Culture
That Kenyan Thief
Standard wrote:A cleaner at Equity Bank and a 59-year-old woman have been charged with stealing money from banks. Brevin Lugembe, a cleaner at Equity Bank, has been charged with conspiracy to steal Sh24,661,806 from the bank on or before February 10, last year, jointly with others not before court. Lugembe pleaded not guilty to the charges. His lawyer pleaded with the court to grant him favourable bail terms. “Your honour, my client is a cleaner at the said institution. I don’t think he has the capacity to siphon this kind of money,” the lawyer told the court. The prosecution asked Milimani Principal Magistrate Martha Mutuku to consolidate Lugembe’s case with another one already before court. Lugembe was remanded until tomorrow when the case will be mentioned for consolidation. Still at Milimani law courts, three women, including a 59-year-old, whose lawyer described as a “semi-literate” victim of hi-tech computer operations, were charged with hacking into a banking system to steal more than Sh24 million from Consolidated Bank. The court heard that Josphine Mumo, who is charged alongside Damaris Mutheu and Regina Nyambura, was informed that her picture had appeared in the Press and presented herself before the local chief. She was then advised to go to Machakos Police Station, where she was apprehended by officers from the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI). “Your honour, it is ridiculous that at her age the DCI can charge her with altering computer data. She cannot even operate a smartphone,” her lawyer, Boniface Nyamu, told the court. The three suspects were accused that on diverse dates between December 31, last year and January 7, they fraudulently and with intent to steal, altered data in the Consolidated Bank core banking system. The charges further stated that they transferred money to different bank accounts, causing the lender loss of Sh24,588,800. Their charge sheet also read that on the same dates and place, the three conspired to steal Sh24,588,800 from the Consolidated Bank. Mumo, 59, faced an additional count of handling stolen goods. The court heard that last January 7, she withdrew from her Stanbic Bank account a sum of Sh183,420 through an M-Pesa transaction, knowingly or having reasons to believe that it was stolen. Damaris was charged with stealing Sh560,500 from the Consolidated Bank and withdrawing Sh559,374 through M-Pesa and account-to-account transfer knowingly or having reasons to believe it was stolen. Regina was charged with stealing Sh431,374 through M-Pesa and PesaLink transaction, knowingly or having reasons to believe it was stolen. The three denied the charges and were each released on a bond of Sh300,000 or a Sh200,000 cash bail. Audit trail is real but still amazing "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Stolen identity or these charges are real?
Sansa wrote:Stolen identity or these charges are real? Those women look like they are the "fall guy" in these. And i agree that they may not be able to operate even a smart phone. Investigators better give us the real guys
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
A big scandal this is. So how did they withdraw money they did not have in the account via mpesa. They are part of the game.Pretend you dont know how to use a smart phone nyef nyef nyef Ofcouse the hacking was done by the experts but withdrawal of the loot was done by them. As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
So how did they withdraw money they did not have in the account via mpesa.
They are part of the game.Pretend you dont know how to use a smart phone nyef nyef nyef
Ofcouse the hacking was done by the experts but withdrawal of the loot was done by them.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu...
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/28/2018 Posts: 42 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
They are part of the game.Pretend you dont know how to use a smart phone nyef nyef nyef
Ofcouse the hacking was done by the experts but withdrawal of the loot was done by them.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this.
drogon wrote:Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this. Kumbe wewe ndio unaiba taxes zetu. Saitaaan! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
drogon wrote:Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this. KEBS, KPA, KRA, NSSF, Immigration or where? Be specific.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/28/2018 Posts: 42 Location: Nairobi
Iganamagana wrote:drogon wrote:Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this. KEBS, KPA, KRA, NSSF, Immigration or where? Be specific. Moving on....
drogon wrote:Iganamagana wrote:drogon wrote:Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this. KEBS, KPA, KRA, NSSF, Immigration or where? Be specific. Moving on.... You can't move on with our taxes sir If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:drogon wrote:Iganamagana wrote:drogon wrote:Lolest! wrote:Bigchick wrote:A big scandal this is.
As an ex banker I an tell you the most serious frauds were committed by women who you would never suspect.Even stealing within the banking hall so done by hopeless looking women Sometime back I lent someone some money. The guy works with a quasi-government body. A month later, I receive an amount on my MPESA from a strange number with a strange female name. Then the borrower calls. It's him. He refunded the soft loan through that lady's number. I ask why he has to use some funny number. He opens up & tells me there's a lot of kando kando cash & since staff accounts are likely to be scrutinized, he uses that strange line for 'biashara'. Hii Kenya yetu... Hehe Tuko wengi. I also do this. KEBS, KPA, KRA, NSSF, Immigration or where? Be specific. Moving on.... You can't move on with our taxes sir who says it's your taxes? it's biashara money! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working
Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. This Barclays theft has to do with merger with ABSA. Watu wanajipanga! i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. This Barclays theft has to do with merger with ABSA. Watu wanajipanga! During yesterday JKL, Oigara and Collymore said that the biggest setback is employees stealing from the companies, hey were in unison that every month they hav sacked between 3-5 people and wheels of justice are too slow to prosecute Life is an endless adventure
harrydre wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. This Barclays theft has to do with merger with ABSA. Watu wanajipanga! Barclays Kenya has always been under ABSA. Barclays UK just let go of ABSA nothing big. Quote: Additionally, they chose to strike just after two of the ATMs had been reloaded with cash.
This has heightened suspicion that someone on the inside must have tipped them off. On-site ATMs, which are located at banking halls, are loaded directly by the bank.
However, off-site ATMs like the ones that were robbed are loaded by the security company contracted to guard them.
The security company monitors the cash level inside the machine on a daily basis and then requests for money or technical assistance from the bank whenever required.
In case an off-site ATM needs to be reloaded, all the security company does is to make a requisition and then go pick the money.
Like a day before the ATM at Mutindwa was robbed, G4S personnel had just loaded it with Sh7 million. Out of this, Sh6.2 million was discovered missing 24 hours later. Interesting that firms still trust G4S with their money after the heists that they previously had on money on transit. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. This Barclays theft has to do with merger with ABSA. Watu wanajipanga! Barclays Kenya has always been under ABSA. Barclays UK just let go of ABSA nothing big. Quote: Additionally, they chose to strike just after two of the ATMs had been reloaded with cash.
This has heightened suspicion that someone on the inside must have tipped them off. On-site ATMs, which are located at banking halls, are loaded directly by the bank.
However, off-site ATMs like the ones that were robbed are loaded by the security company contracted to guard them.
The security company monitors the cash level inside the machine on a daily basis and then requests for money or technical assistance from the bank whenever required.
In case an off-site ATM needs to be reloaded, all the security company does is to make a requisition and then go pick the money.
Like a day before the ATM at Mutindwa was robbed, G4S personnel had just loaded it with Sh7 million. Out of this, Sh6.2 million was discovered missing 24 hours later. Interesting that firms still trust G4S with their money after the heists that they previously had on money on transit. They don't trust them, the CIT is insured so they get compensated. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Surely, if a cleaner is able to steal that kind of money from a bank then the problem is the bank. BBI will solve it :)
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Shak wrote:murchr wrote:Bankers seem to be the biggest thieves we have around. The Barclays ATM heist was most likely carried out by an insider or a person coordinating with an insider. the star wrote:The three ATMs were hacked and emptied of cash on Saturday night. The Star on Wednesday reported that the tech-savvy youths used a method known as ATM jackpotting to drain millions out of the machines. And interestingly all the CCTV cameras at the different locations were not working Surprisingly this job is likely to be the work of outsourced services coordinated by some high tech thieves and not bankers. When you have graduates running around town filling and emptying ATM while paying them peanuts, you get this as the end result. This Barclays theft has to do with merger with ABSA. Watu wanajipanga! Barclays Kenya has always been under ABSA. Barclays UK just let go of ABSA nothing big. Quote: Additionally, they chose to strike just after two of the ATMs had been reloaded with cash.
Like a day before the ATM at Mutindwa was robbed, G4S personnel had just loaded it with Sh7 million. Out of this, Sh6.2 million was discovered missing 24 hours later. Interesting that firms still trust G4S with their money after the heists that they previously had on money on transit. They don't trust them, the CIT is insured so they get compensated. Bank staff would not have known which ATM is going to be loaded at what time since the service is outsourced. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Culture
That Kenyan Thief