Huduma ID
From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored?
Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will it be like those days when Jesus was born? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will mit be like those days when Jesus was born? LOL I like the initiative. But wouldn't it have been better to consolidate all docs (nhif nssf id dl pp etc) into one huduma thing. You only need to search ones full details using the digits on one of the cards. But again this is the same govt which cannot afford to pay ISPs. So expect services to be down for weeks once it kicks off and us going back to norm. If we want to go digital then we must heavily invest in IT as a country. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:murchr wrote:Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will mit be like those days when Jesus was born? LOL I like the initiative. But wouldn't it have been better to consolidate all docs (nhif nssf id dl pp etc) into one huduma thing. You only need to search ones full details using the digits on one of the cards. But again this is the same govt which cannot afford to pay ISPs. So expect services to be down for weeks once it kicks off and us going back to norm. If we want to go digital then we must heavily invest in IT as a country. Government should be its own ISP. What is lacking? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Government should be its own ISP. What is lacking?
Lack of integrity, intelligence, honesty, scruples, morals, principles, conscious etc etc etc We can go on for years.... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 5/24/2007 Posts: 1,805
Jubilee has called for New Passport (total chaos and corruption ongoing there), New digital DL, New digtial ID.. eCitizen, KRA Online portal, Digital Land registries... These are all good by the way if well linked to a central secure server.. But hii ya sijui nini...Hii ni tender mtu anapewa.... It is of absolutely no value to the Mwananchi. I Think Therefore I Am
bwenyenye wrote:Jubilee has called for New Passport (total chaos and corruption ongoing there), New digital DL, New digtial ID.. eCitizen, KRA Online portal, Digital Land registries... These are all good by the way if well linked to a central secure server..
But hii ya sijui nini...Hii ni tender mtu anapewa.... It is of absolutely no value to the Mwananchi. I also don't get it. Ati it has worked in the UK? Anybody lived/living there atusaidie?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Will this ID replace the existing one? What will be the point of having this and a digital driving license at the same time? A driver's license ID should be sufficient instead of duplicating. I think they should change the rules so the youth take driving tests at 17yrs, get a provisional license/ID to be exchange for a DL ID at 18yrs. The people who don't want to be drivers can get the other ID. Anyway, wacha watu watafutiwe kwa kukula Kenyan style. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 3/14/2012 Posts: 577 Location: Nairobi Kenya
I just don't feel this Huduma ID. It doesn't sound practical. Plus, I'm not very comfortable with giving the govt. all that information. Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Huduma id is the new cash cow as we prepare for 2022. Totally useless project, but money will be spent before it goes into hibernation. This country is run by criminals. Shida ni one cannot be sure whether lack of performance, lack of ideas and inability to follow through on simple matters is genetic or phombe induced. Anyway kumira kumira. Meanwhile tunatafuta eurobond nyingine! Na watchies will now have guns, Mungu saidia. If the cops themselves are using guns to commit crimes, despite rigorous training and indoctrination, sembuse watchie. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
YoungMulla wrote:I just don't feel this Huduma ID. It doesn't sound practical. Plus, I'm not very comfortable with giving the govt. all that information. Same here, I neither want them to have all that data nor trust them to secure it. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
In the UK we have the National Insurance Number which includes your driving license number, tax information, passport information, National Health number, pension details etc. Though I have heard Uhuru make a number of pronouncements in the past that amount to nothing and I suspect this is one of those. Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
The ultimate goal is: to maximize tax collection.
murchr wrote:essyk wrote:murchr wrote:Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will mit be like those days when Jesus was born? LOL I like the initiative. But wouldn't it have been better to consolidate all docs (nhif nssf id dl pp etc) into one huduma thing. You only need to search ones full details using the digits on one of the cards. But again this is the same govt which cannot afford to pay ISPs. So expect services to be down for weeks once it kicks off and us going back to norm. If we want to go digital then we must heavily invest in IT as a country. Government should be its own ISP. What is lacking? money"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
YoungMulla wrote:I just don't feel this Huduma ID. It doesn't sound practical. Plus, I'm not very comfortable with giving the govt. all that information. What's an example of info you think they might not have? BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Sasa munataka tukule wapi jameni 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/8/2018 Posts: 2,211 Location: DC (Dustbowl County)
No wonder the attack happened. It was to usher these Big Brother manenos in just like 9-11 was used to usher so many civil liverties curtailing laws in the name of "security" 1. Pray tell if a national ID with unique fingerprint can be "forged" what makes the gava think unique identifier strings cannot be forged as well? 2. Who told them that a terrorist (whether gava sponsored, fake or real) who walks into Kenya with NO IDENTIFIER AT ALL will be stopped by this new initiative? 3. How does DNA, retina scan and GPS info help to catch a terrorist? Isn't this just a convenient excuse to gather more and more invasive information about Kenyan citizens? This is the same logic of those who say banning guns cuts crime yet even after the bans countries which do so still have gun crime problems because illegal guns are as easy as pie to get. This was a citizen surveillance scheme from day one. Americans have resisted this, Kenyans should resist it as well otherwise BOTH your privacy AND security are gone forever!
essyk wrote:murchr wrote:essyk wrote:murchr wrote:Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will mit be like those days when Jesus was born? LOL I like the initiative. But wouldn't it have been better to consolidate all docs (nhif nssf id dl pp etc) into one huduma thing. You only need to search ones full details using the digits on one of the cards. But again this is the same govt which cannot afford to pay ISPs. So expect services to be down for weeks once it kicks off and us going back to norm. If we want to go digital then we must heavily invest in IT as a country. Government should be its own ISP. What is lacking? money Really? While they can just hike your taxes? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:essyk wrote:murchr wrote:essyk wrote:murchr wrote:Sansa wrote:From what I hear, they will be collecting a lot of data i.e. DNA, retina scan, ear print for this ID. IF this is true that they want to gather this information, why can't they combine it in the National ID we already have? Also, where is this data being stored? Your national ID will also be included. But as you are aware there's too much ukora in the issuance of IDs so this should work well as a KEY ID while your passport, National ID DL serve as secondary IDs. Now since this will be done mashinani....will mit be like those days when Jesus was born? LOL I like the initiative. But wouldn't it have been better to consolidate all docs (nhif nssf id dl pp etc) into one huduma thing. You only need to search ones full details using the digits on one of the cards. But again this is the same govt which cannot afford to pay ISPs. So expect services to be down for weeks once it kicks off and us going back to norm. If we want to go digital then we must heavily invest in IT as a country. Government should be its own ISP. What is lacking? money Really? While they can just hike your taxes? You are soo right
Really ? We are discussing this ?? To be done by Jubilee ?? The idiots who don't even know how many KMs of tarmac they have done since they came to power. The clueless thieves who couldn't deliver laptops to kids ?? Our DCI doesn't have a DNA lab but we want to have a national DNA database.
Yenyewe ruling Africans is easy. Just throw a distraction and they will be lost discussing it for a year as you continue to loot.
Huduma ID