wazua Sat, Aug 9, 2025

Forceful fatherhood
sitaki.kujulikana
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 3:13:34 PM

All birth records to show the father's name

She said every child has a right to have the name of his or her father on the birth certificate.

The consent of the father is not required as has been the case.
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 3:29:16 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
All birth records to show the father's name

She said every child has a right to have the name of his or her father on the birth certificate.

The consent of the father is not required as has been the case.

So basically a lady can choose who the father is without the "fathers" consent? d'oh!

PeterReborn
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 3:44:57 PM

Forceful fatherhood? Seriously!!! Who can force anyone to become a father? Does anyone force you to land on an airport?
This issue is a non issue.
What should e enforced is the law that ensures that every man who sires a child must provide for that child. It is rather unfortunate that the society is encouraging irresponsibility by men who are taking care of their children.
Look at all the street kids in Nairobi. Who are their fathers?
Consistency is better than intensity
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:00:16 PM

Badly thought rule. If it has to be, it will torment single mothers who harbour hopes of being married. Now, you do not want to marry a girl who has a child with a name of another man.
PeterReborn
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:02:47 PM

Badly thought rule. If it has to be, it will torment single mothers who harbour hopes of being married. Now, you do not want to marry a girl who has a child with a name of another man.

Doesn't that man already know that the child belongs to another man? The name can also be changed to the new man.
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:05:40 PM

@swenani Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:08:13 PM

Ati forceful fatherhood? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@sitaki.kujilikana...utajulikana tu!
PeterReborn
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:09:00 PM

Ati forceful fatherhood? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#9 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:14:19 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Doesn't that man already know that the child belongs to another man? The name can also be changed to the new man.

Does changing the name of the father to that of the other man make the new man the father? and what would be the point of it from the beggining other than torturing the soul of a young mind?
PeterReborn
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:25:23 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Does changing the name of the father to that of the other man make the new man the father? and what would be the point of it from the beggining other than torturing the soul of a young mind?

The child is already tortured when he uses the name of the mother. He is bullied and ridiculed because ako na jina ya umama because his name betrays him.He is treated as a special child because he has a womanly name.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 4:36:05 PM

hahaha... I am not sure how "forced fatherhood" happens.... lol! I think it's a good move... people should know their fathers (sires). The ones concerned about marriageability of single mothers because the birth certificate does not or does have a name in the father's section is moot. When marrying a single mother (unless unamarry Mary) - you know there was a "john the baptist" who "prepared the way". Sijui concern ni nini? kama unaweza change cert from having an empty field to one that has another parent name - what should stop it from being amended to the "mlezi" sio the "mzazi"? I personally know someone whose cert was changed when the mum was married to some other fellow.
sitaki.kujulikana
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 5:08:07 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Laughing out loudly shida, lakini wewe @Swenani you should get a mole huko registration department to update you how many certificates will suddenly have your name.
Imagine all the single ladies just after delivery being asked jina la baba na mwana, and all they remember is @Swenani akiwa katia Laughing out loudly its about the possible misuse of the same.
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 8:41:47 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

#14 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2016 8:48:08 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

The child is already tortured when he uses the name of the mother. He is bullied and ridiculed because ako na jina ya umama because his name betrays him.He is treated as a special child because he has a womanly name.

brings us back to the issue of surnames which i tried to put forward on this thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=27820

We misunderstood it to mean father's name, or in the absence of the father, the mother's name

You end up with many Mr Samuel Wanjiru, Mr Wambui etc

The surname thing that mzungu left for us means Wanjiru's son Samuel should get Wanjiru's surname. So if she is the daughter of Wamunyota, her son should be Samuel Kimanjuru Wamunyota
#15 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 9:44:45 AM

You either Zip Up or Own Up
#16 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 10:21:16 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

Does not changing the name of the father to that of the other real father make the new man the father?
#17 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 10:28:42 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

Does not changing the name of the father to that of the other real father make the new man the father?

We should listen to @Washiku!
#18 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 1:43:10 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

No it does not. Fatherhood is a choice you make. You can choose to be a father of a child that does not have your name or blood. If fatherhood was a name, then why would we even be talking of a single mother who are taking care of the child on her own? And would giving the name make the guy walk to the school and pay school fees? No. How many fathers with their names appearing on birth certificates are dragged by their WIVES to court or to wazee barazas to take care of their own children? Children who they lived or still live with under the same roof?

We sponsor other children who are totally not our own children. So really, this name business is just monkey business.... Parenthood is a choice you make.
#19 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 3:49:08 PM

While English is a great language it's a bit challenged when it comes to properly defining relationships. In Swahili we have mzazi and mlezi. Which "father" are we talking about? At time of birth the father we are interested in is the "mzazi" - a good to know fact. The most important "father" however is the "mlezi" and from personal encounters with individuals who have had great "mlezi" and still don't know their "mzazi" there is always a question mark. This is not to remove anything from the "mlezi" but just a yearning for identity. This really disappoints the mothers who go all the way to make their kids happy. I think it's good for a child to know both.
Anti_Burglar
#20 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 4:04:14 PM

While English is a great language it's a bit challenged when it comes to properly defining relationships. In Swahili we have mzazi and mlezi. Which "father" are we talking about? At time of birth the father we are interested in is the "mzazi" - a good to know fact. The most important "father" however is the "mlezi" and from personal encounters with individuals who have had great "mlezi" and still don't know their "mzazi" there is always a question mark. This is not to remove anything from the "mlezi" but just a yearning for identity. This really disappoints the mothers who go all the way to make their kids happy. I think it's good for a child to know both.

I think the problem is not with English but with our comprehension of it. It is not our native language anyway. 'Father' as a noun is a male parent. All of us tend to limit it to the verb only. 'Parent' is much wider than biological begetting only and includes that mlezi part. That said, is this a brain child of kilimani moms?