wazua Mon, Dec 30, 2024

Stocks to watch... 23-27 Nov 2009
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 22, 2009 10:49:00 PM

My picks this week:

KPLC
- New restructuring plan has scant details but folks are still digesting it.
- Rains should lower electricity costs boosting consumption in 2010
- New sources of supply should mean no more rationing thus sales increase
- New emphasis on cutting losses through theft should increase PAT
- Low P/E even after accounting for the preferred dividend
- Only 79mn shares of which the bulk are tied up with GoK,NSSF & other larger institutions. A small float means buyers find it tough to accumulate shares unless they increase the price.
- Closed at 147 but I think it can hit 160 this week

KQ
- New destinations should boost sales/revenues & profits
- Lower oil prices ($80 vs $147) should cut operating (non-hedged fuel) costs
- Higher oil prices ($80 vs $50) should provide gains in hedged positions
- I am not sure which out-weighs the other (hedging costs vs spot fuel purchases)
- Higher labot expenses but hopefully KQ can squeeze better productivity
- Low P/B (0.72)
- Low P/E
- Closed at 29.25 but I think it will hit 31 this week

Safaricom
- Huge foreign demand
- Huge gains in data usage especially after recent 'free modem' promotions
- 200/day unlimited opened data use to thousands of Kenyans
- Closed at 4.80 (VWAP was 4.50) but I think 5/- is a given.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 22, 2009 11:12:00 PM

Kenya-Re
Highly undervalued going forward. Refer to financials released for Q3 09...

KCB
Counter is simply oversold. Most financials not performant this year. However,prospects of a good dividend yield is likely to spur interest.
KQ - Same reasons as you've stated.

Think it's time to check-in with 3Q results coming through....ahead of a much better economic environment 2010... especially if we anticipate passing the draft constitution.. and in anticipation of good dividend yields on select counters.

My 2 Cents
#3 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:38:00 AM

KPLC & Safaricom are up 10% already (1 hour into trading). Demand > Supply for both.

KQ is trading at Friday's VWAP... and demand is likely to push it up...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#4 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:08:00 AM

Sukaru Tamu;

Given that that the co-generation thing is running successfully at the moment and the Tana Green project having been given the green light from NEMA..

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

sheep
#5 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:42:00 AM

Access kenya anyone? Those somen brothers should hype this stock just like MJ did for Saf.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#6 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:51:00 AM

Safaricom will eat AK's lunch... Safaricom has full page ads touting business service... of course,the customer service at safcom sux!

#7 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 5:07:00 PM

...KPLC is soaring.....
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 8:15:00 AM

Kenya-Re as I indicated up...up a massive 6.8% today. still has a mileage that will make investors happy...thinking even better by March 2010...KCB continues being battered to the sell side..just for now...wish it lands at 18/=..
Pretty
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:30:00 AM

@Impunity

v I might be lagging behind on this 'Tana Green project having been given the green light from NEMA...'

v Please,give me a life line or link to the said article or hint at the source

v Will be thankful for it.

v To me,Tana Green Project is the determinant of Mumia’s success story or its failure.

v Just a thought,did you know you are in the Waki list?

v I am optimistic they give inmates at The Hague a laptop.

>>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh.
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall?
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:35:00 AM

Wow... today is KQ's day... +9.25% to 32.50. All sellers have disappeared... so what next?

- NAV is 42/- so there is still room to go.
- The hedges will be 'positive' since the the huge write-down in 2008-9 accounts. Even the 1H results were when oil was at $70 (currently at $78-$80).

More important than the hedge gains is the traffic... and I think the planes (local flights at least...) are flying almost full.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 9:26:00 AM

KQ - 34 (Supply is weak but coming in slowly)
KPLC - 160 (Lots of trades. Mainly foreign buyers)
Safaricom - 4.90 (I think the demand is building & 5/- is a real possibility)

#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:45:00 AM

Safaricom has touched 5/-...
KQ touched the max price for the day at 34.50
KPLC steady at 160

And the market about to close...

#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:24:00 PM

akili mingi na pesa mingi.......how do you tell who is buying in reference to 'mainly foreign buyers' ?

i love your smile....

#14 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 6:32:00 AM

@mlefu ol' friend... I signed up for a premium service that gives me such details...

New day... I wonder where the 3 (KQ,KPLC & Safaricom) I have been tracking will go today...

#15 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 6:36:00 AM

@mlefu - KQ at 36.50 & 94% of the net buys by foreigners...

#16 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 7:47:00 AM

pierce is a spy...the ones we see on movies...36...hhhmmmm

sk has the premium service?

i love your smile....

sheep
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:34:00 AM

diversify on low p/e counters and wait patietly
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Pierce
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:47:00 AM

Mlefu.........wacha wewe......................he he he

Just wondering though........would foreign buyers come in for 'short-term-speculative-gains'?
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:57:00 AM

@Pierce - Why not?

BUT the ins & outs in an illiquid exchange means they probably prefer to stay in for longer...