wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Best stocks to put 50K in this December
Sharon
#1 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 9:18:53 AM

Dear wazuaerians,

I have been able to save 50k in the last one year.I am seeking your advise on which stocks to put my money in this December.Am looking for short-term capitals.Please advise me thanks,Sharon
Surealligator
#2 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 12:30:12 PM

@Sharon
Go for the following and you won’t make a mistake. Pick whichever you fancy.
300 BOC Shares
Or
6500 Sasini shares
Or
4300 CMC shares
Or
2000 Scangroup shares
Or
1000 Serena shares
Or
4000 Centum shares
Or
1300 NBK
Or
5500 Co-op
Or
160 Limuru Tea
Or
7,900 Mumias
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Surealligator
#3 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 12:32:38 PM

@Sharon
I picked out the amount of shares per counter based on Friday's prizes. Invest well, don't speculate.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
youngNrich
#4 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 12:37:36 PM

surealligator
What's the rationale behind your stock choices?
serukuma
#5 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 2:26:19 PM

if you are new to the game then take someones advice but you should remember, you are risking your money.
my advice will be do your homework but consider EACL OR Nation media
plz do your homework.
thxs
seruluma
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 11:24:35 AM

HFCK, NBK, Kenya-Re, KQ. Exercise due diligence on them..
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 11:44:38 AM

KQ, KPLC, Williamson & Unga
cnn
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 12:14:58 PM

@ectasy,i agree with you on HFCK,look at its trading today after a long resistance by buyers,will get to 20 soon.The real estate sector is not slowing
@v v s,unga? what dont we know?
Nyquist
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 4:55:00 AM

ACCS,SCOM,KEGN,KENOL--Telecom and energy are the key ingredients for a developing country like Kenya.Hold for 5 years and you won't go wrong. Do your homework..
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 6:47:41 AM

Scom na sukari!!!
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 9:02:35 AM

From the suggestions so far; you might as well close your eye and pick any of the listed companies!!!!

"Short term" appreciation is like playing cards....you can never be sure what will happen.

Generally, however, you should look at companies that close their year on 31st Dec...most do, any way...and those that closed on 30 Sept but haven't published results yet [eg, CMC]

Then ask yourself, what is the likelyhood that the results will be much better that last year? That knocks out many banks!

Next ask yourself: what is the likelyhood that the results will be better than GENERALLY EXPECTED by other investors?

By this time you will have just a handful to pick from.

Pay me a commission and I will tell you which ones they are!!!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 9:37:41 AM

@cnn... You ask why Unga?

Well... IMHO... Unga was battered last year by the funny maize allocation games played by willy ruto & his pals akina jackson kibor...

The briefcase dealers were getting the same allocations from NCPB as Unga!!!

Gava was forced to allow imports of maize (in view of the famine) which benefits legit firms like Unga...
WAGUMA
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 10:22:19 AM

Hey Sharon,i know ur probably spoilt for choice by now if not confused on which stocks to buy.I have been doing my own analysis and KCB is a very good buy.its still underpriced in the market coz its target price is 25 bob.Co-Op and Access Kenya are also good buys for long term purposes.if u want short term,try the 'big' stocks.....NMG,EABL and the likes.all the best in investing
mwanahisa
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 11:01:34 AM

@ Mukiha, you have hit the head on the nail. Most of us here are giving our own favourite stocks without regard to Sharon's circumstances. But hey, let's all INDULGE ourselves.

@ VVS - I agree with you Unga is probably one of those companies that WILL surprise us one day. It's seriously undervalued, but probably one of the worst shares to recommend to Sharon. She is looking for quick capital gains ( I assume with low probability of losing part of her capital). Unga is woefully illiquid, pays no dividends and has a management that pays no heed to building shareholder value - at least in terms of share price appreciation.

If Sharon buys this share today and wants to sell in in one month's time or less, she may just find NO ONE is interested in buying and she would be forced by speculative SHARKS to lower her price to the utmost. All the same, it's an excellent share to hold for the long term and just BIDE one's time.
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 11:58:06 AM

with the 10% rule in consideration..i wld go for either SCBk or JBL.
cnn
#16 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 12:25:09 PM

@sharon,SASINI then lets talk before chritmas.
@MUKIHA,we have now gone the NYSE way?where better than expected has fuelled the rise and rise of the DOW. In that category i would put KCB,EQUITY and maybe CMC.Looking to March 2010
Six months Mumias and KQ.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 12:02:15 PM

So far so good. Does Sasini still have some mileage left?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 12:14:39 PM

@mwanahisa - lakini the short-term is super risky... I still like Unga even with the problems...

Are you a shareholder? We need to make noise during the next AGM (2010)
cnn
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 1:03:22 PM

@ectasy -Sasini full year is later in the week.The wvap was 8.60,today .Extrapolating WTK,i expect good results and a price above 10.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 1:08:22 PM

@cnn - WTK... sawa lakini sasini... I do not trust the mega-cheat merali...

Be careful & see what it says for Biological Gains...