Culture
Spraying Money
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Perhaps nothing infuriates me more than the West African culture of Money Spraying... I know it's not my money... pilipili ya mwenzio ya kuwashia nini? pops into your head But i think it's a practice is proof to the existence of a cultural problem. There is a void we are trying to fix. I remember a certain line that changed the way I look at money... Quote:Money is Ammo. Bullets in the clip, to discharge when the target presents. and also Quote:Money certainly flows where it is treated well this is really subjective but if you think this practice is OK and that the government or some politician who doesn't know you is the reason "we are poor". You don't understand wealth. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
'Consumerism' is a form of 'spraying money' yet I suppose its part of the meaning of 'wealthy'...
The politician I blame for 'us' being poor is part of the controls that spur wealth.
Therefore, I support the money spraying, and I blame my poverty on the politico.
It's difficult to say that such a position doesn't entail an understanding of wealth.
tycho wrote:'Consumerism' is a form of 'spraying money' yet I suppose its part of the meaning of 'wealthy'...
The politician I blame for 'us' being poor is part of the controls that spur wealth.
Therefore, I support the money spraying, and I blame my poverty on the politico.
It's difficult to say that such a position doesn't entail an understanding of wealth. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
As long as its not dollars, you can go there and buy a few wheel barrows of CFA and splash the same. Ama uende kwa Mugabe. Its culture, some people might also look at the way we conduct our harambees with the brown envelopes and say its shocking to display money that way. Ama the way Sonko does.
kiash wrote:As long as its not dollars, you can go there and buy a few wheel barrows of CFA and splash the same. Ama uende kwa Mugabe. Its culture, some people might also look at the way we conduct our harambees with the brown envelopes and say its shocking to display money that way. Ama the way Sonko does. Exactly, where the bigger/larger the envelope, you are presumed to be the 'best' In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
i just think it's not the act 'per se' that is wrong it's the mindset it betrays! I think human brains are all the same (more or less) but the formatting is what differentiates people... actions like these expose a certain kind of formatting.... anyway... i could be wrong... All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
There is nothing wrong with this ...... holding a bash for somebody you love. We do it all the time, kiwango ndiye different!!! If you are spending your money and you can afford, go ahead and do it ..... In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:There is nothing wrong with this ...... holding a bash for somebody you love. We do it all the time, kiwango ndiye different!!! If you are spending your money and you can afford, go ahead and do it ..... Word... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:There is nothing wrong with this ...... holding a bash for somebody you love. We do it all the time, kiwango ndiye different!!! If you are spending your money and you can afford, go ahead and do it ..... Word... i get it... i am still trying to figure out why i am pissed at it! not sure where the line between celebration and waste lies in a context like ours. but yeah... nilisema pesa ni yake - unaruhusa ya kufanya vile unataka nayo. perhaps it's people not realising that these actions are what makes a society not wealthy. each generations raises wealth and burns it down... aka splurging. perhaps i am thinking like this guy as a people we are starting the race a the back - why would we handicap ourselves? government doesn't develop any place... the formation of government has always been a response by people who want to organize themselves. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
or maybe this urban legend (some attribute it to that Hong Kong dude) Quote:Why are blacks not wealthy
Excerpts from an interview with a Jewish leader about Blacks.
INTERVIEWER: Why are blacks so behind Economically?
JEWISH LEADER: The only thing blacks understand is Consumption.
Blacks don't understand the importance of creating and building wealth.
The fundamental rule is to keep your money within your racial group.
We the Jews - build Jewish business, - hire Jewish, - buy Jewish and - spend Jewish. There is nothing wrong with that but it is a basic rule blacks cannot comprehend and follow;
"He kills his fellow blacks daily instead of wanting to see his fellow black do succeed"
93% of blacks killed in America are by other blacks.
Their leaders steal from their people and send the money back to their colonial master from whom they borrow the same money from.
Every successful black wants to spend his money in the country of his colonial masters.
They - go on holiday abroad, - buy houses abroad, - school abroad, - go for medical treatment abroad etc
instead of spending this money in their own country to benefit their people.
Statistics show that the Jew's money exchanges hands 18 times before leaving his community while for blacks it is probably a maximum of once or even zero.
Only 6% of black money goes back into their community. This is why Jews are at the top and blacks are at the bottom of every ladder of society.
Instead of buying - Louis Vuitton, - Hermes, - expensive cars, - shoes, -houses, -dresses etc,
Blacks could - industralize Africa, - build banks and get rid of colonial institutions by putting them out of business.
INTERVIEWER: What is your thought on failure of blacks after 150yrs?
JEWISH LEADER: Well, nothing is ever the blackman's fault. His -compulsive habit of killing his own, - compulsive material consumption. -His inability to build businesses or -preserve wealth are usually somebody else's fault.
INTERVIEWER: So what can blacks do to liberate themselves
JEWISH LEADER: Blacks must take responsibility. Blacks must unite. And vehemently fight corrupt leaders who run down their country and run to IMF as though IMF is Father Christmas.
They need to look inwards otherwise they will continuously remain colonized and lose their place in history.
Pls forward this until it goes round the continent of Africa.
