wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Is equity's visa card fake?
muus1n1
#1 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 4:52:15 PM

I have tried to us Equity's visa card abroad.. it does not work as they claim, anybody with similar experiences out there? Why does it take them months just to resolve < five minute issues?
muus1n1 attached the following image(s):
visa.jpg (5kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 28, 2010 7:40:07 AM

@Muus1n1,
We in the same boat....My first complain was in Dec 2008.I gave up.
mwanafunzi
#3 Posted : Sunday, February 28, 2010 7:28:18 PM

even mine
muus1n1
#4 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 7:49:29 AM

Njunge & Mwanafunzi,
I thought I was the only one, and you cant transfer any funds with e banking either Sad And this card is just a thin plastic with a magetic strip on the back side,easy to copy one , NO security features,No chip, NO networks like NYCE,Cirrus,PLUS etc..where the hell can you us it outside kenya? Its a shame that Equity claims to have gone regional yet they cant even offer us a standard DEBIT card..after all , we are just trying to access our own money. I think they are deliberately lying Liar shame
#5 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 7:59:35 AM

I quit!
#6 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 8:00:15 AM

Interesting Wazuzus... And does this card work on other non-Equity ATMS that are visa compliant in Kenya?
#7 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 10:33:26 AM

@Muganda,
Nooo...!!!...I have tried it with Barclays,Co-op and Co-op Sacco link ATMs....Nothing ...Matope kabisa!!!.....interestingly,even though my SACCO is little known,their VISA card screws Equity ATMs.....smile smile
#8 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 11:52:38 AM

I have used mine, as late as last week and it worked just well, I have also been able to trasfer money via e-banking, kwani these services only work for me!!!!!
Kwanini
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 12:38:56 PM

Something is not quite right at Equity.... Someone sends some money via RTGS at 10 am on 2nd March, Its now 3.30 pm, 3rd March.... Still no money !!! We visit the bank.... The fellows account shows money already debited....He's told wait kidogo, it could be optical cable What tha F***** !!!! Nothin on ma side!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 1:54:55 PM

@Muus1n1

I thought Equity is the first bank in the country to anounce the introduction of a chip in their debit card.

I have been having problems with my Barclay card and KCB pdq until recently. Yesterday I could not get cash from Stanchart using my Barclaycard but I did through Equity. I cannot tell what is going on with this banks. Now it is working, now it is not. Today it is working with this, tomorrow it is working with the other. CBK needs to come to our rescue otherwise we await more embarassments.
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2010 5:28:27 PM

@fundamentali, cash advance on a credit card??? You are better off with a shylock on Sheikh Karume Road!!
Pastor M
#12 Posted : Friday, March 05, 2010 11:50:16 AM

My Equity Visa debit card has being serving me very well as I travel in the world.At Tamarind hotels I comfortably use my EMV visa chip card (Equity POS are the only ones certified by VISA to use the chip cards in East and Centrally Africa)The POS machines are portable you pay from where you are.The usually bring the equity POS to your room.This made me proud of this local Bank,Kenyans lets be proud of one of our own.
#13 Posted : Sunday, March 07, 2010 9:16:43 AM

@Pator M.
I hope you dont use poor man's offerings to tour the world and sleep in those posh hotels. Ignore this if you are not a pastor...