Kenya Uniforms for Schools
Have we run out of development and corruption tackling ideas or what exactly do we hope to achieve by this? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
A unform should be uniform. After the yellow school buses now all school uniforms will be uniform i.e. same colour and fabric. Nice move since some pupils have been feeling inferior and unhappy due to their dull uniforms. Also some parents are forced to travel all the way from shags to Nairobi to buy uniforms at specific shops since school heads have formed cartels with shop owners. Now parents will be able to buy uniforms where they live....or even sew uniforms for their kids as long as they buy the fabric. https://www.the-star.co....s-belio-kipsang_c1783738
Why should a parent in e.g. nakuru or kisumu be told that the school's unique uniform is only found at "School Outfitters" shop in Nairobi?
[quote=hardwood]A unform should be uniform. After the yellow school buses now all school uniforms will be uniform i.e. same colour and fabric. Nice move since some pupils have been feeling inferior and unhappy due to their dull uniforms. Also some parents are forced to travel all the way from shags to Nairobi to buy uniforms at specific shops since school heads have formed cartels with shop owners. Now parents will be able to buy uniforms where they live....or even sew uniforms for their kids as long as they buy the fabric. https://www.the-star.co....-belio-kipsang_c1783738[/quote] Good idea. Similar to prisoners, whether in Shimo-la-tewa, kapenguria, Kamiti or Kingongo, they are all clad in the same stripped Cotton. Students too should be uniform in uniform In our days, Khaki was khaki, and only sweaters differed. The shorts were as tough as buffallo skins and for whole of primo you only needed to replace once, majorly to factor physical growth and rarely wear and tear. Variety only came with the craftsmanship of the local tailor and not in colour. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Are these uniforms going to be centrally procured? I can imagine the chaos in inter-school events. Your buses look the same, your uniform too. Then you're a teacher looking for Brian of Form 3 West the Sports Prefect. You see 50 boys who look like Brian. Then you find him tuning a girl from a school you can't tell coz all uniforms are the same "Brian, I've been looking for you for hours!" He turns round, " We ni nani? Ama unataka dame yangu? Jipe shughuli" You move away embarrassed. Maybe that wasn't Brian. Brian isn't that red eyed. Even the nose. Is Brian's nose that broad?
Lolest! wrote:Are these uniforms going to be centrally procured?
I can imagine the chaos in inter-school events. Your buses look the same, your uniform too. Then you're a teacher looking for Brian of Form 3 West the Sports Prefect. You see 50 boys who look like Brian. Then you find him tuning a girl from a school you can't tell coz all uniforms are the same
"Brian, I've been looking for you for hours!"
He turns round, " We ni nani? Ama unataka dame yangu? Jipe shughuli"
You move away embarrassed. Maybe that wasn't Brian. Brian isn't that red eyed. Even the nose. Is Brian's nose that broad? They wont be centrally sourced. I think they will say that eg all shorts/skirts are grey, shirts/blouses blue and sweaters blue, socks grey with blue and white stripes. Then all parents have to do is walk into any shop and buy. Schools can then fix their school badges. Shida is what happens to all the other stock of different colours in shops.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
If whoever wants real uniform, then apeane free of charge to all students/pupils.
And then institute tough laws against modifications.
And then, all upper middle and 'VIP's make sure their children go to school here and wear the same uniform.
Otherwise hii ni very subtle oppression being advanced.
Then worse still, we have no clear and progressive philosophy of education that's worth this uniformity.
Home schooling pap!
This has got to be the dumbest idea! Yaani Amina thought deep and hard and came up with this madness. I thought she was smarter.
What do they hope to achieve? Will it improve grades or reduce indiscipline? Revive local industries? How about equality? I don't think so. We identify schools by their uniforms. Some schools lack basic infrastructure,learning tools, water. A uniform should be the least of our worries. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
hoping they will choose 'dirty' colour like scouts khaki cos maji ni sida. also the first set of uniform should be free and materials should be sourced from local textile industry punda amecheka
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Ii support the idea of one uniform for all schools in Kenya. Any parent will tell you how grueling it is when you change kids school and you are asked to buy not only uniform but also text books! It has become a business... I suggest we have one type for hot season, another for cold session and another for games. And we have a difference between primary and high school. All developed countries are doing this... China summer uniform whole country:  Mexican sports uniform: 
Sansa wrote:This has got to be the dumbest idea! Yaani Amina thought deep and hard and came up with this madness. I thought she was smarter. It is a parents' proposal according to makaratasi ya kufunga nyama. I care!
