wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

mumias split
livie
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 5:49:58 PM

can anyone bring me up to speed with the mumias share split that was to take place i think last year...?what became of it?
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 6:14:42 PM

Lmao... Share split when the share was trading at 3/-?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 9:09:42 PM

@livie - bwana... you are a few years out of date...
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 7:57:59 AM

@livie..............Do you have an idea what a share split is meant to achieve?
livie
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 8:07:11 AM

@mwenza @VituVingiSana
pardon my naivety on this one but my shares still stand at the same number before and after hence my inquisitive post...

at least least thats what my cds statement says...
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
Horton
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 8:11:07 AM

there was a bonus, not a split...u should go to ur broker about that...
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 8:21:07 AM

livie wrote:

@mwenza @VituVingiSana
pardon my naivety on this one but my shares still stand at the same number before and after hence my inquisitive post...

at least least thats what my cds statement says...

There was a 2-for-1 bonus in Nov 2007.

When did you buy your shares?
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 8:57:38 AM

livie wrote:

@mwenza @VituVingiSana
pardon my naivety on this one but my shares still stand at the same number before and after

That's because you bought your shares after the split. The stock later dipped from 15/- to 3/- and you probably thought it was another 5:1 split

livie
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 9:00:20 AM

Thanx @Horto and @nmukiha for your responses.

I got the shares at the time they had an IPO last.

Please indulge me on the meaning of "bonus split"
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 9:13:14 AM

@livie a bonus issue is when new ordinary shares are issued to shareholders in proportion of what they aready hold but its done for free unlike a rights issue...

a bonus issue is usually given in place of/with profits...
Horton
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 9:14:44 AM

livie wrote:

http://www.traderji.com/...-share-stocks-split.html
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 9:33:06 AM

livie wrote:

How many did you buy and how many do you have now?

Bonus: Reserves are converted into shares which are given to shareholders and the appropriate rate, eg, "two FOR every one held". The PAR value [na usiulize hiyo ninini!!!] remains unchanged but the share capital increases by the same factor.

Split: Existing shares are sub-divided into smaller ones, eg, each share now becomes two shares, the we say it is a "a one TO two" split. The par value drops by the same fraction but the share capital remains unchanged.
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 9:36:09 AM

livie wrote:
can anyone bring me up to speed with the mumias share split that was to take place i think last year...?what became of it?

@livie.....Are you sure you are now not shifting the goal posts? Your initial post is very clear. Now you again talk of IPO! Naivete can be tolerated but slyness cannot.
livie
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:00:09 AM

Thanx @guru267 @Horton and @mukiha for your responses.

i get it now.

my math tells me i should have double the amount of shares i had initially before the split....thats not the case.

i haven't sold or bought any mumias shares since the ipo.....

get my drift?

@mwenza...the goalpost are right where they were wen i started,thank you.
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:11:03 AM

@livie you might have a real problem.. the best thing is to contact your broker about it..
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:25:27 AM

livie wrote:
Thanx @guru267 @Horton and @mukiha for your responses.

i get it now.

my math tells me i should have double the amount of shares i had initially before the split....thats not the case.

i haven't sold or bought any mumias shares since the ipo.....

get my drift?

@mwenza...the goalpost are right where they were wen i started,thank you.

Actually, if you bought during the Second Public Offer in Dec 2006, you should have THREE TIMES the number you bought, not double.
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:27:29 AM

@livie.........I now feel you brother. I have not heard any issues with MSC, lakini kengen, wacha tu i keep receiving dividends for shares i dont own. Please, please the word bonus and split are not interchangeable.

In the event of a split the share prices are expected to come down prorata. However in the event of a bonus issue the share prices are ideally expected to remain the same though what happens on the ground is not ideal.....Our brokers treat post-split and post-bonus prices the same.
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:39:04 AM

@mwenza a bonus offering can cause the share price to fall as the EPS becomes diluted...

eg issued shares of a company.. 5,000,000 (EPS 15)
If there is a bonus of 2:1.. new issued shares are 10,000,000 (EPS 7.5)

i dont really see any difference between a bonus issue and a share split....
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 10:57:51 AM

@guru267.............The par value of the share in the event of a split is divided accordingly and therefore it makes sense to divide the price likewise. However, the per value in the event of a bonus issue remains unchanged. Therefore, theoretically, the share price just like the per value should remain unchanged.
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 18, 2010 1:46:07 PM

@mwenza theoretically!! i,ve seen different in practice...