wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

Murang'a town- what went wrong?
#1 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Formerly known as Fort Hall,Central's oldest town and notwithstanding a century of existence behind it,Murang'a is a town that has refused to grow and is under siege from all corners: aMungiki hotbed,rising crime,landslides,jiggers epicentre,the Ngengi’s (well at least the wife),etc

One would have expected it to be a highly developed town given its extensive history,and it being an agemate of Nairobi,but it is in actual fact among the least developed in Central. What happened? What went wrong? Waht stymied its growth? Other similar towns in Kenya that refused to mature?

..there's nothing,absolutely nothing really,that I can't do if I put my mind to it.
Noble
#2 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 7:36:00 AM

Me think Murang'a was transfered to Nairobi's river road area. Most of the buildings there belong to Muranga people.

#3 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 8:25:00 AM

Siasa mbaya,maisha mbaya. Mulitoa JJ kwanini?
#4 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 8:46:00 AM

What amazes me,muranga is the confluence of 5 major paved roads bt haiwesmek. Its not only murang'a,visit kakamega or webuye...very old detereorating towns,a mere shadow of their former glorious selves. Anyone who knows the KABURENGU junction?? Kuna uchawi nini? That place should by be larger than kenol...

Njaamba nditù!
The Real Shaft
#5 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 9:02:00 AM

have you ever tried..

milking a shilling from a murang'a fellow....???

they are so miserly...

they will refuse to pay their own medical bills....!!!

wacha ka-town kaendelee ....

kutuangalia ...

sisi tuaendelea mbele.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
MADE
#6 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 9:37:00 AM

The Mungiki fear is also having its toll on business in the area. Most market centres are deserted and look ghostly....Power transformers are destroyed from time to time. I really pity the folks there,majority of whom are the aged as young adults are 'refugees' in Nairobi for fear of forceful initiation......

In Western,it used to be fear of 'Musumbiji' gang which terrorised villagers during its peak in the '80s. But at the same time Western will only grow when the locals become more enterprising,stop 'finishing' successful businessmen and realise that they have resources for dev. without necessarily coming to Nbi. to work as clerks.

In Nyanza - punguzeni uchawi for development and let the educated go back home

We all have been thieves at one point in our lives; only that some of us never turned professional.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
Litro
#7 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 9:49:00 AM

Mutown as it is currently known has its own limitations ranging from physical,social,political and ecomonic aspects.

The town itself is on a hill,thus limiting its expansion. Its inhabitants are conservative and their own worst enemies. If you are an upcoming enterpreneur they will in most cases cut your legs before you go too far. For instance most people would rather shop for their basic commodities in Nairobi rather than in the town itself!!

The clamour for multi party and ' all Asians must go' by one KSN Matiba caused a flight of most of the Asians in the town (and by the way..the owners of Sarit Centre were big time investors in Mutown before they relocated to Nairobi). In as much as people tend to have very negative perceptions regarding Asians they really helped to improve the livelihoods of their employees who were able to save (this was topped up by the coffee boom) and invested their money in real estate especially in githurai and riverroad. Muranga people are resilient and could even survive with 200/= a month back then.

The political choices made by the people of Kiharu Consituency (Muranga town is in this constituency) are to say the least very poor. Elections are guided by whims and emotions rather than on fundamental issues.

This amongst many other issues (Witchcraft and Mungiki) are some of the issues that have stagnated the growth of this town.

Thats my take!

Opportunity favours the prepared mind...........
wanyuru
#8 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 10:53:00 AM

Wewe GG, Kamotho only represented Mathioya not the entire Murang'a.

It must be the physical location of the town. The areas that border the town are 'semi arid' thereby limiting viable economic activites.eg Local twendi. folks from other small towns would rather start businesses in their local shopping centres where they're guaranteed of booming biz in the Coffee and Tea growing areas. Agriculture also does well in the upper Murang'a area.

small towns in upper Muranga are doing much better than Fort hall itself. pay a visit to small towns such as Kangema and Kiria-ini....

@TRS,lol. why does it always have to be a murang'a man.

Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
gk
#9 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 11:02:00 AM

........methinks this town like many others in Central whose eceonomy was based on the agricultural eceonomy failed when coffee growing 'died'...

....even Nyeri tao has only remained alive coz its the provincial capital.

...compare Karatina,Thika with more diversified base.

Kamaa
#10 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2009 11:20:00 AM

i think murang'a and the environs is generally a poor region...

even if you are to assess the kind of structures built in that area,generally you would deduce that the region is doing bad economically...

the rooftop of the houses are completely consumed by rust and the septic tanks are very casually made...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend