPO to boost their patriotism feeling. Preference for Barclays/ foreign banks grew mostly because the public perceived them to be stronger,reliable and more trustworthy with the deposits of the banking public than that perceived of local owned banks which in the 80s/ 90s were collapsing like dominoes and the banking public consequently lost all faith in them. This fear exists upto today, shown by so many threads in SK/wazua on Equity!
I thought I was price sensitive; but I still can't explain why I have stuck with Zain voice even when Yu is charging 6bob to any network. Now I getting a dual-SIM to use both. SCOM? I only use it for MPESA.... I signed up with Zap but have never used it, even though they keep sending me SMS's to say that if I buy airtime via ZAP i will get 20% bonus. Does that make me peculiar or lethargic? The winning formula in mobile business revolves around availability and visibility: of sim cards, scratch cards, network, kiosks etc. When was the last time you saw a ZAP agent? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
mukiha wrote: When was the last time you saw a ZAP agent? Good question. I've actually never seen one! Where are they? BBI will solve it :)
SCOM is not going down any time soon; read this http://www.tmcnet.com/us...t/2010/04/22/4743601.htmNothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Investor
Stocks
SCOM: Impact of number portability