Market
Pennywise
RE: UNBELIEVABLE!!!!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/8/2010 Posts: 3 Location: Kenya
Jana, from 12:00 to around 1:00 p.m. while doing my regular rounds in town, I made Safcom calls at 3bob. Has anyone experienced this in Nairobi??? tylerkay attached the following image(s):  j0439836rv.jpg (12kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/9/2010 Posts: 1 Location: Kenya
How are you able to tell that you are calling at the reduced rate ? Hook me up!!
@thajoeblog... I inboxed you the info jana... Let me know if you got it, if not all you need to do is dial *155# and viola!!
Hope you rock up on tha 2bob rate!! Hola back...
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/8/2010 Posts: 1 Location: Kenya
@tylerkay & @thajoeblog... Mein! Niliwahi Supa rate jana joh... Nilikuwa janta downtown afte kitu ka' 2:3o hivi na wasee nilikuwa na-kol viproper... 4bob msee na sio Sato!!!
Nimeshow maboy wangu wacheck hii story juu ya vile madollari zimekuwa less so nikiwahi low rates na hawa maprovider siwachi... Safcom wanakaa wamejanjaruka kiasi, so mambo kwetu au sio??
Rank: Member Joined: 11/30/2009 Posts: 105 Location: kenya
every morning rate huwanga 5 bob..kitu 7ish, nakaa doni the early worm is eaten by the early bird
Rank: Member Joined: 2/17/2010 Posts: 234 Location: Nairobi
>> you can only hit 155 for soo long and find the constant 8 bob rate, until saf learns there is a new order in town.
@kenmac, right on the money. If you set up Cell Broadcasting Services on your phone, you can view a log of all available rates over a day.
It's probable but virtually impossible to obtain a rate of 3/=, in Nairobi town centre during the day. And Safaricom uses the 'probability' to appear 'cheap' - face it!
This 'dynamic discounting' was first launched in Ghana by MTN/Ericcson and has won many awards. However, if providers were transparent (to their detriment), they'd actually publish the average rate on the service which for Safaricom I guesstimate at 6.**
Safaricom's strategy is not cost - that is YU's domain.
@ y'all... Either nimeonekaniwa or I must damn lucky!!! @muganda, i made my Safcom calls at 3bob while heading home in the jioniz, at around 4:30 p.m., after biasharaz in the Nairobi town centre.. Now we either have to hand it to these Safcom guys or mambo is just getting Supa!!!
You should check it out today and let me know at what hours these low rates are checking in, coz I know I would not mind ennjoying these Supa low rates everyday...
Thanks
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
Yu to yu cost 0.50cents after 2mins on noki tariff till midnight. Why should anyone be excited calling saf to saf @4bob?
@jaguar, because my phonebook is full of safcom numbers only.
@chris79, try talking to someone for 40-60mins on saf to saf and you will know why people encourage their girlfriends, clandes, wives, parents, siblings & close friends whom they communicate with frequently to get a yu or zain simcard. The cost of phone calls should be kept low by all means necessary, whether your phone book is 90% saf or zain
Now Orange has awaken, with Bunda za Orange you subscribe with 100/= and call with 1 /= per minute.Had to buy a cheap phone for my partner to enjoy anywork that entices me with cheap goodies.Kwaheri Safaricom. For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
>> @ muganda, that's quite insightful...but its inevitable for motorola users to continue hitting 155 since they don't have the cell broadcast facility. About the call rates, saf is certainly feeling the heat from Yu. While saf supa ongea rates apply to saf calls only, Yu's amua is across all networks. secondly the saf's main domain_data has been infiltrated by Yu even before they launch their own modems. everyone I know seems to own an unlocked saf modem using a Yu line...The ingenious saf marketing department needs to put on their thinking caps and do some damage control. until obo pay lands safcom can continue overcharging us with their mpesa.
@jaguar we've heard that argument before. Remember vuka tariff?
@chris, everyone has a right to chose. If your choice is to dial *155# before making a phone call or checking your cell broadcast, so be it. As you celebrate calling @4bob, there are people who feel nothing because they have been used to calling @0.50cents or 3bob ANYTIME regardless of what the cell broadcast says
Unless CCK somehow comes up with a law making it a criminal offence to own a line from more than one provider, I'm afraid the status quo will remain. The main challenge for akina yu, orange and zain is dual simming since most people retain their saf lines even after supposedly "vukaring" Hence these other providers will never get to maximise their profits. The only game changer which may get safcom to rethink their strategy is number portability, that's what may finally bring about safcom down...
According to a number of industry insiders, Safcom is feeling the heat from Yu, especially on voice calls and data.
Safcom have been arguing that the competitors can not sustain the price war but Yu is operating on the high volumes-low margin-low overheads Indian business model, therefore able to sustain the rates.
It will get very interesting after Zain takeover by Bharti, another Indian giant and number portability is implemented.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 274 Location: Ltktk
i make free yu-yu calls for 36 hours after subscribing @ 69bob. even though its a promotion, when can safcom match that? and yu data is cheaper and fast. kiboko ya safariconman can only be yu. ...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
just a thought, what would happen if Yu, teamed up with the phone makers i.e samsung etc and offered to replace low-end handsets for dualsim handsets. that would enable people to retain their safcom line but still use Yu for making calls. Inspite of the initial cost to Yu, i think it will be a winning strategy in the long-run before number portability is introduced.
Market
Pennywise
RE: UNBELIEVABLE!!!!