wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

Kenyan English
#1 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 11:59:18 AM

In Kenyan English, a large number of speakers tend to omit articles in words that would otherwise need them. For example, when ordering at a fast food restaurant, a person may say "give me burger" or "I want burger" instead of "give me a burger" or "I want a burger". Similarly, the article "the" in Kenyan English is often used in cases that would otherwise be deemed inappropriate, especially with uncountable nouns. A good example would be adding the article "the" to the uncountable noun "mud" (for example, I stepped in the mud on my way home.)

A very large number of Kenyan English speakers often use "My names are…" when introducing themselves instead of "My name is…". For example, a person named John Omondi would introduce himself by saying "My names are John Omondi" instead of "My name is John Omondi". Again, this is especially prevalent in the rural areas and among the lower and lower-middle classes, but also depends on the ethnic origin of the speaker.

As mentioned before, there is a tendency to avoid the use of the relative pronoun "whose" in Kenyan English, where the use of the word would usually be replaced with "that". For example:

The man whose car I bought went to Mombasa last week. → The man that I bought a car from went to Mombasa last week.
The woman whose purse was stolen went to the police. → The woman that got/had her purse stolen went to the police.

wikipedia
#2 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 12:10:21 PM

Kenyan English often borrows vocabulary from local languages which would otherwise be difficult to translate to English, such as "ugali", "sukuma wiki" (collard greens) and "matatu". The wide use of Sheng in Kenya has also affected the vocabulary of Kenyan English speakers. White people in Kenya are often referred to as "mzungus" or "wazungus" (the word "mzungu" is Swahili for "white person"; its plural form is "wazungu"). Other borrowed terms include "pole pole" (Swahili for "slowly"; as a result some people also say "slowly slowly"), "Harambee", "nyama choma" (barbecued meat) and "nini" (used when one forgets the name of something; equivalent to the word "thingy", which is itself also widely used).[5][6]

nini, nani, si, halafu, kedo
#3 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 12:22:42 PM

"Sasa unataka sisi tufanye nini Jameni, What do you want us to do, eeh, eeh,"
#4 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 12:57:34 PM

#5 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 1:23:20 PM

Si you just endelea semaing words kama kawa.

Go slow slow
#6 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 1:25:54 PM

when growing up - i always felt kenyans spoke "neutral" english... sijui nani alitudangangaya!! we think in swahili and do a quick translation.

sasa unaenda wapi? - now...you are going where?
mwambie akuje - tell him to come
nilisikia dunia ikitingika, wewe uliskia? - i heard the ground shake, did you hear it?

not all of us suffer from this but a number do!

our pronunciation is also "ours"... we don't pronounce the "r" at the end of a word
CaR, (sounds Kaa) War (sounds Wo-oo), Work (sounds like wak), some people cannot differentiate "test" and "taste"; Herd and Heard; "hurt", "heart", "hut" and "hat"!
#7 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 1:57:11 PM

Si you just endelea semaing words kama kawa.

Go slow slow

Anaa thingy you forgot is "me I do bla bla bla..."

#8 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 2:02:46 PM

'me I like'....'me i think'....
#9 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 3:04:06 PM

Me I went and kutanaad with my grils, then we endaad westi, kunywad as they pikad food, had a great time, kunywad a bit more, malizad and endad home and lalad
#10 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 3:04:42 PM

#11 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 5:04:19 PM

While at it, given we are in an election year, should we say: Voted for Uhuru or Voted Uhuru?
#12 Posted : Sunday, April 22, 2018 10:02:51 AM

#13 Posted : Sunday, April 22, 2018 9:22:46 PM

when growing up - i always felt kenyans spoke "neutral" english... sijui nani alitudangangaya!! we think in swahili and do a quick translation.

nilisikia dunia ikitingika, wewe uliskia? - i heard the ground shake, did you hear it?

our pronunciation is also "ours"... we don't pronounce the "r" at the end of a word
CaR, (sounds Kaa) War (sounds Wo-oo), Work (sounds like wak), some people cannot differentiate "test" and "taste"; Herd and Heard; "hurt", "heart", "hut" and "hat"!

Too much wak! Bora one elewas what the other is semaing, ama?

#14 Posted : Sunday, April 22, 2018 10:35:34 PM

it waks ova hia! just hia!
#15 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 8:51:09 AM

English is a foreign language, why the hullabaloo? Use subtitles then or when necessary!!!
#16 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 10:18:39 AM

English is a foreign language, why the hullabaloo? Use subtitles then or when necessary!!!

the point of language is communication - if you don't communicate... it kinda beats the point... you are no different from this dude
#17 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 8:12:37 PM

So how does Kenyan English compare to English (England?) English? I want to correct their grammar since the English is wrong in this announcement of the birth today of a royal baby. The headline should read: The Duchess of Cambridge has delivered a son. I need to teach the Queen of England some English.

#18 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 8:58:12 PM

So how does Kenyan English compare to English (England?) English? I want to correct their grammar since the English is wrong in this announcement of the birth today of a royal baby. The headline should read: The Duchess of Cambridge has delivered a son. I need to teach the Queen of England some English.

Yaani the Brits don't use Kgs as a unit? Where did we get it from?
gk
#19 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 9:37:11 PM

Not quite!
The wording is correct but rather archaic which is in line with the Royal way of doing things.
#20 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 9:50:11 PM

LOL.

They doesn't.. famous with kyuks.