wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

Uber Technologies Inc Shakes up global status quo
Spikes
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 6:06:42 PM

It is amazing how technology can trigger unrivalled taxi competition in over 300 cities worldwide.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
chemirocha
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 6:14:29 PM

Spikes wrote:
It is amazing how technology can trigger unrivalled taxi competition in over 300 cities worldwide.

That's what the marketing people call disruption. The old way of doing things in the taxi business is dead.
shocks
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 8:34:57 AM

Google driverless taxis are still on the way, kiboko ya uber iko jikoni
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 8:40:22 AM

shocks wrote:

I thought google has also invested in uber ama?
Spikes
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 8:50:32 AM

shocks wrote:

It is vicious cycle status quo stir.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 9:22:41 AM

Spikes wrote:
shocks wrote:

It is vicious cycle status quo stir.

Uber doesn't care who drives the car... They have created an easy-to-use app. Someone has to own, maintain & manage the cars/fleet as well. Disruption is scary but necessary.
whiteowl
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 10:18:07 AM

Most cab guys in the world are a bunch of extortionists.They over charge even for very small distances.Amongst all Kenya towns, Eldoret cabs have the fairest pricing model.They charge 300/= for distances within the town vicinity. I once rode on a distance equivalent to going from the CBD to JKIA n still paid 300/=.If it was in Nairobi that fare has an extra zero.
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 10:55:24 AM

whiteowl wrote:
Most cab guys in the world are a bunch of extortionists.They over charge even for very small distances.Amongst all Kenya towns, Eldoret cabs have the fairest pricing model.They charge 300/= for distances within the town vicinity. I once rode on a distance equivalent to going from the CBD to JKIA n still paid 300/=.If it was in Nairobi that fare has an extra zero.

Hata Kisii is low mostly 200 within town..competitive from boda boda
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 11:21:58 AM

whiteowl wrote:

IF AA has set the mileage claim for a a KM to kshs 38(covering, depreciation, repairsand fuel for a 1500Cc saloon vehicle,I think the maximum one should pay per KM assuming no traffic jams is kshs 60 to cater for the profits and driver's wage.

If there is traffic jam, the rate can be adjusted depending on how much time one has been spent in traffic
shocks
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 11:40:12 AM

whiteowl wrote:

IF AA has set the mileage claim for a a KM to kshs 38(covering, depreciation, repairsand fuel for a 1500Cc saloon vehicle,I think the maximum one should pay per KM assuming no traffic jams is kshs 60 to cater for the profits and driver's wage.

If there is traffic jam, the rate can be adjusted depending on how much time one has been spent in traffic

uber charges 4 Bob a min.
streetwise
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 12:50:09 PM

The traditional taxi charges 700 bob per Km. How is that ?
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 1:39:34 PM

whiteowl wrote:

how do you factor return trip in non uber set up?
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 1:45:58 PM

whiteowl wrote:

You hope to get a customer or wait for the other customer. In my view, Taxi's shouldn't have a fixed place of biz.

#14 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 2:12:26 PM

My taxi jamaa used to charge me same distance depending on how high i was 700-1,300 bob and with airport it used to go upto 1,800. I moved to Uber and doing 500-750 depending on route taken on my way home. I hate it when i guy you know still steals from you.

On Sato during the day he saw me and asked 'mzee leo tutaenda zile masaa, i just laughed. Wakwende kabisa.
streetwise
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 2:28:17 PM

Tiefs
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 4:19:08 PM

whiteowl wrote:

You hope to get a customer or wait for the other customer. In my view, Taxi's shouldn't have a fixed place of biz.

not practical in non uber environment!
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 4:20:23 PM

What will happen to the taxi monkeys when this launches in Kenya? It may even help jam!

https://get.uber.com/cl/uberpool/
watesh
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2016 6:18:46 PM

My taxi jamaa used to charge me same distance depending on how high i was 700-1,300 bob and with airport it used to go upto 1,800. I moved to Uber and doing 500-750 depending on route taken on my way home. I hate it when i guy you know still steals from you.

On Sato during the day he saw me and asked 'mzee leo tutaenda zile masaa, i just laughed. Wakwende kabisa.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly good one bro Applause Applause Applause
¿
#19 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2016 7:29:03 AM

chemirocha wrote:
Spikes wrote:

That's what the marketing people call disruption. The old way of doing things in the taxi business is dead.

I think the most disruptive thing uber has accomplished in Kenya is show that smartphones can be at the core of a business.
#20 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2016 1:47:16 PM

¿ wrote:

I think the most disruptive thing uber has accomplished in Kenya is show that smartphones can be at the core of a business.

Applause