wazua Sat, Jan 24, 2026

safcom modem fraud
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 6:54:00 AM

I've noticed that of late the charges for browsing have become irregular and dubious. Eg. I opened a page and stayed on it for a while only to discover that i was being charged on a per minute basis. Has anyone noticed this discrepancy? Also yesterday my hubby loaded 360 bob on his sim only for it to run out after opening 2 web pages with very few images. Something fishy is going on

jitetee
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 7:16:00 AM

Hope you are loading the credit correctly. If you use the kawaida method,charges are almost 4 times the kawaida. That said,I agree that Safcom are a ripoff. If they arent,why cant they simply auto-enable the rate charged whenever the system detects that the top up is being done via a modem or a data sim-card? Surely,with all this technology,there must be a way they are able to tell. Or am I missing something here? Lakini wakati wa dividend,I will support their shady tactics all the way. Hehehe

Time and chance happen to all.
andycapp
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 7:34:00 AM

Some time back,i had the safcom modem,i noticed that it was countig too fast.
At times id only connect the modem without even opening my browser & the thing would be counting MB's so fast yet i wasnt even downloading/uploading.
At some point,i took it to customer care in town & they said it was fine,that it was updatind smthing on my computer like antivirus etc. I askd them to connect it without opening a browser......in 5 minutes it had done 30MB. they said its normal.. then the bills started coming at 4k,then 5k,then 9k.... I threw away the sim card & wrote a letter to safcom askin them to stop the service.
Even after throwin away the sim i still get bills avaraging 4k - 5k every month for a service of kshs 1999.00 per month,my last bill is totalling 61k yet dont even use. & their customer care doesnt go thru... their town office seem imcompetent to my case...so i stopd wasting my time with it.
Kamaa
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 7:52:00 AM

haiya hii maneno imechukuwa mwelekeo mpya....

@ andy i think you should go to safaricom hse instead of their town offices...

Evil men understand not judgment: but they that seek the LORD understand all things.
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 8:05:00 AM

@all - look for any posts,especially those where SK members are hawking these modems - my position then,which is reinforced now by this post,was that the honeymoon would soon be over...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Engine
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 8:12:00 AM

I thought I was the only one having this problem. I have noticed this over charges and called them about it severaly but their customer care staff seem to be so naive and ignorant that the information they give you is all useless. They are just paid to receive calls and be courteous...kusema sema to thank you for calling safaricom. I have even noticed a page can take for ever to open and when you check your balance,the whole amount is chewed. I am so fed up with the ka-thing. I no longer use it. I am now use the orange one I acquired.

Engine
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 9:47:00 AM

That is why it is also called safaricon,safcon,sufferingcon... note the CON in the nicknames...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Excetra
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 10:06:00 AM

What most people don't realise is that our compters have internet hungry applications and they will automatically connect without notifying you. Two good examples are anti-virus programs and windows updates. These update are usually not small,they range from tens of MBs to Hundreds of MBs. Other applications installed on your computer might also have automatic updates on or will always check for updates.

To ensure that your MBs don't move as I've read here. TURN OFF ALL AUTOMATIC UPDATES.

If you are planning for a year plant rice,if for a decade plant trees,if for a lifetime give people education
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 10:13:00 AM

@excetra,that one happens often,especially with Adobe products and Mozilla,they will download several MB's. But what of andycapps modem which is downloading even in the dustbin? why is the problem only with safaricom modems? they need to check on this!

I am a general consultant,specializing in all areas.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 10:20:00 AM

@muchknow it is really not about downloadng while the SIM is in the dust-bin.
@andycapp's case is something called monthly cycle fee which he says amounts to 1,999.

AKS
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 10:30:00 AM

@shak,did you buy a data bundle? After loading airtime,buy a data bundle (445,446) or else browsing is charged like a voice call.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@GG the same happens even with a data bundle. The thing is it was not always like this. This mysterious disappearance of Mbs started recently

chris79
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 1:09:00 PM

Seems like the side effects of fibre optic cable,downloads are so fast and instantaneous that guys are complaining. Ironic,isn't it?

Be the change you want to see in the world...
jawz1
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 2:19:00 PM

Shak is right. Bought 100mb data but with my antivirus not updating and no webpage open I was still losing 1mb per minute. Got annoyed and stopped using it at once. Like others are saying this is a recent development. Nothing to do with extra fast downloads of fiber optic...

Anyone with MJ's email?

He who will not economize will have to agonize (Confucius)
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 3:09:00 PM

@jawz1: SCOM emails follow a standard format of initialsurname@safaricom.co.ke; so try mjoseph@safaricom.co.ke

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
wachiras
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2009 4:48:00 PM

I concurr with excetra. The culprit is the programs that are running updates in the background. Some programs like adobe are set to check for available updates once an internet connection is detected. The updates are usually in the form of large files that will gobble up your airtime very fast especially now that internet speeds have improved. Try to install an application that monitors what programs are allowed/disallowed to access the internet. Data charges are based on the amount of data you dowload/upload and therefore i dont see how safaricom can send unwanted data packets to your pc and make you pay for them.
p.s I dont work for safaricom.
The General
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 6:25:00 AM

ladies/Gents,

Forgive me for hijacking this thread,but imo,this is impressive:

Digital Annual Report and Accounts of 2009

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:18:00 AM

@General,truly impressive. Cant say the same for the cartoons at Zain.
mv ufanisi
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 10:49:00 AM

Thinking of moving from AK to a wireless internet provider. Which is the best?
My considerations
1. Unlimited Connectivity
2. Reliable internet
3. Fast speeds
4. Price

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Nairoberry
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 11:08:00 AM

I agree with you totally,the cheapest safcom bundle is 2.5 and the most expensive one is 6.25 while unbundled surfing costs 8 bob per MB. I once checked normal HTML mail for 45 minutes and 300MBs were gone...called customer care and the blondes could not help me.

If you surf over 30MB per day as an individual,you are better off moving to the ISPs where you get unlimited browsing at very fast and pocket friendly prices much cheaper than MSPs plus installation cost are also pocket friendly.

For those still wishing to take advantage of portability of the MSP modems: go to control panel; security center; security settings,under automatic updates,uncheck automatic and select Notify. Under windows firewall,go to exceptions and uncheck all programs you dont need to auto update,also check the box for display notifications...hope this helps.

Nairoberry-'The darker the berry the sweeter the juice'