wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

Liquidity on NSE - How to boost Liquidity
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 10:40:04 PM

The NSE & CMA are moribund organizations overly focused on the short-term.

We need fully fledged electronic trading then we can encourage listed firms to split shares so they are traded in the KShs 10-20 range...

IMHO, the 10-20 range is the sweetspot for liquidity. Folks make meaningful trades & the liquidity just jumps!

BTW, the commission structure is RIDICULOUS!!! We need flat rates!!!

The enhanced liquidity will encourage new listings & additional investors.

Look at KQ which was sorta liquid in the 20s but a 3:1 split can bring it back into the 'liquid' range.

Or BAT flitting with 200/- with only a few shares traded. A 10:1 split would be sweet!

EABL has been on the forefront of splits. And needs another 10:1 split to enable us buy them at 15/-. Imagine the liquidity here!

The most liquid counters are Safaricom (tho IMHO, it needs to consolidate the shares), Equity Bank, Mumias... all these trade between 0-20 range.
gathinga
#2 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:24:39 AM

@Vitu. I thought splitting is a decision for listed companies to make and not for NSE or CMA?
#3 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:28:58 AM

i definately agree.. a lower price range for stocks would bring a swarm of buyers and sellers to the market

this is so evident in the fact that one needs more than 10k just to get into BAT(20k), KPLC(16k), STANCHART(18k), BOC(16k), PORTLAND(9k), EABL(16k), BAMBURI(17k) etc.. and only to meet the minimum requirement of 100 shares and this is just not attainable by many kenyans, leaving foreigners to rule our market...

but i think this will be up to the companies not the CMA or the NSE...
#4 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:37:29 AM

gathinga wrote:
@Vitu. I thought splitting is a decision for listed companies to make and not for NSE or CMA?

Do not misquote me... LOL...

I said 'encourage' not force...

One of the reasons the firms don't split are the administrative headaches & costs. NSE & brokers benefit from the bonuses & splits yet they force the Firms to bear the costs of 'more' shares!
#5 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:44:28 AM

i forgot to add something... as much as splitting will be good.. wont splitting shares bring alot if small holders to the NSE and thus encouraging massive price volatility in the market..

safcom as best example.. they are now dying to consolidate the shares
#6 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:47:23 AM

Safaricom faces logistical problems... the sweet spot is 10-20 so... Safaricom can decrease the shares by 66% & remain in the sweet spot!

Volatility is OK... that makes the market BUT liquidity is also provided...
gathinga
#7 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:51:49 AM

@Vitu......please eduate me a little. How do you quote on wazua as u have done on my post above here....
#8 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 6:14:22 AM

gathinga wrote:
@Vitu......please eduate me a little. How do you quote on wazua as u have done on my post above here....

Click on quote (above right on the post you want to quote)
#9 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:12:01 AM

The beauty of "penny stocks" is that you can trade on small margins (but, of course, at NSE you have to contend with large commissions as well!!).

The "problem" with SCOM is not the "low price", nor is it the large number of shares!

The problem is the large number of SHAREHOLDERS - around 800,000 individuals - and most of them bought with expensive bank loans.

I think the much touted consolidation will be a futile exercise.
#10 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:16:24 AM

@mukiha - The 'cleanup' of the individual shareholders will continue as larger institutions buy the shares. And this bodes well for Safaricom as well as those who do not sell...

As far as 'consolidation' is concerned... I agree with you... not necessary at the moment...
#11 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:50:28 AM

This reminds me so much of KQ in the 90s. Some fellows even went to court to try and force the GoK to buy back the shares! Remember; it was the largest IPO of the 90s

But SCOM is in quite a different league. 40b shares and 800k holders are not few! The mop up is going to take a while and no wonder the directors have been going on investor roadshows in world capitals.

The share price of SCOM is also a PR concern for the company
Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:59:29 AM

VVs- apologies but this is BS. How does having more shares (number) increase liquidity if its just the same number of people trading?
The real underlying issue is that during its bull period, the NSE slaughetered the calf allowing corrupt practices to overwhelm trading.
It doesn't matter if all the shares are trading at Ksh2 if the majority of the investors fear getting caught up in a Francis Thuo/Nyaga/Dsicount kind of daylight robbery of their cash.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#13 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:10:22 AM

@Wa_ithaka; Yes; this is a greater factor than the price issue. Then add the many fingers burnt by SCOM and the complexity gets compounded
cnn
#14 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 10:27:31 AM

..so much for NSE,Ngenye Kariuki goes under receivership.Where is the end in this circus?
#15 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 10:50:38 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
VVs- apologies but this is BS. How does having more shares (number) increase liquidity if its just the same number of people trading?
The real underlying issue is that during its bull period, the NSE slaughetered the calf allowing corrupt practices to overwhelm trading.
It doesn't matter if all the shares are trading at Ksh2 if the majority of the investors fear getting caught up in a Francis Thuo/Nyaga/Dsicount kind of daylight robbery of their cash.

Wacha upuzi (said with love)... Read the original post... I do indicate the NSE & brokers need to clean up their act...

Now... the rest is pure psychology & human behavior. Is it rational or logical to pay more if I cut the slice into 2 pieces? NO... lakini folks do it all the time!

Add the flat brokerage rates I propose. That incentivizes trading especially larger trades/volumes...

At 'lower' prices the pool of market participants will increase. Look at Safaricom vs EABL. Part availability of funds. Part human nature.
#16 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 11:11:26 AM

cnn wrote:
..so much for NSE,Ngenye Kariuki goes under receivership.Where is the end in this circus?

Of the original 6 brokers...

Shah, Munge - collapsed (Shah had already left at that point to work for Kestrel)
Francis Thuo - collapsed
Nyaga - collapsed (Nyaga had left it in Gakiavih's hands)
Ngenye Kariuki - kaput

Dyer & Blair - Survives
Francis Drummond - Survives (barely I believe)

Lesson (tongue in cheek): Keep your money with a broker that sounds Mzungu!!!
Wa_ithaka
#17 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 12:18:14 PM

vvs- you are contradicting yourself, but hey. its friday. Safcom' liquidity also played a part in sinking the NSE
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#18 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 12:29:23 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
vvs- you are contradicting yourself, but hey. its friday. Safcom' liquidity also played a part in sinking the NSE

Nope... it was folks who over-leveraged for safaricom... Folks who had to repay banks panicked!

See MJ interview where they thought safaricom IPO price was set too high by GoK as well
gathinga
#19 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 12:57:46 PM

@vitu. Is it confirmed that Ngenye is kaput?
#20 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 2:38:36 PM

gathinga wrote:
@vitu. Is it confirmed that Ngenye is kaput?

6 month mourning period. Reminds me of Discount. Unless someone buys it lakini who wants all the baggage?