wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

KCB should be sold to Nigerians
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:34:00 AM

We should lobby that KCB be offered to the Nigerians at 30/- (or higher). I think it will be a tempting takeover target. After the sale,we can always migrate our business to other Kenyan owned banks.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Chaka
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:40:00 AM

why?they refused to advance you a loan?
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:43:00 AM

I am one of the suckers who bought the Rights @ 25 and I would love to sell at 30/-.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Chaka
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:48:00 AM

@vitu,

taking into account the dividend of 1 bob,you have recovered a bob,so the rights are now 24 bob Sad
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:48:00 AM

there are bigger suckers who bought at rights + margin....hahahahahahha...

mwanahisa
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:52:00 AM

@VVS. Hold your horses. I am sure you evaluated the business case for KCB when you bought your shares at 25 and it made sense then. The western world was already experiencing the credit crisis (although admittedly we never thought Kenya would be hit or hit as badly). So,not very much has changed. If anything KCB has actually become a better business.Remember not too long ago we paid an equivalent of Kshs 5 for KCB rights. They are trading at almost 5 times that price - after one of the worst bear runs ever experienced on the Kenyan market. PATIENCE DOES PAY sometimes.

I am therefore putting my neck out and predicting that KCB's share price will hit Kshs 30 before very long. No need to get the Nigerians in. However,you can get very low P/E banking shares in Nigeria. Maybe that's where you ought to look. And by the way when the western world recovers - share prices in Nigeria are bound to explode UPWARDS!

Opportunity calls but few respond.
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:53:00 AM

My money in T-Bills would have given me 2.50 (after deducting W/Tax). Selling at 30 is only way for me to break even. I am a suckahhh...

#8 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:58:00 AM

@mwanahisa - You are right lakini I will bail at least 50% of my shares at 30/-... if I can get it. Where are the Nigerians? Please make a takeover bid. Haraka.

SUSU
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 10:11:00 AM

Sameer ... Everready ....Mumias...Safaricom.. and the list goes on....Then why not sell the whole country to them?? we will then be living happily everafter..no?

@Vitu....Today I dumpped 2000 kcb that I bought @ 19.50 while keeping the rights @25. again I will buy at a lower price and dump till I recover the Rights loss...ati HOLD till sijui lini ..is not in my business diary...
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 10:16:00 AM

You can keep your shares. It is a free market. The only (practical) way I can get 30/- in the current market is a takeover bid. So whether you huff or puff,I hope someone comes in with a takeover bid.

mwanahisa
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 10:36:00 AM

@Susu,Your trading strategy makes sense,although I am surprised that you are still working on recovering losses on KCB rights almost a year from the time you bought them. I am a strong believer in long-term investment and over the years,this has proven to be a very profitable strategy. However,my long-term investment strategy does not neccesarily mean buying and holding a share for an indefinite period of time. Admittedly this worked very well between 2003 and 2006,(and it will invariably work whenever there is a sustained bull market). Since then,market conditions have changed and we have had to change with them.

We recognise that even very good shares at times will be overbought and their prices become unsustainable. At that point,definitely selling and cashing gains makes lots of sense. But then having identified such good shares,you wait - inevitably it reaches a stage when they get oversold and you get a chance to get in once again. Hence you could very well be in and out of KCB and thus keep making money,even if once in a while you get in at too high a price. Over the years,I have actually increased by holdings in the company by trading in and out of the share.

Opportunity calls but few respond.
Chaka
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 11:47:00 AM

@vitu,

i don't see that happening.KCB,like Nyayo stadium,is a 'national' asset.Coca-cola walijaribu lakini wapi.......?
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 12:07:00 PM

That stupid b**** was trying to protect the kale symbol... There was no nationalism there. The bastard named (or had named) schools,bridges,toilets,airport after him. We need to eliminate all traces of nyayo from public property.

kizee
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 12:55:00 PM

VVS...so moi started kcb? wasnt it indians?
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 6:11:00 PM

Huh? I was responding to a comment about that idiot helen sambili who threw out a good deal with coca cola coz they did not want nyayo in the name of the stadium. Nothing to do with KCB.

kizee
#16 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@VVS-Touche
young
#17 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 11:14:00 AM

@Vitu,

Please what is the source of your info ?

i do not think KCB is up for sale to any group

AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Alchemist
#18 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 5:42:00 PM

@3V no offence,but I love KCB. Wouldnt even sell at 30
#19 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 8:41:00 PM

@young - I did not say there was an offer. Just what I hope would happen. So there is no need for a source coz there is no source.
*** @alchemist - Of course,I would love to get more... This is about returns... I can always buy something else in Kenya...

#20 Posted : Saturday, July 04, 2009 12:14:00 PM

@ vitu,

your suggestion is a tall order....you see if you delayed in making the buck when the time was ripe,then your case is one of sour grapes. you only hold a couple of thousands of the kcb shares out of about 1.99 billion making you an insignificant share holder...ask those other shareholders what they feel about this stock.....and you will commit suicide.

just hold mpaka there is a net gain and then you can chicken out....even if it will be after 5 years...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB