Which Brilliant Mind Came up With the ICT Bill?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
I really would like to know the thinking behind the suggested ICT bill coming up in a parliament near you. Ati we have a board of gov't appointees, old geezers, and guys who have never seen a laptop deciding who can and should not practise as an IT professional. Worse, they don't even say what IT professional means. To say that I'm mad is an understatement. First we had the security bill, now we have a bill that states that if you don't have a license from the gov't you can not do anything IT related. Yaani even the current CS does not have sort of license of whatever kind to practise with this ambigous radioactive law. Worse, Bill Gates having not cleared university would never have started Microsoft. That other fellow from Apple would not have existed. Paypal, Tesla, yaani even Uber would need their owners to be licensed by the gov't of Kenya. Let me say this with fear, this law is worse than the security law. Simply because it shall effectively kill any innovation from the young guys and gals coding in the cyber. They won't be allowed to get jobs unless they have a license. What?!!! Ati you get a degree from a university in Kenya where the lecturer does not even own a laptop. Madness I tell you madness. I'm saying this knowing fully well that I qualify based on the draft. Actually more qualified with legit papers from international bodies than the fellows who came with this one. But never ever in my career have I ever been asked for my license, my papers etc worldwide. I have never even considered that as a reason to hire anyone. Hii ni Kenya tu. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
Do you have a link to the bill? I work in IT but my education background is not related at all. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Here's the link to the bill http://kenyalaw.org/kl/f...titioners_Bill_2016.pdf
Please note the wholesome defination of ICT at the very beginning. "Information Communication Technology (ICT)" means technologies employed in collecting, storing, processing, using or sending out information and include those involving the use of computers, mobile apparatus or any telecommunication system; If you think you are safe, the think again. Even bloggers will have to get a license. If you work at the tweeterer for your company, that license shall be mandatory. If this is not the very definition of far reaching depending on who hates you. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:Here's the link to the bill http://kenyalaw.org/kl/f...titioners_Bill_2016.pdf
Please note the wholesome defination of ICT at the very beginning. "Information Communication Technology (ICT)" means technologies employed in collecting, storing, processing, using or sending out information and include those involving the use of computers, mobile apparatus or any telecommunication system; If you think you are safe, the think again. Even bloggers will have to get a license. If you work at the tweeterer for your company, that license shall be mandatory. If this is not the very definition of far reaching depending on who hates you. That definition would include anyone who uses a computer or phone. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
When did government laws start establishing monopolies Quote:(e) five persons of good professional standing nominated by the Information Communication Technology Association of Kenya; and (0 the chief executive officer, who shall be appointed by the Council through an open, ffansparent and competitive recruitment process, and who shall be the secretary to the Council. For those in the IT field, can you please advise us newbies who the hell the Information Communication Technology Association of Kenya is? Their very website makes me wonder how authoritative they really are in IT matters. Who are the founders, who are the members, elections etc? Why are they so important that they are included in a law when we have other associations competing in the same field? I don't know what to say about this. Afadhali tuendelee na hii kazi yetu hapa tu. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
alma1 wrote:I really would like to know the thinking behind the suggested ICT bill coming up in a parliament near you.
Ati we have a board of gov't appointees, old geezers, and guys who have never seen a laptop deciding who can and should not practise as an IT professional. Worse, they don't even say what IT professional means.
To say that I'm mad is an understatement. First we had the security bill, now we have a bill that states that if you don't have a license from the gov't you can not do anything IT related.
Yaani even the current CS does not have sort of license of whatever kind to practise with this ambigous radioactive law.
Worse, Bill Gates having not cleared university would never have started Microsoft. That other fellow from Apple would not have existed. Paypal, Tesla, yaani even Uber would need their owners to be licensed by the gov't of Kenya.
Let me say this with fear, this law is worse than the security law. Simply because it shall effectively kill any innovation from the young guys and gals coding in the cyber. They won't be allowed to get jobs unless they have a license. What?!!!
Ati you get a degree from a university in Kenya where the lecturer does not even own a laptop.
Madness I tell you madness.
I'm saying this knowing fully well that I qualify based on the draft. Actually more qualified with legit papers from international bodies than the fellows who came with this one.
