wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

HFCK
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 6:41:59 AM

Announcement should be today. Ukisikia, let us know please as my life saving iko hapo.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 7:02:14 AM

Announcement should be today. Ukisikia, let us know please as my life saving iko hapo.

Based on 3Q results, they should be OK...
sheep
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 7:12:51 AM

I heard some people say we should expect 70% or so profits since Equity's balance sheet showed a 71% increase in associates profits,whatever that means.But strangely the price action has been unusually weak.Insiders should have already started to take advantage.Iko kitu.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Wa_ithaka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 7:15:25 AM

HFCk will do well. Its products and whole business ethos has been revamped since Equity came on board.
Kondoo-Equity made Ksh400m loss from its subsidiaries.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
sheep
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 7:29:11 AM

@waithaka

share profit in associate was up from 34m in 2008 to 58m in 2009.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
mozenrat
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 8:14:08 AM

HF is a strange one. Demand is at 106,000 - supply at 20,000 and not ONE deal closed?? buyers are demanding it a lower price!! so why are guys always praising it here...
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 9:49:00 AM

@mozenrat, you are not making sense, at all!
mozenrat
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 11:04:48 AM

@ecstacy..

Its pretty simple. Per richlive, demand and supply at 11:14 today stood at the numbers I quoted and not a single deal had gone through. At 2:00 p.m, the numbers are demand: 116,200 supply: 42,000 yet only 7 deals settled. The stock has practically been stuck at between 17 and 18 for the last number of weeks. that difference doesn't even take care of broker fees!!!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 2:15:00 PM

Profits might be up 70% over 2008 (using Equity's associate info) but there the P/E was already high...

The P/B is pretty low as well...

Bottomline: It is a 'future' growth stock... You are buying the ability for it to jump from a low base...
moneydust
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 10:02:27 AM

Cant wait for the shock it will present
mv_ufanisi
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 11:59:06 AM

Well the results are out and it's about 70% growth in profits. DPS of 0.50 per share. Let's see if the market likes this news.
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 1:39:35 PM

@mozenrat, there is something called a resistance level...

@all, 70% growth in the year 2009 when the Kenyan economy unofficially grew by around 2.5 % is great!!

The books should confirm that the growth to product innovation, cautious loan disbursements and low cost of funds based on a clear strategy to reduce the bad book, credit risk management and cost control have combined to propel this firm to growth.

Kenya's economy is seen growing by 4.2 % in 2010 and accelerating to 5.0 % in 2011, compared with an estimate of 2.5-3.0 % in 2009, boosted by recovery in tourism and agriculture and with deeper client pockets likely resulting in unabated construction, HFCK's star is looking bright.
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 5:56:59 PM

@ectasy - Bwana (ur sorta right)... check my post above...

HFCK started from losses to small profit so the growth is based on LOW BASE... So it can show huge rises until it flattens out... even its Daddy Equity will face that in 2-3 years...
mozenrat
#14 Posted : Friday, March 05, 2010 7:52:13 AM

@ecstacy..

Precisely my point. The resistance stems from its high PE. Buyers are just not willing to pay more for it.
the deal
#15 Posted : Friday, March 05, 2010 8:59:23 AM

@ all...i think the results were aulready factored in the price...remember it rose from lows of 11(August 2009) to highs of 18(January 2010)...also the p/e is 22...a low p/b...a low pge...going forward...will hfck repeat this perfomance,if yes buy...if no dont...
#16 Posted : Friday, March 05, 2010 12:34:58 PM

the deal wrote:
will hfck repeat this perfomance,if yes buy...if no dont...

It's easier for HF to improve performance than most of the other traded companies. Demand for housing(mortgages) will remain high and all they have to do is find ways of accommodating the different classes of people.