Culture
Season 1- KCB Lions Den
Okay here we go season 1 begins after an unexplained postponement; let's see how good it is
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
So now no more Shark Tank? I miss the original
True to form, John Rabar of Homeboyz, most established entrepreneur of the bunch and makes the only 2 deals on the premier. The hustlers need to up their game.
But that comic guy should thank his stars, he seemed too taken by Olive.
The first episode didn't grab me enough to hurry home to watch next time - the slog begins.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
be serious muganda. $1000? Please get real sharks here. There are guys at VC level who can invest in an idea. Not pretent to give someone $1k take 20% of his company and end up as an employee. But I'll watch it coz I like good ideas. Like the banana one and the recycling one. The one on microdots was not an idea it was a distributorship for a company in the US. Let's be serious for once shall we? Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:be serious muganda. $1000?
Please get real sharks here. There are guys at VC level who can invest in an idea. Not pretent to give someone $1k take 20% of his company and end up as an employee.
But I'll watch it coz I like good ideas. Like the banana one and the recycling one.
The one on microdots was not an idea it was a distributorship for a company in the US.
Let's be serious for once shall we? $1,000? Are you kidding? I should also be a shark! How do I get on the programme? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
KCB sent me a text that woke me up @ 2.20 am today. It was notifying me about their new show. But I'd already watched it Anyway, it wasn't bad if one hasn't watched Shark Tank. Because you start doing comparisons and seeing where they did direct copy pastes But it's a good start.
Swenani wrote:alma1 wrote:be serious muganda. $1000?
Please get real sharks here. There are guys at VC level who can invest in an idea. Not pretent to give someone $1k take 20% of his company and end up as an employee.
But I'll watch it coz I like good ideas. Like the banana one and the recycling one.
The one on microdots was not an idea it was a distributorship for a company in the US.
Let's be serious for once shall we? $1,000? Are you kidding? I should also be a shark! How do I get on the programme? I thought you were a shark to your betting boys ama kuliendaje In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
They need to get serious investors on the show. You can't have someone asking for 50% of the company for an investment of 100k. That's just absurd. Other than that Chandaria dude (daddy's money), none of those investors have deep enough pockets to make worthwhile deals. This show will fizzle out soon because people want to see real deals. As soon as that one guy asked for a 50 million investment I knew he wouldn't get it because that amount might be one of the investor's whole net worth. Lol. Get the Kirubis, Vimal Shahs, Jimnah Mbarus and people like that who have the capability of dropping 100m on a great idea and maybe it will elicit more excitement. These lions are wannabes.
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:alma1 wrote:be serious muganda. $1000?
Let's be serious for once shall we? $1,000? Are you kidding? I should also be a shark! How do I get on the programme? I thought you were a shark to your betting boys ama kuliendaje There was a communication hitch and money transfer issue, they stopped picking my calls and remitting my hard earned returns to my mpesa line If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:alma1 wrote:be serious muganda. $1000?
Let's be serious for once shall we? $1,000? Are you kidding? I should also be a shark! How do I get on the programme? I thought you were a shark to your betting boys ama kuliendaje @Alma good points; the guy offered what was asked in each case though @hamburglar the Homeboyz guy has built a KShs Shs 500m - 1bn business with twelve subsidiaries
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
hamburglar wrote:They need to get serious investors on the show. You can't have someone asking for 50% of the company for an investment of 100k. That's just absurd. Other than that Chandaria dude (daddy's money), none of those investors have deep enough pockets to make worthwhile deals. This show will fizzle out soon because people want to see real deals. As soon as that one guy asked for a 50 million investment I knew he wouldn't get it because that amount might be one of the investor's whole net worth. Lol. Get the Kirubis, Vimal Shahs, Jimnah Mbarus and people like that who have the capability of dropping 100m on a great idea and maybe it will elicit more excitement. These lions are wannabes. caught it midway and found this character... i giggled internally.... 50M???? KES? for what? 10% of the company? then you send the bizDev guy? I thought they were not serious but i remembered something... there are guys who go to these places to catch eye balls - they know they won't get the deal - THEY DON'T WANT THE DEAL. they want to catch the eyeballs of the viewers. I have forgotten the word akina Cuban use for that kind of play. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
I am all for this show. But The producers have to be serious. I guess we are going to get all sorts of characters in this show. From those who don't even have a product to those that want publicity as Masukuma said. For us to get serious businesses showing up, the producers do have to be serious about their show. For example, get rid of calling it KCB anything. Otherwise it starts sounding like one of KCB's products. And we all know how fogothari they are. Just like the original shark tank, let no one play around with your idea. Otherwise next year we shall have Equity Shark Tank and Citizen Fish Tank. Second, please get REAL investors. It's true, the only investor up there is Rabar. The rest are just promoting their businesses. It's as if they got fellows from their drinking clubs to show up. "Hey, would you like to be a shark? Ohh, sure!" Producers should also vet the entrants. I wonder if its true that the entrants had to first get a KCB account. Please say its not true. A guy asking for 1k dollars is not a business, that's an idea. Kind of what I do with failing websites. lol And please get these fellows asking questions. Not telling us that it doesn't look good. To whom? I wondered why they did not interrogate the paper fellow. He had revenues of 50m per year. Sure his product was not perfect, but that's the whole reason for a VC...Or are these fellows trying to change what VC means. If the producers do not get their act together in the second season, this will end up like vioja mahakamani. But I'm happy to see the VC market opening up in this country. A lot of young people have great ideas but no visibility. Great start but terrible cast of sharks. I wouldn't pitch to those fellows my Tomato greenhouse. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
