wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

Avoid RTGS fee & piss off bank
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 6:29:00 AM

One day when I have 1mn,I am going to write a chq for 999,999.95

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Fundaah
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:00:00 AM

That's genious.....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Chaka
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:02:00 AM

And then the following day you write one for .05 smile
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:20:00 AM

CBK has put in monitoring software to avoid cheque splitting.

#5 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:31:00 AM

@kularaha - As long as the chqs are written on 2 different days - from the explanation I was given.... *

You cannot write more than 2 chqs exceeding 1mn to the same person/entity on the same day (not sure if it means business day). So if i were a business who has to pay 1mn to a single supplier,I would write chqs on different days but each less than 1mn... Saves me 1,500 (less ledger/chq fees) per RTGS

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:33:00 AM

My bank calculates even pennies. Probably the software. So is a chq for 999,999.99 valid?

bird_man
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:36:00 AM

Interesting.....but surely....all that effort to save Ksh 1,500??And you are a company?With 1 Million to pay?

Its too much effort and it might make you look 'cheap'.Not good.

'When I sell liquor,it's called bootlegging; when my patrons serve it on Lake Shore Drive,it's called hospitality'
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 7:36:00 AM

Now this reminds me of my days in the UK [the real UK!!! but do I say?] in the mid 1980s. We used to get cheque guarantee cards from the bank with limits of 50pounds. Then when making higher payments,we'd write several cheques with different dates...usually one day apart.

Now that gives an idea of how old I am.....was writing cheques in the UK in mid 80s!!!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 12:54:00 PM

@birdman... Of course... saving money is IMPORTANT... 1,500 for 1mn = 0.15% (plus costs of sending a messenger to & fro the bank). This is NOT a trading activity but a pure expense.
*** Ati,making me look cheap... Kwani the bank charges me lower interest or pays me more interest so it does not look cheap...
**** LOL... birdman... have you heard of Warren Buffet?

bird_man
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 3:34:00 PM

VVS,wont you spend even more writing two cheques plus having to send the messenger two times?Plus the time he will waste going there twice to deposit the cheques instead of running other errands?It might work.......it might save costs,maybe,I don't know!

Try it out and tell me whether its better.

'When I sell liquor,it's called bootlegging; when my patrons serve it on Lake Shore Drive,it's called hospitality'
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 8:30:00 PM

@birdman - Are you in Kenya? (I doubt... prove me wrong)
** 1) RTGS has a form that has to be filled (and if u make a mistake,it is shauri yako...) and the details for the OTHER party have to be accurate. Chqs requires the name of the Payee only & amount/s only. The rest (account # & bank's routing are pre-printed). I do not need the other jamaa's inforamation.
*** 2) I still need to send a messenger to the bank with RTGS instructions. Cheque is in the post ;-). Also people in Kenya SEND their messengers to collect chqs. Not my cost.
**** 3) Time. Bwana,even in Kenya we use PRINTERS. Chqs (except for small businesses) are printed. Fewer errors. I sign them. Now that RTGS form also takes time to fill. And I don't have (or afford to buy module) a way to 'print' my form using the accounting database/software.
***** 4) Let's face the truth,my messenger makes many runs & has multiple duties. And the overall cost is not as high as RTGS. Of course,if one has many such chqs,then compared to RTGS...
****** 5) The cost of RTGS should be less than .01% (100/- per 1,000,000). The current 1,500 (I have not seen 500 yet) is too high. Maybe it is OK for 10mn+ transactions.

#12 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 8:34:00 PM

@birdman: As a PAYEE,yes I like RTGS... but not as a PAYOR... (Yeah,double standards!!!). BTW,Kenyan banks initially wanted to charge (200-500) to receive RTGS funds lakini CBK told them no... coz that wud have created opposition.
*** Banker's Cheques cost between 100-500 so why shud RTGS cost 1,500? (I have not found a bank that charges 500).

K22
#13 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 5:44:00 AM

@all opposed to RTGS,just imagine you are a supplier & you are owed eeeh lets say 5M. How would you like to get 6 or more cheques payable different date and each requiring 4 days to clear?

Yes,the Banks need to review the charges but at the same time we also need to embrace new technologies! And this 1500 charge can be shared among the parties.... or catered for as part of cost of transacting business

My 2 cents

Randomly insane

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#14 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 6:04:00 AM

Why are we talking about sh1,500 transaction fee when the CBK and KBA have recommended NOT MORE THAT SH500?

If your bank is charging more [wef yesterday],ask them why....show them the FAQ from CBK/KBA...

http://www.centralbank.g...ECAPPINGFAQBrochure.pdf
Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#15 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 6:15:00 AM

@mukiha - RECOMMENDED... The CBK recommends many things... reality is DIFFERENT... anyway,PLEASE tell me which bank charges 500/- for RTGS...

#16 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 6:37:00 AM

Anyway,for the near future... (unfortunately) I do not see people writing me 1mn chqs (1 or 2 or 3) nor will I be writing any (or 2 or 3) chqs for 1mn+... This is all academic!