But never ever in my career have I ever been asked for my license, my papers etc worldwide. I have never even considered that as a reason to hire anyone.
Hii ni Kenya tu. Wait ati if I have to do IT stuff I have to go apply for license?
enyands wrote:alma1 wrote:I really would like to know the thinking behind the suggested ICT bill coming up in a parliament near you.
Ati we have a board of gov't appointees, old geezers, and guys who have never seen a laptop deciding who can and should not practise as an IT professional. Worse, they don't even say what IT professional means.
To say that I'm mad is an understatement. First we had the security bill, now we have a bill that states that if you don't have a license from the gov't you can not do anything IT related.
Yaani even the current CS does not have sort of license of whatever kind to practise with this ambigous radioactive law.
Worse, Bill Gates having not cleared university would never have started Microsoft. That other fellow from Apple would not have existed. Paypal, Tesla, yaani even Uber would need their owners to be licensed by the gov't of Kenya.
Let me say this with fear, this law is worse than the security law. Simply because it shall effectively kill any innovation from the young guys and gals coding in the cyber. They won't be allowed to get jobs unless they have a license. What?!!!
Ati you get a degree from a university in Kenya where the lecturer does not even own a laptop.
Madness I tell you madness.
I'm saying this knowing fully well that I qualify based on the draft. Actually more qualified with legit papers from international bodies than the fellows who came with this one.
But never ever in my career have I ever been asked for my license, my papers etc worldwide. I have never even considered that as a reason to hire anyone.
Hii ni Kenya tu. Wait ati if I have to do IT stuff I have to go apply for license? Yes and to do IT stuff you have to have a recognized degree or diploma. eeisshh and you can see their definition of IT stuff. Even my mother does IT stuff with that definition. I don't know what to tell the digital government. There can be no monopoly of the information age. That's the very reason its called the information age. Digital my foot. Do they know how many young Kenyans went digital straight from their bedrooms? Even the hacker with 2pm gang started in his bedroom not an institution of lower learning. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Quote:21. (l) A licence granted under this Act shall be valid for one year, for the duration between the lst January and 31st December in every year, and may, upon expiry, be renewed. Fees, fees, fees... In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
This draft may be a prompt for civil disobedience and rebellion. Some, like me would gladly die than suffer this kind of tyranny that the drafters would like to introduce.
The draft may radicalize so many of us, and given that we have so many youth, the government may be calling for conflict for a long time to come.
Let me give at least one reason for this: everything is going digital and ICT intensive, so will a citizen need a government license to exercise his/her rights? In this bill the government will be subverting the constitution and hence citizens must resist such attempts vigorously!
some guys there trying to create a monument..... and they must be having a mole or mole in parliament as founders of this ICTAK thing... i would have expected the ICT Authority. And who needs registration to do ICT business? When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
alma1 wrote:Here's the link to the bill http://kenyalaw.org/kl/f...titioners_Bill_2016.pdf
Please note the wholesome defination of ICT at the very beginning. "Information Communication Technology (ICT)" means technologies employed in collecting, storing, processing, using or sending out information and include those involving the use of computers, mobile apparatus or any telecommunication system; If you think you are safe, the think again. Even bloggers will have to get a license. If you work at the tweeterer for your company, that license shall be mandatory. If this is not the very definition of far reaching depending on who hates you. Will this require me to have license in order to post in wazua? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
This bill is a product of a lawyer's head! tell the f**king lawyers to stick to their tracks. We don't want them putting their ugly noses into our business... Licence fees!! what is wrong with people? These types of laws bar entry and choke nascent industries and kill innovation. You know unlike every other profession I know - on seeing something new, Lawyers ask themselves - is it legal? instead of is it useful? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2011 Posts: 391 Location: Nairobi
The worst thing is this may be passed .... "You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
What is the objective of this "practitioners institute"? Quote: 6. The functions of the Institute shall be to- (a) establish standards of professional competence and practice amongst members of the Institute; HOW?
(b) protect, assist and educate the public in Kenya in all matters touching, ancillary or incidental to the profession of ICT; Conduct of business and affairs of the Council.
