wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

BARCLAYCARD 50day grace period
amauriceus
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 1:07:58 PM

On the 9th of April, i used 40K from my barclays credit card to purchase some house hold goods.

I thot I had up to 50 days before the bank starts to charge interest on the outstanding amount.

This afternoon(Less than a week after purchase), I get an irritating call from barclaycard that the 40K i used is due for payment by the 30th of April !!!!

N then she starts explaining some stuff about card statement cycles that am totally not interested in.

Anyone else ever experienced this? I hope its not onother scheme they use to fleece people..

ama ni mimi sijui the meaning of grace period ya 50 days

anasazi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 1:24:20 PM

What I learnt is that these guys basically dont say what they mean.... Their logic works in such a way that you lose both ways... hakuna ujanja
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Layman
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 2:37:28 PM

Assuming the card has zero expenditure balance or credit balance for that matter if you over paid them, then the 50 days run from the day you make the first purchase with the card. I dont unedstand it much but I know that all expenses incurred within the month plus previous o/s expenses must be paid by the 20th day of the following month, etc
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 2:38:41 PM

amauriceus wrote:

I thot I had up to 50 days before the bank starts to charge interest on the outstanding amount.

Up to 50 days could even be 1 day! Its called lying with statistics!!
cnn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 3:36:49 PM

You didnt take time to understand all the details.Had you used the card just two days later,the amount spent would have been intrest free until 30th May.As it is pay by 30th April or their punitive intrest will come into play.
Mkimwa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 5:52:51 PM

@cnn.. Good point

@amauriceus - if you are not interested in that statement cycle of theirs, then you shouldnt have the card in the first place.

How it works:
There is statement date e.g 10th, and payment date 30th. They are usualy about 20 days apart. so the card is guaranteed to have 20 days interest free period, if you clear the full amount before the payment date.

They run all your debts upto the statement date, and you need to pay the full amount before the payment date for the interest free period to work. so if your statement date is 10th, any debts from March 10th to April 9th will be due on April 30th (or thereabouts). However, any debts after April 11th will be captured in the next statement, and will fall due on May 31st, effectively giving you the "50" day interest-free period.

Please note, if you dont pay the full amount on or before the payment date, there is nothing like interest free period.
JabaBoeku
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 6:47:16 PM

...Na mkimwa yu sahihi! Mkimwa puts it very well!

Now to add on: One difference between Master Card and VISA Cards is basically when the statement dates and payments dates fall.

I have a VISA Card, and the statement dates are on 10th,payment dates are 5th of the next month. Interest is charged on the 10th (statement date)
BGL
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 9:10:14 PM

I think i cannot live without my credit card. Precisely, Visa card. This card is not only my travel insurance in my pocket but with it i enjoy special rates in some 4 or 5 star hotels around the globe in addition to being a mobility card. Sometimes i use it as a calling card even when cruising in the skies.
I love it because i can spend on credit, get a statement at the end of the month and i can exactly see how my money was spent. The payment of the bill is the bitter pill but since i spend on credit my un-spend checking account sorts it out. Because i do not want to be reminded of my pending bill, i get the closing dates and payment dates a year in advance but they are as well predictable. Closing dates are the 2nd last saturday midnight and payment is the tuesday after month-end.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 12:09:21 PM

amauriceus,
If you dont understand the statements circles then please leave the credit cards alone!!!!
niando
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 12:23:50 PM

Barclay card !!! wewe kwisa.Just get the money as soon as possible and PAY .Otherwise you should start expecting a all reminding you to pay up at midnight.
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com