hamburglar wrote:They need to get serious investors on the show. You can't have someone asking for 50% of the company for an investment of 100k. That's just absurd. Other than that Chandaria dude (daddy's money), none of those investors have deep enough pockets to make worthwhile deals. This show will fizzle out soon because people want to see real deals. As soon as that one guy asked for a 50 million investment I knew he wouldn't get it because that amount might be one of the investor's whole net worth. Lol. Get the Kirubis, Vimal Shahs, Jimnah Mbarus and people like that who have the capability of dropping 100m on a great idea and maybe it will elicit more excitement. These lions are wannabes.  wacha za below mbelt we are not a risk taking people, and failure is looked at with utter contempt, our billionaires or our half billionaires are busy buying up land in tatu and some plots huko ngamia 1 and 2, the others are busy thinking about financial institution pyramid schemes to milk the poor. But as someone has put it, this ka funding thing is starting to show up, and it can only be a good thing going forward
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Very true, these sharks have no teeth but the idea, though a franchise or copy of the Dragon's Den is brilliant. I agree with @alama, this mambo of opening accounts is nonsense but struggling NTV can't pull this without a sponsor. I would close that account immediately after. I like the Chandaria guy,he's very objective and realistic. BBI will solve it :)
masukuma wrote:hamburglar wrote:They need to get serious investors on the show. You can't have someone asking for 50% of the company for an investment of 100k. That's just absurd. Other than that Chandaria dude (daddy's money), none of those investors have deep enough pockets to make worthwhile deals. This show will fizzle out soon because people want to see real deals. As soon as that one guy asked for a 50 million investment I knew he wouldn't get it because that amount might be one of the investor's whole net worth. Lol. Get the Kirubis, Vimal Shahs, Jimnah Mbarus and people like that who have the capability of dropping 100m on a great idea and maybe it will elicit more excitement. These lions are wannabes. caught it midway and found this character... i giggled internally.... 50M???? KES? for what? 10% of the company? then you send the bizDev guy? I thought they were not serious but i remembered something... there are guys who go to these places to catch eye balls - they know they won't get the deal - THEY DON'T WANT THE DEAL. they want to catch the eyeballs of the viewers. I have forgotten the word akina Cuban use for that kind of play. I beg to differ. That Echo Mobile guy actually had a very reasonable deal on the table. The biz grew by 150% in a year to 100m turnover, and he offered 50m for 25%(total value 250m). Very reasonable deal, and I'm sure if he keeps looking amongst serious VCs he'll scoop a deal within the year. The issue was not with him. The issue was, as hamburglar said, that these Lions are not heavy hitters. Only Kris and Myke are seasoned veterans in business with deep pockets. Darshan, while he has the might of daddy's money behind him, is still a newbie in the business world. Olive and Wandia are babies who have been in business barely three years, pengine it's the sponsors footing the bill for them. Unfortunately I think it's hard to get the real kahunas of Kenya to come on such a show. Their wealth is usually tainted and thus they shun publicity. I'm also not sure KCB would want to be associated with some of them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Very few of the deals struck during Shark tank come good. Most are dropped after due diligence. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Mike Ock wrote:masukuma wrote:hamburglar wrote:They need to get serious investors on the show. You can't have someone asking for 50% of the company for an investment of 100k. That's just absurd. Other than that Chandaria dude (daddy's money), none of those investors have deep enough pockets to make worthwhile deals. This show will fizzle out soon because people want to see real deals. As soon as that one guy asked for a 50 million investment I knew he wouldn't get it because that amount might be one of the investor's whole net worth. Lol. Get the Kirubis, Vimal Shahs, Jimnah Mbarus and people like that who have the capability of dropping 100m on a great idea and maybe it will elicit more excitement. These lions are wannabes. caught it midway and found this character... i giggled internally.... 50M???? KES? for what? 10% of the company? then you send the bizDev guy? I thought they were not serious but i remembered something... there are guys who go to these places to catch eye balls - they know they won't get the deal - THEY DON'T WANT THE DEAL. they want to catch the eyeballs of the viewers. I have forgotten the word akina Cuban use for that kind of play. I beg to differ. That Echo Mobile guy actually had a very reasonable deal on the table. The biz grew by 150% in a year to 100m turnover, and he offered 50m for 25%(total value 250m). Very reasonable deal, and I'm sure if he keeps looking amongst serious VCs he'll scoop a deal within the year. The issue was not with him. The issue was, as hamburglar said, that these Lions are not heavy hitters. Only Kris and Myke are seasoned veterans in business with deep pockets. Darshan, while he has the might of daddy's money behind him, is still a newbie in the business world. Olive and Wandia are babies who have been in business barely three years, pengine it's the sponsors footing the bill for them. Unfortunately I think it's hard to get the real kahunas of Kenya to come on such a show. Their wealth is usually tainted and thus they shun publicity. I'm also not sure KCB would want to be associated with some of them. what i think made me suspicious was THEY SENT A BIZ DEV GUY!! not the founder... an employee... the sales guy? They are fishing for eye balls! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
kaka2za wrote:Very few of the deals struck during Shark tank come good. Most are dropped after due diligence. Are you sure? WHO DARES WINS
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
marko wrote:kaka2za wrote:Very few of the deals struck during Shark tank come good. Most are dropped after due diligence. Are you sure? The handshake is not the deal. Many deals struck on the show actually fall apart. Once the handshake is over, the real negotiating begins. http://www.bloomberg.com...rds-of-deals-fall-apart
http://qz.com/696123/sha...yths-about-the-hit-show/Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Culture
Season 1- KCB Lions Den