wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

EQUITY ON CNN
cnn
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:10:20 AM

yes,they have a 30 seconds advert on CNN,Mwangi talking about the bank.What will that bring from international investors?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:18:19 AM

desperation given the stagnation in stock price?
Seles83
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 8:12:38 AM

absence of foreign investors in their ownership...coupled with their percieved political affiliations...
More monies, more problems...
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 2:56:21 PM

a step in the right direction...marketing it from a regional bank to a future international bank...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 4:05:01 PM

Equity is a political animal. It will shrink once the present "govt" leaves office. Even the CEO has political ambitions, something usually taboo for top bankers.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 4:15:19 PM

@ kularaha,

you are dead wrong....ekwiti's existence has been long before the past two convernments...i stand to be collected....
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 4:21:30 PM

Just look at their bad debt book and the provisioning done for it. it doesn't require a genius to figure out CBK support due to political pressure.

Let's see who's right. The bank is already stagnating.
slammers
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:52:41 PM

This may lead to increase in small scale foreign investors (mahustler) and may lift the share price 1bob above the stagnation
mturi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 8:44:47 PM

I don’t know why people at this forum like giving negative comments about Equity. The bank may have initially identified Central as its niche market but it has grown and increased its market share (currently in Ug, Rwanda etc). They may be looking into going global but people want to put the tribal tag to it….why are we enemies of what is Kenyan. Are we that alienated.

Most, if not all business start somewhere. You have to identify the niche you want to initially serve so that you can stabilise financially and operationally as a business before expanding. The fact that Equity chose central providence does not make it an inferior business model. Yunus’ Grameen Bank started with women in Bangladesh but now serving (at least the same model) the New York Market.
gathinga
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 5:41:01 AM

Equity may have stagnated, but they have also weathered many more storms before and suprised friends and foes by their unorthodox strategies. Wouldnt be surprised if they pull s fast one again
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 5:55:50 AM

You can only pull fast ones when the authorities are on your side...else its known as breaking the rules, and you get punished.
mhenga
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 6:19:46 AM

case of putting the horse before the cart... yaani mkokoteni mbele ya farasi. Chances are, the horse will turn and pull the cart in the wrong direction or just stand there and stare at the cart. But at the moment i am giving them the B.O.D even though i think they should have marketed themselves within the continent first before thinking global... but i might be wrong.
chi20
#13 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 6:43:09 AM

insiders within the banking says the deposits/lending ratio is at 90:90, meaning every single penny getting into the banks gets out as a loan. this is a suicidal given that a trickle in the liquidity could ground the bank, any time. what would happen if the fair bank ratios are maintained by this bank we all hate to love.
secondly, by marketing the bank outside could be explained as move alongside mj, who went out to woo investors in europe and made an impact on safcom's share in the recent past. my two cents
#14 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 9:02:38 AM

...wewe! Don't say that it will collapse! I have been pumping cash into this thing for the last three months....

Anyway; my decision to go in was based on my interpretation of the published, audited financial report...not on "insiders".....
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 2:07:20 PM

If anyone can tell us if EB can get itself out of the allegedly precarious financial position....Got back at 13, time to bolt?
Mainat
#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 2:16:23 PM

Thi***why buy kitu ambayo unagopa? Buy EABL or other boring but steady ships like t-bills and corporate bonds. EB is for alpha-hunters...
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 3:06:55 PM

i understand they resolved to sell off shares "safcon" ..so if you got a loan to buy and defaulted..you better check with them..chances are they were sold.. good thing i guess.

they sold mine...damn!!!!
Radiance
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 5:45:47 PM

Te EB demise is predicted the more it grows. It has managed to overcome the political insensibilities. Kenyans are quick to castigate one of their own who dares to dream...how come we dont hear the same for stanbic,ecobank, zenith,phb and other Naija banks that are mushrooming all over? Cant wait for EB to acquire NBK....
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 8:13:10 PM

@maish, EB forms the biggest chunk of ma portfolio. For some reasons, blind or otherwise, I feel it stands a better chance of making moderate capital gains in not so distant future. So when guys raise all manner of flags, lazima nikae ritho msee...
Bangkok
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 3:07:11 AM

I have been and will keep on buying EB shares.
If we are to follow the threads written on this issue, EB had was written off by many long time ago and if the reasoning was correct,it should be now on its knees. Yet EB keeps on expanding not only countrywide but has gone regional! It has also been turning in profit(decreased though) even at these hard times.