Culture
TV Viewership by the numbers
TV Trends, Q1 2016Citizen TV continued to dominate ratings in Q1, drawing an average rating of 7.9 compared to 7.5 in Q4 2015. KTN slightly increased its share from Q4 to Q1, from 3.0 to 3.2, and remained in second place, whereas NTV fell in share from 1.9 to 1.8 and remained in third place. K24 and QTV were forth and fifth in terms of average ratings in Q1. The below chart demonstrates ratings for Q4 2015 and Q1 2016. We find that throughout the week, Citizen remains on top in all time blocks, with KTN second. The only time that NTV surpasses KTN in terms of viewers is from 19:30 to 21:00 on Sundays, which is when the popular Churchill Show airs. We have observed this trend in the past, and the Churchill show continues to bring in NTV's highest ratings of the week. More here "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Classic is number 3? Jeso mwana wa Mary!! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Is this viewership and audience based on opinion polls or how do they arrive at these ratings? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Classic is number 3? Jeso mwana wa Mary!! Kenya sio Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Classic is number 3? Jeso mwana wa Mary!! Kenya sio Nairobi The report is clearly titled Quote:TV and Radio Trends in Kenya, Q1 2016 If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Classic is number 3? Jeso mwana wa Mary!! Kenya sio Nairobi By the way outside Nairobi Matatus classic is not popular anywhere else, never heard anyone listening to classic at home or in their cars To Each His Own
kayhara wrote:Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Classic is number 3? Jeso mwana wa Mary!! Kenya sio Nairobi By the way outside Nairobi Matatus classic is not popular anywhere else, never heard anyone listening to classic at home or in their cars Actually the only popular thing with classic is Maina & Kingang'i show. After 10am Nairobians switch to other channels
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
The other aspect to all this is - as an advertiser, who do you give your advertisement shillings? is it the widest reach? or the widest reach for the target group you want! For example, advertising for Kimbo or Unga fulani mpya would go to Citizen but if you want to reach a certain group of people who have lots of cash to spend - you go to the station they listen to. You fish where the type of fish you want are! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
now we have all these maids and idlers tuning in at 2pm to watch afro cinema and they call that strong viewers numbers ? lol
The soap, the soaps are too many, spent a day at home, there was a soap in the early morning, mid morning, early afternoon, mid afternoon evening, after 7pm news and after 9 pm news on one station, too much of anything is poison To Each His Own
kayhara wrote:The soap, the soaps are too many, spent a day at home, there was a soap in the early morning, mid morning, early afternoon, mid afternoon evening, after 7pm news and after 9 pm news on one station, too much of anything is poison You should open a wholesale to sell the soaps to your neighbours, who knows, you could be the biggest competitor to jamaa bar soap If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
washiku wrote:Always wonder what makes Citizen Radio this popular Swahili speaking + widest signal reach. Most stations are not willing to put masts in remote areas mkeiy wrote:My Capital is under "others". Yes, but it's number 1 in terms of making money. Advertisers LOVE the mido crass wannabes who tune in here. Their brains are very mouldable and they spend properly. Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:now we have all these maids and idlers tuning in at 2pm to watch afro cinema and they call that strong viewers numbers ? lol kwani maids and idlers are not people? That is why SK Macharia got ahead, he did not have madharau for the lower class
Culture
TV Viewership by the numbers