We all need to learn our lessons quick and build our Nation. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Or perhaps I have read this and taken it seriously... https://careerlanenigeri...-evans-company-2009.pdf
You want to develop... it comes from you and your community acting organized! Wazungu built their countries for their staying... their dwelling... sisi ni kama tuko job hapa! kusanya dough - bail out!! move from Donni or Ronga to where the whites live. I guess it's too much work to organize. it's never that we are not talented - anyone here who has worked with mzungus or indians or chinese can tell you we can hold our own intellectually BUT we cannot organize as well. So it's poverty to riches.. burn it up and transfer very little... shirt sleeve to shirt sleeve in three generations and of course the toxic mystery of the crab in a bucket mentality! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:There is nothing wrong with this ...... holding a bash for somebody you love. We do it all the time, kiwango ndiye different!!! If you are spending your money and you can afford, go ahead and do it ..... Nothing wrong, technically. Its just crass. These are grown men and women. Washing hands with champagne? Please. Then there is all this nonsense about these parties being private, and the hosts making "efforts" to make it appear exclusive and information scant, only for someone to "leak" details of it, who attended, what they were doing and how much was spent, detailed photographs also provided. I admire their purchasing power, not enamoured with the stupidity that came tacked on. All in all, the proprietor of the place must have made a tidy sum. Silver lining.
masukuma wrote:or maybe this urban legend (some attribute it to that Hong Kong dude) Quote:Why are blacks not wealthy
Excerpts from an interview with a Jewish leader about Blacks.
INTERVIEWER: Why are blacks so behind Economically?
JEWISH LEADER: The only thing blacks understand is Consumption.
Blacks don't understand the importance of creating and building wealth.
The fundamental rule is to keep your money within your racial group.
We the Jews - build Jewish business, - hire Jewish, - buy Jewish and - spend Jewish. There is nothing wrong with that but it is a basic rule blacks cannot comprehend and follow;
"He kills his fellow blacks daily instead of wanting to see his fellow black do succeed"
93% of blacks killed in America are by other blacks.
Their leaders steal from their people and send the money back to their colonial master from whom they borrow the same money from.
Every successful black wants to spend his money in the country of his colonial masters.
They - go on holiday abroad, - buy houses abroad, - school abroad, - go for medical treatment abroad etc
instead of spending this money in their own country to benefit their people.
Statistics show that the Jew's money exchanges hands 18 times before leaving his community while for blacks it is probably a maximum of once or even zero.
Only 6% of black money goes back into their community. This is why Jews are at the top and blacks are at the bottom of every ladder of society.
Instead of buying - Louis Vuitton, - Hermes, - expensive cars, - shoes, -houses, -dresses etc,
Blacks could - industralize Africa, - build banks and get rid of colonial institutions by putting them out of business.
INTERVIEWER: What is your thought on failure of blacks after 150yrs?
JEWISH LEADER: Well, nothing is ever the blackman's fault. His -compulsive habit of killing his own, - compulsive material consumption. -His inability to build businesses or -preserve wealth are usually somebody else's fault.
INTERVIEWER: So what can blacks do to liberate themselves
JEWISH LEADER: Blacks must take responsibility. Blacks must unite. And vehemently fight corrupt leaders who run down their country and run to IMF as though IMF is Father Christmas.
They need to look inwards otherwise they will continuously remain colonized and lose their place in history.
Pls forward this until it goes round the continent of Africa.
We all need to learn our lessons quick and build our Nation. I am 100% sure this was not written by a jew. Most likely some Some frustrated African somewhere. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
quicksand wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:There is nothing wrong with this ...... holding a bash for somebody you love. We do it all the time, kiwango ndiye different!!! If you are spending your money and you can afford, go ahead and do it ..... Nothing wrong, technically. Its just crass. These are grown men and women. Washing hands with champagne? Please. Then there is all this nonsense about these parties being private, and the hosts making "efforts" to make it appear exclusive and information scant, only for someone to "leak" details of it, who attended, what they were doing and how much was spent, detailed photographs also provided. I admire their purchasing power, not enamoured with the stupidity that came tacked on. All in all, the proprietor of the place must have made a tidy sum. Silver lining. Whats even more disappointing is their complete lack of class!!! How do you close a bar to buy Jameson,, JAMESON.... the cheapest entry level whiskey in the world "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
With the levels of poverty being experienced by our own clans men I wouldn't advocate for such parties being made public. You are free to spend but I know this nugu has cousins and aunties suffering extreme poverty. Most of the other nugus being entertained are just friends who would scatter the moment this chief nugu goes bankrupt. was happy to see in the news that the mzee who won 20m on a bet held a party for relatives and fellow villagers. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Kwani you guys don't hold bashes? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
@Angelica, even I get embarrassed if I were to unleash Jameson in my bashes, i always make it clear that the Jameson is for those who like to mix their whiskey with soda. Offcourse I don't stop but get offended when people mix my single malts with soda "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Offcourse I don't stop but get offended when people mix my single malts with soda Your guests should determine the alcohol you intend to serve. Why waste the good stuff on people who want to get blackout drunk?
Hahah at Obi touché, I once hosted a drink-up (too-old for bashes)sometime in August and some dude was mixing laphroaig (triple wood) with COKE!! I felt like had been stabbed, WTH.. I don't pay too much attention to such sensationalist headlines - the champagne he is washing his hands with is CAVA-notice its pink-ish nature (entry level champagne) C. $6/7 per bottle. I can see several shisha units - well enough said!! So hard to see this being a 2.5M party, if I was her I would ask for a better Ombre Brazilian weave - Wht she has is Indian -peddled by Naijjas locally. The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Culture
Spraying Money