Market
Technical
HELP. Building a maisonette in phases
Rank: Member Joined: 5/15/2019 Posts: 687 Location: planet earth
what to do about the staircase area once suspended slab is poured?  It is open to the skies kabisa and thus a huge void in the slab Si tutanyeshewa kunyeshwo? Planning to finish ground floor and move in but staircase area ndio chinda. Thanks in advance Wazua.  In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2018 Posts: 564 Location: Britain
You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,749 Location: nairobi
Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. This is the best guidance that I have seen in wazua in 2019 COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. Excellent observation my sister. But shida ni pesa. I don't have enough to even fika the ring beam let alone the roof! I was thinking just build a mini mabati roof over the staircase area and then move in. I never knew concrete slabs are permeable? Aren't some roof tiles also made of concrete? I would think a think suspended slab is virtually impermeable, and the water that seeps in and is retained is actually good for long term curing of the slab? Asanteni for the feedback. In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
amorphous wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. Excellent observation my sister. But shida ni pesa. I don't have enough to even fika the ring beam let alone the roof! I was thinking just build a mini mabati roof over the staircase area and then move in. I never knew concrete slabs are permeable? Aren't some roof tiles also made of concrete? I would think a think suspended slab is virtually impermeable, and the water that seeps in and is retained is actually good for long term curing of the slab? Asanteni for the feedback. There is no aspect of construction which is cheaper than doing masonry walling. If you do not have cash in the interim to lay roof tiles, you may roof with gauge 32 mabatis which shall double up as underlays for the tiles at a later date when your financial position improves.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
amorphous wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. Excellent observation my sister. But shida ni pesa. I don't have enough to even fika the ring beam let alone the roof! I was thinking just build a mini mabati roof over the staircase area and then move in. I never knew concrete slabs are permeable? Aren't some roof tiles also made of concrete? I would think a think suspended slab is virtually impermeable, and the water that seeps in and is retained is actually good for long term curing of the slab? Asanteni for the feedback. Boss, It is doable, weka floor on the concrete roof the same way it done on flats. I have had it for almost 2 years and no leakage. Also put a temporary mabati roof on the starecase and move in. Good luck!! Democracy does not belong to the dead
Queen wrote:amorphous wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. Excellent observation my sister. But shida ni pesa. I don't have enough to even fika the ring beam let alone the roof! I was thinking just build a mini mabati roof over the staircase area and then move in. I never knew concrete slabs are permeable? Aren't some roof tiles also made of concrete? I would think a think suspended slab is virtually impermeable, and the water that seeps in and is retained is actually good for long term curing of the slab? Asanteni for the feedback. There is no aspect of construction which is cheaper than doing masonry walling. If you do not have cash in the interim to lay roof tiles, you may roof with gauge 32 mabatis which shall double up as underlays for the tiles at a later date when your financial position improves. Queen yes I agree with you on walling but you forgot the small matter of roofing mbaos and roofing labour! Hizi mbili sio mchezo. Ring beam pia will eat money. In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
githundi wrote:amorphous wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. Excellent observation my sister. But shida ni pesa. I don't have enough to even fika the ring beam let alone the roof! I was thinking just build a mini mabati roof over the staircase area and then move in. I never knew concrete slabs are permeable? Aren't some roof tiles also made of concrete? I would think a think suspended slab is virtually impermeable, and the water that seeps in and is retained is actually good for long term curing of the slab? Asanteni for the feedback. Boss, It is doable, weka floor on the concrete roof the same way it done on flats. I have had it for almost 2 years and no leakage. Also put a temporary mabati roof on the starecase and move in. Good luck!! Thanks boss, I've settled on this course of action. It's been raining on and off and I see no leaks anywhere except water on staircase. Nitaweka mabati niingie jameni. Rent is eating me alive!! Thanks for the encouragement. In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
obiero wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. This is the best guidance that I have seen in wazua in 2019 I lived in a house with slab roof for 4 years with zero leakage.just ensure no water stagnates on the slab punda amecheka
newfarer wrote:obiero wrote:Queen wrote:You may have to do a false roof not just above the staircase void but the entire first floor slab. The reason being a concrete slab is permeable so you should otherwise expect water leakage through the slab. Doing a maisonette in phases can be quite expensive.
A better mode of construction would entail doing the entire first floor walling including the roof. The finishes on first floor can follow later as you chill on the ground floor. This is the best guidance that I have seen in wazua in 2019 I lived in a house with slab roof for 4 years with zero leakage.just ensure no water stagnates on the slab
...Then for the staircase well area only build up perimeter temporary masonry walling and do the temporary roof at high level.
limanika wrote:...Then for the staircase well area only build up perimeter temporary masonry walling and do the temporary roof at high level. Not a bad idea. This will also allow me (and the fundis) to access the first floor in case i need to inspect the solar water heater and water tank that will be temporarily placed there. The fundis will be able to continue building once i save up the money. In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
amorphous wrote:limanika wrote:...Then for the staircase well area only build up perimeter temporary masonry walling and do the temporary roof at high level. Not a bad idea. This will also allow me (and the fundis) to access the first floor in case i need to inspect the solar water heater and water tank that will be temporarily placed there. The fundis will be able to continue building once i save up the money. Exactly. The fundis should access via an external ladder though
Your staircase has no steps on it, just 2 landings.. Or are those to be introduced later? amorphous wrote:what to do about the staircase area once suspended slab is poured?  It is open to the skies kabisa and thus a huge void in the slab Si tutanyeshewa kunyeshwo? Planning to finish ground floor and move in but staircase area ndio chinda. Thanks in advance Wazua. 
Stories like these just make me smile https://www.standardmedi...-towards-home-ownership
Kudos to the couple!  In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
"Silly" question. Plastering is almost done. What comes next after electrical wiring? Painting ceilings and walls? Or tiling floor first? then painting of ceilings and walls? Halafu niingie hii nyumba kama sungura jamaneni Thaks in advance In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,749 Location: nairobi
amorphous wrote:"Silly" question. Plastering is almost done. What comes next after electrical wiring? Painting ceilings and walls? Or tiling floor first? then painting of ceilings and walls? Halafu niingie hii nyumba kama sungura jamaneni Thaks in advance
I always go with tiling first based on logic..Let me hear from the others COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
obiero wrote:amorphous wrote:"Silly" question. Plastering is almost done. What comes next after electrical wiring? Painting ceilings and walls? Or tiling floor first? then painting of ceilings and walls? Halafu niingie hii nyumba kama sungura jamaneni Thaks in advance
I always go with tiling first based on logic..Let me hear from the others @Obiero. Kindly explain the logic? I would have thought if you do paint after tiling it will "chafua" the tiles which will lead to more labour for sorting out the mess ama? In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
amorphous wrote:"Silly" question. Plastering is almost done. What comes next after electrical wiring? Painting ceilings and walls? Or tiling floor first? then painting of ceilings and walls? Halafu niingie hii nyumba kama sungura jamaneni Thaks in advance
I prefer >> doing wall skimming and completely finish the ceiling >> then first coat of paint on wall then tile do >>the final coat of paint on wall, >>grout the tiles, acid wash tiles if necessary
Market
Technical
HELP. Building a maisonette in phases