Investor
Economy
KCB: Firmly in the stoneage
the other day, i go to bank an inhouse cheque at a KCB branch. i decided to just ask for the sake of it how long the cheque will take to clear. the guy goes like '2-3 business days'. i said 'get serious young man'. an inhouse cheque is technically a book transfer. ok, i would maybe have understood if i was depositing the cheque in Lokichoggio. but in Nairobi drawn on a branch in Nairobi? sure they want the float but 2-3 days for an inhouse cheque is so 1960s. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
@Jangwa la Jangili; Come to I&M; inhouse cheques are cleared over the counter!! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@ Mukiha, Those guys seem to give you some superior services..ama your a shareholder, and the "divideds" are tamu sana The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/30/2009 Posts: 47 Location: Nairobbery
EB clears their inhouse check live live. B4 u reach the atm its reflecting
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,118 Location: Nairobi
Jangwa & General - Same here like @mukiha. I first went to I&M coz I was given an open cheque. I liked the service. I opened an account. (Unlike Equity, you have to supply photos) The banking halls are nice, the account has decent feature & the service is great. Lakini the hours suck but they have ATMs at every branch as well as Sarit Center. Anyway, if you tell the cashier you want your in-house chq credited asap. S/he will do it there & then. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
BTW, at any bank (in my case I&M) I ask for immediate clearance. Why wait till end of the day? Example: If Mr.ABC writes 5 chqs for 100k each lakini for some reason he has only 400k in available funds... who knows if my chq is the last to be processed? I would rather get 'instant' credit & be #1 in line!!! CFC Stanbic takes 2 business days to clear 'in-house' chqs!!!! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@General; not me alone....it's just the way they work. @VVS; Since the day I joined [year 2001], the Kenyatta avenue branch has been opening til 5pm. Today some branches have started opening 7 days a week. Thus I wouldn't say the hours are that bad. ==== Have you seen their financials? Excellent. This bank should get listed.... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
and to mention the only bank (kcb) where you will find retirees serving you at the counters.
The reason these guys operate this way is to make a little more from we poor kenyans. We're still some way from getting a fully mature banking system in the country. 2 days to clear internal checks is just unacceptable. But we must accept it, eh? Form is temporary, class is permanent
@mukiha - I am a kijana compared to you... Since 2001... wow! Anyway, I was at CFC... they had a 50k minimum... but at least no charges for every small thing... & 3% interest... Nowadays, CFC 'Stanbic' charges for over the counter withdrawals even if I use a cheque! I am pissed!!! All this with a 50k minimum... I think the interest rate has also dropped... I&M has 10k minimum which I like... If you get to know the CSRs, they will even deposit chqs for you... When in a hurry, I just leave my chqs+deposit slip with them. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@mukiha - Which I&M branch is open on Sunday? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
a long time buy from accoring to KESTREL,the bank will benefit from economic reovery from mid next year.. . . . me thinks this is the banking counter of the future',the regional expansion will feed into p/l account soon.If they could just arrest white collar losses of the triton type.
I&M bank are open on Sunday at Sarit Centre. In-house chq are given spot-value clearance, meaning you get credited hapo hapo. I have banked with them from the days of Biashara bank. They have a cool product called next gen. I made this account joint (with Wifey ofcourse) and we got issued with 2 Visa debit cards and we use it purely for our internal domestic shopping. Every time my wife rings up a cash register I receive an SMS to my mobile phone indicating the amount spent. It gives me control because it freaks out my wife that I know when and how much she is purchasing. Don't take me wrong, she is very prudent and I just shrug off the power it gives me to know what she is up to. Lastly, even if you wanted, you will never stay longer than 5 mins in their banking halls. And I don't know how they did it, but they managed to shed that muhindiness of yore. Its pretty cool I must say. Even the muhindi front office personnel are comely and serve deligently, no airs or racial rubicons. I recommend them. PS. This new site of Wazaledo's really got my knickers in a twist. For a week I have been battling with myself and the fear of change. I have just barely it made out of the woods. As A Man Thinketh So is He
@poggie - asante. Sarit is kidogo crowded on weekends but doable from kile if needed. Westie FOLKS are lucky... Banks there are open late & 7 days... I&M, SCBK, DTBK, BBK, CFCS, BOI, BOB Since it was biashara bank? Wow... How long ago was that? I remember the squat building on kenyatta avenue them days. Now one of the best looking buildings in CBD. I like the blue colour. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 2/1/2007 Posts: 112 Location: Nairobi
@vitu, Which barclays branch is open on sundays? It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
@Poggie & V-V-S I&M was never Biashara!!! I&M was Investments and Mortgages, while Biashara was...well...Biashara {Started on Biashara Street, opposite Sunus'} Then I&M bought Biashara.....they called it a merger, but really, Biashara was simply bought out through a share offer to the previous owners...no wonder the name "Biashara" disappeared kabisa ===== Yeap! This bank is amazing....each time I make payment on the Visa Electron, they call me if the amount is above 10k. Also when I withdraw from the ATM Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@mdosi - barclays at westgate lakini I understand (I am not a barclays customer) there is an 'after-hours' charge for the service! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@mukiha - Lakini I&M was not a bank (or was it?) before it bought out (merged with) Biashara Bank? I remember the bank on Kenyatta Ave (can't recall the other location) where the I&M Bank building is. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran You have been a member since:: 11/21/2006 Posts: 1,590
How long does it take to open an account wit I&M? Sehemu ndio nyumba
@mdosi, there is a tiny BBk branch at Nakumatt Embakasi that opens on Sundays.
Investor
Economy
KCB: Firmly in the stoneage