wazua Sat, Aug 9, 2025

Nationwide blackout?
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 4:59:00 PM

There s no elec in and around nai.ni wapi kuna stima,kisumu,eld or msa?whats hpning?any1 in the know?

The wicked flee even when no one is pursuing...
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 5:08:00 PM

OMG!Most of my buddies on fb r sayin theres no elec..nai,nyeri,nakuru,wapi kuna stima?big security scare...kengen,kplc mpo?Mungu atusaidie

The wicked flee even when no one is pursuing...
Hari
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 5:14:00 PM

Also no electricity @ isbania; border 2 TZ,nyeri n nakuru. Whats happening with kplc?

The best preparation of tomorrow is to do today's work superbly well
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 6:06:00 PM

hawa kplc ni bure kabisa! They pay out huge dividends after raising abnormal elec bills and what do we get in return? A national blackout that lasts for hours!! Obaks should declare 2moro a national holiday - he he he he

The man who marries a beautiful woman,and the farmer who grows corn on the roadside have the same problem.
Igor
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 6:19:00 PM

I cant get over the fact that in this country electricity is still considered a luxury and water too smile sad very sad.energy minister should stop sleeping on the job and chasing pipe dreams-oil wells while the entire country is plunged in darkness.

If you cant dazzle them with brilliance,baffle them with bullshit.
Mtu Biz
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 6:22:00 PM

breaking news on a new level! Viva sk!

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

cxz
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 7:11:00 PM

maybe one of the principals has closed his eyes....forever...just an evil thought

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
jmm
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 7:37:00 PM

i believe someone needs to resign for such a serious hitch,lakini this is kenya.

success or failure is like a seed plant any and put enough effort and you will definately harvest
twendenyumbani
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 7:59:00 PM

yep,its the whole country indeed!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/uokf5x/-/index.html

twendenyumbani
#10 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 8:48:00 PM

>> Thought it was only Eld. hope no skerian amepigwa ngeta. good night

>> eat,drink and find satisfaction in your work...setsaiselccE
adept
#11 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 4:18:00 AM

Not good.

Something interesting in all this though and to echo @Mtu Biz comments,is that the blogosphere was way ahead of the conventional media. That is at least in spreading news on the extent of the actual incident. Any alternative to our 'the-hunter-became-the-hunted' cliche team is always welcome.
akowally
#12 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 6:44:00 AM

Big up sk for the revelation. Enyewe as a country we still have a lot to do but we will get there..

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
jaribu
#13 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:00:00 AM

that damn blackout is a national DISGRACE to a country that hosts major organizations like unep. IT WAS A NATIONAL SECURITY ISSUE which should be discussed at the highest level of govt. we never learn,this total blackout has happened before,it happened yesterday and you can bet your last dime it will happen in the future. in serious democracies,energy minister would have been shown the door! criminals had a field day and am told lots of kenyans got lalishwad on the floor in many bars. kibaki should make a statement regarding that national blackout and take severe action to that effect. too bad am not even sure baba jimi is awake yet. what a banana republic we live in! am told even in mogadishu such blackouts are unheard of!

OnLy deaD FiSh gO WiTh tHe floW....!
The Real Shaft
#14 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:16:00 AM

thought ...

the Al Somaliland.....

had made good their threat.....

so what happens when we go nuclear......???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
tusker8
#15 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:34:00 AM

we were just discussing the same over breakfast with my colleagues; something really 'wierd' came of it...what if the gov't was transporting some gizmo/gadget/cargo etc from Msa to all military bases in the country,by whatever means....just thinking.

You know you are old when you wake up with a hangover and you didnt touch no drink the previous nite.
#16 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:55:00 AM

@TRS,
Eti Nuclear energy??.......A nuclear thermal plant that can produce 1,000 MW would require a staggering 100B shillings and probably not less than 30 years before we can start generating...............A 400MW wind farm requires 15B and can be up and running in 18 months.That talk about nuclear energy is misplaced and at best,bull crap.

@Tusker8,
Probably not.Seems one IPP went down and this must have caught KPLC operators unawares.........Seriously,heads should roll.

Old man about town....
#17 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:57:00 AM

How much have we lost in Goldenberg and Anglo?

Could we have a nuclear plant with that money?

Kinuthia,rudisha pesa

Kamaa
#18 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 7:58:00 AM

i concur @ tusker..

we should get explanation from the energy ministry and a promise that this would not happen again..

but this is kenya...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
The Real Shaft
#19 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 9:04:00 AM

if a fraction was employed to develop our geo-thermal plant....

we would export elec.....

lakini...

why think simple....???

we're complex beings...

' we are the only Africans with a name for radioactivity....'

matektek....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
tusker8
#20 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2009 9:14:00 AM

@ njunge: the national grid is not,and cannot be dependant on one IPP. The grid is connected to the various powers station & major sub-stations to ensure that that even though one goes down,it does not affect the other areas.
KPLC (& KenGen) have real time surveillance of the network and ideally...ideally i repeat - they should be able to locate the source of a malfunction as/when it happens. rarely would the whole grid go down,and for that long,for no tangible reason.

have they issued a statement by the way?

You know you are old when you wake up with a hangover and you didnt touch no drink the previous nite.