essyk wrote:Have we run out of development and corruption tackling ideas or what exactly do we hope to achieve by this? Did you listen to the parents' argument? It is ver valid. Thieving headteachers will have one thieving tap closed. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
True. The proposal came from the parents. https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
Quote:All primary and secondary school students could soon have common uniforms should a proposal by the Kenya Parents Association (KPA) is adopted. The KPA wants all students to wear similar colours, arguing that this would enhance student’s safety and cushion parents from exploitation. Basic Education Principal Secretar Belio Kipsang said the ministry was working on a policy to accommodate the parents’ proposal. “The suggestion came mainly from parents who have been complaining of exorbitant costs of buying school uniform from specific shops that have continued to monopolise the business. Their call is to come up with a uniform that can be bought from any shop,” said Dr Kipsang. The recommendations came up after a one-week workshop hosted by the parents’ association in Machakos County last week. “As parents, we are concerned with the safety of our children. This is one of the reasons that prompted us to seek a common uniform,” said the association’s chairman Nicholas Maiyo. The association suggested a grey uniform for primary schools and a blue one for secondary schools. The official said the one-uniform policy would dismantle cartels that worked closely with some head teachers to fleece parents through single-sourced uniforms. Similarly, the new proposal specifies how the students should wear their uniforms. “As per the recommendations, all girls’ uniforms will reach below the knee, “ said Maiyo. The association is upbeat that the proposal will sail through and that students will start wearing a common uniform by January 2019. Read more at: https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
hardwood wrote:True. The proposal came from the parents. https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
Quote:All primary and secondary school students could soon have common uniforms should a proposal by the Kenya Parents Association (KPA) is adopted. The KPA wants all students to wear similar colours, arguing that this would enhance student’s safety and cushion parents from exploitation. Basic Education Principal Secretar Belio Kipsang said the ministry was working on a policy to accommodate the parents’ proposal. “The suggestion came mainly from parents who have been complaining of exorbitant costs of buying school uniform from specific shops that have continued to monopolise the business. Their call is to come up with a uniform that can be bought from any shop,” said Dr Kipsang. The recommendations came up after a one-week workshop hosted by the parents’ association in Machakos County last week. “As parents, we are concerned with the safety of our children. This is one of the reasons that prompted us to seek a common uniform,” said the association’s chairman Nicholas Maiyo. The association suggested a grey uniform for primary schools and a blue one for secondary schools. The official said the one-uniform policy would dismantle cartels that worked closely with some head teachers to fleece parents through single-sourced uniforms. Similarly, the new proposal specifies how the students should wear their uniforms. “As per the recommendations, all girls’ uniforms will reach below the knee, “ said Maiyo. The association is upbeat that the proposal will sail through and that students will start wearing a common uniform by January 2019. Read more at: https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
I was not consulted. Let alone informed about this.Or we have 2 sets of parents? Eish. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
It's quite difficult to see how the problems of cost and possible corruption can be resolved by the offered solution.
Also, we aren't sure about how the proffered solution has been assessed for validity, and any emergent issues resolved.
Finally, it appears that the argument is, 'If the parents said x then the government must implement x'. I suspect that's a distortion of democracy.
AlphDoti wrote:Ii support the idea of one uniform for all schools in Kenya. Any parent will tell you how grueling it is when you change kids school and you are asked to buy not only uniform but also text books! It has become a business... I suggest we have one type for hot season, another for cold session and another for games. And we have a difference between primary and high school. All developed countries are doing this... China summer uniform whole country:  Mexican sports uniform:  One challenge in our world is to nurture children who are comfortable with working in a culture with great diversity. The virtues of uniform go against that. The mental attributes cultivated by such thinking need to changed. Even China may soon find itself changing such a policy.
We have long proposed that one way of improving local manufacturing and reduce unemployment is to ensure all uniforms for school children, uniformed forces, prisoners,etc are made in kenya by kenyans using cotton grown in kenya. Whetever they need to do to make this happen is long overdue.
They could even make many varieties of the uniforms for the different schools to choose from.
essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:True. The proposal came from the parents. https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
I was not consulted. Let alone informed about this.Or we have 2 sets of parents? Eish. When you elect leaders, to the Kenya Parents Association, you give them authority to make decisions on your behalf. It is assumed that you read their manifestos and you decided to elect them to represent you because their manifestos reflected your aspirations and therefore they may not need to consult you when making decisions.
hardwood wrote:essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:True. The proposal came from the parents. https://www.standardmedi...dents-wear-same-uniform
I was not consulted. Let alone informed about this.Or we have 2 sets of parents? Eish. When you elect leaders, to the Kenya Parents Association, you give them authority to make decisions on your behalf. It is assumed that you read their manifestos and you decided to elect them to represent you because their manifestos reflected your aspirations and therefore they may not need to consult you when making decisions. ??
Kenya Uniforms for Schools