wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Of mini-skirts and skanty dresses as being un-African
#1 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 11:30:10 AM

A traditional Kikuyu wedding Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
T-Bag
#2 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 12:48:13 PM

Enlightening! I Like. The man looks beaten-up (though dressed)while the woman looks(under dressed) macho..n confident..It has always been the man who has problems with womens' dress code...wonder why
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
#3 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 12:54:40 PM

There is nothing Gikuyu about that couple. From looks to their attires(The little they havesmile )
#4 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 1:05:21 PM

There is nothing Gikuyu about that couple. From looks to their attires(The little they havesmile )

These are so nilotic!
#5 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 1:06:34 PM

T-Bag wrote:
Enlightening! I Like. The man looks beaten-up (though dressed)while the woman looks(under dressed) macho..n confident..It has always been the man who has problems with womens' dress code...wonder why

possibly because he is prone to "rising" to the occasion and he has been socialized that the "rising" is evil.
wanyee
#6 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 5:13:03 PM

This big Victorian puritanism missionary myth bubble that seems to engulf even intelects in Africa and Kenya buffles me aki just in the 50's we were all nude and semi nude
#7 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 7:00:33 PM

T-Bag wrote:

possibly because he is prone to "rising" to the occasion and he has been socialized that the "rising" is evil.

#8 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 9:19:22 PM

Almost all communities used to be semi nude. The Brits forced us to dress because they thought we were indecent. Now they want us to be semi nude again.

By the way akina mathukuma, what does culture consist of? Pre colonial Kenyans wore like that while in 2016 watu wanavaa marinda na ghadhaligha. Our dressing in 1900 cannot be said to be our culture IMHO. It's past practices. Our culture is what we do now. Like having bashes, nyamchom plots, dowry negotiations honoured by cash/mpesa, hooting,kufungua soda, white wedding...facebooking, whatsapping, embracing forms of Christianity and Islam...

This is our culture
#9 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2016 9:46:08 PM

Almost all communities used to be semi nude. The Brits forced us to dress because they thought we were indecent. Now they want us to be semi nude again.

By the way akina mathukuma, what does culture consist of? Pre colonial Kenyans wore like that while in 2016 watu wanavaa marinda na ghadhaligha. Our dressing in 1900 cannot be said to be our culture IMHO. It's past practices. Our culture is what we do now. Like having bashes, nyamchom plots, dowry negotiations honoured by cash/mpesa, hooting,kufungua soda, white wedding...facebooking, whatsapping, embracing forms of Christianity and Islam...

This is our culture

I agree! culture is not static - it's dynamic and moves over time. Culture is what you do without thinking - your default response to stimuli. The photo above was just to spite the statement "it's unafrican to do XYZ". Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly people should just come clean and say it makes me uncomfortable to see girls in short skirts... sikulelewa hivyo!! - I am not used to seeing bouncy bosoms walking the streets or seeing legs above the knee. it makes me uncomfortable. let's not hide behind statements like "it's unafrican".
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 7:15:03 AM

T-Bag wrote:

that photo tells all about the origins of the wangu wa makeri myth.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 1:45:27 PM

Who has been in areas of Lokitaung, Kaikor or Kibish and get to see the dress code?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 2:36:20 PM

Coolio wrote:
Who has been in areas of Lokitaung, Kaikor or Kibish and get to see the dress code?

I was in Lokitaung, todonyang and kibish and felt sexually harassed with all the tits staring at me.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 2:48:01 PM

Coolio wrote:

Is ndethe a dress code?smile
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 3:23:18 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Really?? I think we were a much happier society before the white man arrived.

#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 3:41:29 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Huyo ameinama kuangalia?
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 3:59:06 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Huyo ameinama kuangalia?

hehehe.... tulikuwa hivi WOTE!!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 4:40:37 PM

Coolio wrote:

Meb wear an oversize shirt without a kamenyereri while women dorn a muthuru without covering chest!
Wamunyota
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 5:00:22 PM

Coolio wrote:

Meb wear an oversize shirt without a kamenyereri while women dorn a muthuru without covering chest!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Yenyewe you are true veteran.The last time I heard those words...smile
Hutia Mundu!!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 7:59:34 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Wow i envy that crowbar!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2016 8:24:37 PM

Coolio wrote:
T-Bag wrote:

Wow i envy that crowbar!

It is those "crowbars" that made the white man force the black man to dress up. He couldn't believe that endowment. Compe was yuu sana. I bet @angelica is feeling tingly kwa some place i won't mention, lest I am usered.