(c) represent, protect and assist members of the profession of ICT in Kenya in respect of conditions of practice and otherwise;
(d) approve courses for purposes of registration of ICT Practitioners under this Act; (e) administer such examinations as may be necessary to determine whether persons are qualified for registration under this Act; Ok so universities are not enough
(f) register and licence ICT practitioners for the purposes of this Act upon payment of the prescribed fees;
(g) collaborate with training institutions, professional associations and other relevant bodies in matters relating to training and professional development of ICT practitioners; (h) determine the fees to be charged by ICT practitioners and firms for professional services rendered from time to time; TOTAL HOGWASH (i) upon request, to act as an arbitrator in any disputes between a licensed ICT Practitioner and a client; (j) advise the Cabinet Secretary on appropriate policies and programs governing the profession of ICT in Kenya; (k) supervise the professional conduct and practice of ICT practitioners and to take the necessary disciplinary measures in cases of violations of professional conduct and discipline; (l) plan, arrange, co-ordinate and oversee continuing professional training and development of ICT practitioners. I hope they mean practitioners working in govt (m)promote the international recognition of the Institute; (n) carry out any other functions prescribed for it under any of the other provisions of this Act or under any other written law. Bull crap, by the time they complete debating this the courses that they approve will be obsolete. This is just another way of fleecing the public. Someone is trying to copy and paste the LSK stuff to IT. Bure kabisa"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:What is the objective of this "practitioners institute"? You know when you read this bill word for word you get a migrane that a doctor can't cure. Only Konyagi Part of their duties is Quote:() advise the Cabinet Secretary on appropriate policies and programs governing the profession of ICT in Kenya; (k) supervise the professional conduct and practice of ICT practitioners and to take the necessary disciplinary measures in cases of violations of professional conduct and discipline; (l) plan, arrange, co-ordinate and oversee continuing professional training and development of ICT practitioners. (m)promote the This is what this means. Because I can't afford to go to college I decide to teach myself Python in the bedroom. After I get certfied as a great Pythonian, I get a job online from some guys in India. Now the Indians tell me that I need to get Ruby, so I have to talk to this nicompoops who earn 1 million to build joomla gov't websites, to plan, arrange and oversee any further education to develop myself as an ICT practitioner. By the way does anyone even know what the hell ICT Practitioner means or is was it a word curved out someones muratina binging. I just can't believe we can be discussing such a useless bill. I agree with tycho, even the very suggestion that this bill such pass shall have far reaching repurcussions for whichever fellow decides to front it in gov't. Kwanza in the urban areas where these young guys are trying to make a living. Can you imagine this bill may force or those young kids in town fixing mobile phones to get an ICT Practitioners lisence overseen by some nondescript organisation that no one has ever heard of called sijui association of what! Damn Maghufuli may be senile but this is madness. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Google defines a practitioner as prac·ti·tion·erprakˈtiSH(ə)nər/nouna person actively engaged in an art, discipline, or profession, especially medicine."patients are treated by skilled practitioners" That word is just wrong when used in description of IT. Now, this is how creativity is killed. Fixing people in a box and telling them the have to fit in there or else. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Even when you hurt the feelings of a client, you shall end up in jail!!!! why not just tell "practitioners" to fall in love with their clients and marry them? Who wrote this crap? Quote:(e) is insensitive to clients through a lack of regard or concern for clients' needs, feelings, rights, or welfare of others; (f) shows incompetence or inability to render services, for reasons ranging from inadequate training or inexperience, to personal unfitness, such as a character defect or an emotional disturbance; (g) evidences inesponsibility including lack of reliable or dependable execution of professional duties, attempts to blame others for one's mistakes, shoddy or superficial professional work, or excessive delays in delivering necessary feedback, assessments, reports, or services; or (h) is guilty of abandonment through failure to follow through with their duties or responsibilities, thereby causing clients to become vulnerable or incur unnecessary expenditure Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Establishment thinking at work. Create barriers of entry so that the establishment can shake down the tree. It's neither good for the industry (it will slow it down) nor is it good for the customers - the so-called practitioners will charge them highly. it only benefits the establishment. People have not learned from the waste that is the engineers association in kenya? by the way - which "ICT practitioner" uses what they were taught in school? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Weka kidole hapo and sign this nonsense out. I still want to know who came up with this foolishness https://www.change.org/p...e-ict-practitioners-bill"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Which Brilliant Mind Came up With the ICT Bill?